We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Sydney on a family holiday and decided to stay in a place near a local friend rather than central Sydney. We were really happy with the choice. The location, with a view over the pool to the beach, was perfect, with plenty of different eating places nearby. Had a couple of dips in the Ocean and did the coast walk up to Bondi Beach one afternoon. It was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. The only slight downside was that the restaurant was closed (for cleaning I think) so we went to the bar downstairs - too noisy for conversation and the food ok, but very expensive for what it was...maybe partly because the UK£ is so bad just now. We used IHG priority club points and the hotel recognised this by upgrading us to a sea view room. Overall a great place and I will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear mlcoz

Thank you for reviewing Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. Its great to hear from someone who has been able to enjoy Coogee for all it has to offer; a beachside setting, great walks and a local village to explore. I’m sorry that we weren’t able to seat you for dinner on one night, we did schedule repairs to the flooring and unfortunately that coincided with your stay.
Thank you for your comments with regards to my colleagues, they really do strive to provide friendly and helpful service.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 925 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Was really looking to stay in Coogee, away from typical downtown Sydney. There's not much choice in Coogee. Crowne is usually good but this hotel, particularly for the price was outdated and overpriced. Plus, there was no notice there was construction at the time. We got put into our room and within one minute a deafening drilling noise started. We were quickly relocated but seriously, why would you put us under active construction to start with. The furnishings border on late 80s. No one asked to bassist us with luggage upon arrival... The check in girl had to ask. Service was good. If we requested something they helped quickly. Unfortunately, we would not return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W_url_d_Trav3Lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear W_url_d_Trav3Lr

Thank you for posting a review. We were disappointed to hear your comments and apologize sincerely that we were not able to offer a product in keeping with your expectations. The construction at the time (November) was emergency works that unfortunately had to occur. However we should have recognized the rooms that were affected and not have allocated these.
Thank you for your nice comments with regards to the service, this was appreciated.

We wish you safe travels in 2013.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent a week here over Christmas, We've stayed here a few times on Sydney visits but this will be our last. Love the location and our ocean view rooms did have a nice view. Pity the door to the balcony required the strength of three men to open it (had it fixed 3 times) and between you and the view is a pool full of squealing kids.

The place is just plain tired. We were amused that on arrival our floor was adorned with a three legged sofa - not a trendy design but a leg missing. It did disappear a day later. Corridor carpets look like a crime scene and the walls were well banged. The room is functional at best. It did have the biggest TV I have seen in a hotel room - just needed a bigger room to appreciate it.

Breakfast is just OK, provided it doesn't need cooking. Egg station offerings were not pleasant and it took an eternity to deliver a capuccino. For a wonderful location, the restaurant has a rather unpleasant ambience - perhaps it was the rather surly staff. No free smiles here.

Seemingly no bell boys (bell persons?) or at least any who would offer assistance, even when one passed us struggling with our 36 bags from the carpark. Reception staff were helpful and relatively sheery.

But it is at Coogee Beach which is nice.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear SandDragon
Thank you for your review, however we are of course disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay this time around. We are though grateful for the feedback and have already discussed the points raised during our regular weekly meeting. It’s obvious that we didn’t get some things right and will endeavor to improve on our product and service. I can confirm that corridor carpets have been ordered and will be replaced in the very near future.
I would very much like the opportunity to discuss further and can be contacted directly at the hotel.
We wish you all the very for 2013.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Perfect Getaway for Locals who don't live by the sea or for internationals wanting to be by the sea.
Room clean and in excellent condition. Modern furniture incl: lounge chair, bedside table etc.
Bathroom all new and modern too. Incl complimentary toiletries: liquid soap, hair shampoo and conditioner and body lotion. Hairdryer is heavy duty one - not attached to wall - much easier to use! Three min walk to the beach and strip of restaurants/cafes. (not really shopping strip - need to go to Bondi Junction for that). Buffet Breakfast is great - can make your own fresh juice from fruits/ vegies supplied. Hot food selection is fantastic. Only thing that needs improving is the pastry selection - just has a few commercial muffins and pastries.... for eg. homemade banana bread would add the extra touch! We had a villiage view - looked out over the units/flats - wasn't bad and didn't bother us. The pool is clean and on the small side but then you are there for the beach not the pool. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Tips: do the Coogee to Bondi Walk - amazing views over the bays and sea. The whole walk is along the coast - there are beaches/cafes in between to stop off and cool off if need be. A constant slow walk took us two hours to complete it. Took a bus back (note need to bus back to Bondi Junction then another to Coogee beach - drops off right by hotel on beachfront) - some buses need prepaid ticket bought at cafe on shopping strip in Bondi).
Coogee beach is small and can fill up during peak season on weekends. Maroubra is a big beach further on the east - get a taxi or bus to Bondi Junction and then to Maroubra.
Bondi Junction is a huge shopping area for everything . Buses go frequently there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorikeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Lorikeets
Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review of your stay! We all appreciated your comments and were very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy all that Coogee and surrounding suburbs has to offer. Many of the team here enjoy the ‘coastal walk’ from Coogee to Bondi regularly, and its one of our most recommended things to do.

We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 week in an Ocean view Reef Suite with balcony on the 6th floor.
Overall we were pleased with the size of the room and location. the only disappointment was with the ensuite whiich was in need of an upgrade and was also very small in comparison to the size of the bedroom.
Stayed on a B&B rate, so had breakfast every morning which was very good, so much to choose from and very good quality.
All the staff we had contact with were polite and helpful, from checking-in, to waiting at tables, to arranging car-hire and day trips.
Location was excellent, across the road was the beautiful Coogee Beach, there were plenty of nice restaurants to eat in, buses stop right outside the hotel to go into Sydney and there is great walking along the coastal paths in both directions!
An excellent start to our time in Sydney.

Room Tip: Ocean view with balcony a must, the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-Katanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Mrs-Katanga

Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. The Reef Suite is an excellent choice and offers magnificent views over Coogee Beach. We have made note of your comments with regards to the bathroom and will ensure this is addressed when we next plan our renovations.
Thank you for recognizing our colleagues who really pride themselves on having local knowledge and being able to ensure guests make the most of their time here in Coogee.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from our Honeymoon, staying 10 nights at the Crowne Plaza Hotel.
Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. They give us directions of how to get around and recommended places to visit and places to eat.
Breakfast was lovely with a good selection to suit everyone.
We ordered room service a couple of times and the food was really good.
Hotel has a nice swimming pool and is a stone throw away from the beach
Bus stop is right opposite the hotel and you can catch the bus to the City Centre which takes around 20 minutes.
Really liked Oceans Bar situated in the hotel .
Rooms were modern, cleaned daily always spotless.
Really liked a place called Randwick a 2 minute bus ride from the hotel which had lovely restaurants like, Tapas, Tai and italian.
Would love to go back and stay in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Coogee Beach and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Charlotte K

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach for your honeymoon. We all really appreciated your comments and were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience Sydney’s Eastern suburbs and beaches.

We wish you all the very best for 2013 and hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

When we arrived our room was not ready and we were "guaranteed" that the room would be ready by 2pm. At 3pm we finally got into our room. Pool is very basic! Our room is very beautiful! Through housecleaning didn't arrive each day till late afternoon. There is not many shops nearby so very little to do on an overcast day.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geritsk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear GraceLouis

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you found very little to do on an overcast day. Next time I’d suggest either Westfield Bondi Junction which is just 15 minutes drive away for some retail therapy or the famous ‘Coastal Walk’ from Coogee to Bondi that takes you along the spectacular coast line. But of course its always very nice to be able to spend time on Coogee Beach when the weather is obliging.

Kind regards
Kate Gerits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
251 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range: $148 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing