We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Oz in UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

With the hotel overlooking the renowned Coogee beach, its vIews were fantastic. The room standard was superb & very well appointed. The cuisine in the restaurant was excellent. Staff were very friendly & most obliging & helpful. The hotel has good car parking facilities. All in all, it's a very comfortable & enjoyable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wombatozinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear wombatozinuk
Thank you for recently staying with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Coogee and the hotel was well apointed and staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    374
    139
    35
    15
See reviews for
163
294
49
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My Partner and I stayed in this hotel for one night in early march 2013 and it was awesome. We had booked a ocean view room and when we arrived for our early check in they put us in a room that had a side view of Coogie Beach. We were only there for one night and its not cheap so we really wanted to be directly facing the ocean. So we went down to the front desk and requested that we get another room. The staff was super nice and told us that they could make it happen but we would have to wait for the regular checkin. Well it was worth the wait! When we returned from our amazing Coogie to Bondi walk we got to relax on our balcony that looked directly over the beach. It was bliss. The sunset light was awesome. The mini bar was stocked and nothing was over priced. There is nothing like waking up in the morning, sitting up in bed to see the ocean right in front of you. Coogie beach is one of my favorite spots in Sydney and this hotel is perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlock2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear mlock2000
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I’m pleased we were able to assist with your request and upgrade your room to the Ocean View, the view is spectacular! The coastal walk is also one of the best walks on offer and it can be completed at any pace you choose.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Coogee.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed again at this hotel, this time for a week and were not disappointed. It is a very friendly hotel, all of the staff are great.

We stayed on a B&B basis. The breakfast was very good, on all but one day when they were overwhelmed by everyone coming at once.

We had a large ocean front room which was (as ordered) as far as possible from the lifts. Nice and quiet, apart from some road noise, which is unavoidable.

Coogee is a pretty typical Australian beach resort and can get a little raucous at times, but is very convenient with loads of buses going into Central Sydney and surrounds.

With the A$ being so strong prices are not that cheap, but even bearing that in mind, it was worth it. However, they persist with ludicrous costs for wireless internet (apart from a "free" 20 minutes in the reception area each day). I hope it will not be long before hotel operators at ALL levels realise that internet connections for people are as necessary as hot and cold water, and they don't charge for that!

One other gripe, and they cannot do much about it, the bathrooms are VERY cramped!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear BarryC2010
Thank you for staying with us again at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. We sincerely appreciate your comments. You’ll be pleased o know that from July 2013 internet access will be free for all Elite IHG Rewards Club members and from January 2014 free for all remaining members.
I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Coogee Beach is a very nice relaxing place less than half an hour from Sydney CBD.
The hotel overlooks the beach, the service is generally good, the rooms are nice, the pool is fine but they used to have a jacuzzi and now they don't.
Why they don't have one any more I don't know but it does make a difference to me.
The hotel is not cheap though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartjeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear MartineUK
Thank you taking the time to post a review. I’m sorry we no longer have a Jacuzzi, but we are located right across the road from one of Sydney’s most beautiful beaches which is a great alternative to our pool. For those that want to visit the beach we offer towels, sun screen and beach toys for the kids all complimentary.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel many times and every time we have enjoyed our stay. The rooms are fantastic and most of the rooms have balconies that you can see the ocean, very beautiful.

We booked the Presidential Suite, it was beautiful. I would highly recommend this if you really need a break and time to relax, enjoy and watch the ocean.

The location is also very good as you can walk a few minutes and there are restaurants on both sides of the street, you can choose any kind of food you feel like.

Depending on what time of the year you travel the prices are very reasonable.

A hotel I would stay at every time we go to Sydney.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and ask them which rooms have balconies and which rooms have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear cyrus22
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. The Presidential Suite does offer a great space to enjoy all that Coogee has to offer. Since we only have one of this room type you do need to book ahead. Luckily though we have other rooms that over look beautiful Coogee beach (they may not be as large but certainly still have a spectactular view).
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne plaza for the night before and the night of our wedding and found our stay to be almost perfect.

The staff at the hotel were always friendly and helpful and given all the things that we had going on around the wedding everything just flowed seamlessly from booking to checkout.

Our room was beautifully appointed and modern as well as being spotless. The views from our room were spectacular as we overlooked Coogee Beach.


It is hard to point out any flaws from my two night experience at the hotel although I would suggest their breakfast is very overpriced, especially given the number of more reasonably priced cafes down the road on the beach front.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Eastern side overlook the beach as opposed to the houses at the back, although give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear J Fairbairn
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during such a special occasion. We sincerely appreciate your comments and while we would like to be ‘perfect’, I know the team really enjoyed reading your comments.
We wish you all the very best for your future together.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel right on the beutiful Coogee Beach. Got the room on the top floor with town view. Room was clean and spacey, beds very comfortable. There is nice clean pool on the 1st floor. Bus stop to the City is right in front of the hotel.

Only thing i REALLY didnt like, is their internet connection policy. It's 2013 and wifi should be standard in the hotels of this type. Had free wifi in the hotels of the lower categories all around the world. However, coogee crown plaza is going to charge you unbelievable 29 AUD for 24 hours and what is even worse, after 200MB of traffic (!!!), speed is decreased to the stone age(broken dial-up kind) speed. I can not understand it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Save_The_Cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Save_The_Cookie
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will however acknowledge that our internet offering is not for everyone. With that in mind, IHG has recently announced that from July 2013 internet will be free for all Elite IHG Rewards members and all remaining members from January 2014. Currently, we offer 20 minutes per day free WiFi for all guests.
I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you again to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing