We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Nearby Hotels
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney(Coogee)(Great Value!)
$90
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments(Coogee)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Dive Hotel(Coogee)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Mad Monkey Coogee Beach(Coogee)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
Royal Hotel at Randwick(Randwick)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveler rating
340
431
156
46
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
431
156
46
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoogee beachtwo double bedspresidential suiteocean viewacross the roadocean barbuffet breakfastshower curtainbar downstairsan upgradeper daycouple of nightshotel is in a great locationgreat spotcircular quaycoastal walkpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 990 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice views over coogee beach. If you like the beach, then this is for you. Read the fine print about the unexpected fees that will be added to your bill. Dining experience was enhanced by ocean views.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcilrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Mcilrath
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. I’m sorry to hear that you felt charges were added to your account without your knowledge. This was unintentional and we will reconsider our signage as you enter the hotel carpark to ensure our charges are clearly posted.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fairly simple, a little tired and a bit overpriced, but hey thats Sydney. What you also get is one of the best locations for a family holiday - anywhere! The breakfasts were particularly good - except one - where a well know visiting A League soccer team took up most of the restaurant because they didn't want to sit with each other - they also took over the pool. lucky we had the beach.

Room Tip: ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmgmainridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear rmgmainridge
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach for your family holiday. We do have a great location and we’re pleased to hear that you got to enjoy Coogee Beach. I appreciate your comments with regards to breakfast and acknowledge that perhaps we could make this experience better for our guests.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Maybe I am being a bit harsh here. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the hotel. It is in an outstanding location and close to cafes and restaurants. I found most of the staff very friendly and helpful and hotel has some lovely views. The pool looked decent (if small) and there are some lovely views from the lobby. Bus transport is bang opposite the hotel and plenty of buses going to Circular Quay and Bondi Junction.

However, there were a few downsides. It appears that the carpets in the hallways have not been updated for years and is heavily stained and gives a grungy look to the whole place. The bathroom, while very clean has a very dated look to it and having paid over $220 per night, you would expect that the shower over the bathtub will at least have some sort of a glass screen instead of a dingy shower curtain.

As is the norm in Australia, no free wi-fi in the rooms. And they wonder why the tourists stay away. The beds felt very ‘springy’ and the pillows were the worst I have experienced in hotel rooms for a long time. The pillows provided were so soft that it hardly provided any support and we had to request firmer pillows which hardly made much difference and felt like cheap 10 dollar ones from Kmart.

The room was spacious and had plenty of sunlight streaming in and the views looking over Coogee Village was perfectly OK for us considering we were out and about for most of the day. We had requested a crib for our baby and it was provided with some sheets in it for which we were very grateful. Parking is $25 dollars a night and you have to come to expect it in an expensive city like Sydney.

In all, it is an expensive hotel which does not really provide the luxury as the daily rate may suggest. However, it is tough to top the location as it is bang in front of one of Sydney’s premier beaches. I would stay here again if I get a special online rate just for the hotel's proximity to beaches, cafés and transport.

Room Tip: If you don't want to sit inside all day and take in the views, get the cheaper 'coogee village view' rooms and walk 50 meters outside the hotel and watch the Pacific ocean in all its glory.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear orangestreet
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate your honest and thoughtful feedback. The corridor carpet is indeed in need of replacement and this is scheduled to be done in April and May 2013. All guest corridor carpets will be replaced during this time. As for the bathrooms, your feedback is imperative since we are in the very early stages of upgrade planning.
Glad to hear though that you love the location. The hotel is well placed to enjoy all that Coogee has to offer. Please keep a look out for our web specials which are available at various times throughout the year.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a one night stay - the first night away from our kids in 5 years, so we were looking forward to a long and uninterrupted nights sleep.

The check in was fine and the fact there was 2 weddings in the hotel that night seemed like just a nice addition to the things on offer to look at as we wandered around the foyer on the way out. We also had a small but nice room with wonderful sea views on the 7th floor.

Regrettably, it all went wrong around 11.30pm when the room next to us became the 'after party' venue for one of the weddings. They were loud and obnoxious and obviously drunk. We did call downstairs and the night porter did make a visit to them to try and quieten them down - but to little avail.

Perhaps its unfair to blame the hotel on other guests poor but unfortunately it ruined our stay. And once something like this happens all the other minor things you may perhaps overlook became black marks as well - old cigarette butts on our balcony that hadn't been cleared up, no newspapers available in the morning and a surcharge to pay by credit card.

Perhaps if its a hotel that hosts many weddings, and its obvious that some guests are going to want to keep drinks and play up, then perhaps all the wedding guests staying in house could be housed on a floor together so they annoy the hell out of each other rather than ruin other peoples stay.

Room Tip: The rooms not next to drunk wedding revellers are probably quieter!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear MelbourneChina
Thank you for your review and I apologise that your evening was ruined by the actions of others. We do try and place wedding guests on the same floor as each other however I’m sure you can appreciate that this is not always possible. We will however review our policies and actions to ascertain if we could at all improve the situation for future guests.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Was Great! Stayed with Hubby and two kids room was great beds were great had a goodnight sleep views were fantastic breakfast was awesome and included in the price kids had a double bed not a crap fold out bed like most hotels.

Room Tip: Ocean views are a winner
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Holly S
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews