We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude waiter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very rude waiter”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

On the 11th of Aug my partner and i had our wedding at Blue salt restaurant and hired the terrace for sole use. Claudine from events, i could not praise more highly. Claudine was great with her prompt responses and handy hints and friendly service. Our wedding was attended by 20 guests, 4 kids and numerous elderly family members. The drink service was erratic, and did not cater for the non drinkers. Being a family of mixed cultures, i witnessed the blatant racism as did many of our guests. I questioned the waiter about his attitude, and his response was not appropriate. It was my indigenous son in law of 14 years, that was being discriminated against and his children witnessed this along with many others. At such a small event, my son in law did not deserve the way he was treated, because it was different to every other guest.

Room Tip: Reef suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donnajohn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear donnajohn12,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    394
    147
    39
    15
See reviews for
172
314
51
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times now... The rooms are immaculate, modern, and the beds are comfy!!

The room service is awesome and food is delicious!! (I recommend the chicken, seasonal veggies and mash with honey, soy, ginger sauce!...and the panacotta desert is pretty good too )
Rooms with views overlooking Coogee beach and surrounding areas. Close to shops, cafes and pubs...great pool area! Awesome for a lady of leisure to spend her time...and would be even better for a couples get away.
It is a real treat to stay there and I would come back whenever I get the chance. Staff are professional and helpful and can't fault this place at all!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katelyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently had the opportunity for a two night visit to the Crowne Plaza Hotel at Coogee. The weather forecast was fine but heading for huge storms and a dramatic change in conditions.
The first day was bliss, overlooking the bay, and enjoying the view of ocean, tourists and using the hotel. Coffee downstairs, dinner and relaxation.
Day two brought that dramatic change which was spectacular, seeing the front move through across the ocean and the wind whipping up everything.
Meanwhile, the staff is friendly, efficient and most happy to help. The restaurant food was quite lovely and it was a splendid break.
I was not well, and stayed in the hotel the whole time. Husband walked and bussed and enjoyed Bondi and the usual attractions of the area.
Coogee is a unique place - not far from the city, accessible by bus but the hotel is the real 'crown'. We shall certainly return to that coastal place. ....Crowne on the Coast ...so to speak.

Room Tip: I recommend an ocean view room with a balcony. we faced due east but easily saw the view north. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Such a terrific location, room had a terrific view of the beach. Was at the hotel for a small conference, so appreciated the chance to get outside for a walk between sessions.

Had a minor problem with my booking and had to change rooms. The staff took care of the whole thing, moved my bags and had the new keys ready for me to pick up on a break. The staff were invariably helpful and genuinely friendly. Made the stay all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The pool rooms on higher floors also have a partial sea view. All rooms with a balcony are great. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel and executive suite for a few nights. It was an amazing experience with views overlooking the entire beach. There are two balconys and a massive main bathroom and another toilet at the entry of the suite (which is great because if you are like me and prefer a private toilet session then this is for you). There is absolutely ample space with two TVs, table for the office, separate lounge area and there are even folding wooden venetians from the bathroom spa looking out into the room and onto the beach. Although my other half and i always seem to get spa rooms we never seem to use them, but hope if you get this room, use it!! Another thing i noticed here is the fantastic parking at least they don't try to cram park space and some of the parks are wide. (Just be careful on the exit if you're driving a 4WD) as the corner up is sharp and you could scrape the roof on the floor above. Reception staff were Amongst the best i have seen anywhere in the world. They treat you like a person, not a number. I noticed famous people and sporting stars stay here so you never know who you might pop into :-) These type of suites do not come cheap especially as there is only this and the presidential suite. But It is seriously worth saving your hard earned cash for!! I'm not sure what the other rooms are like but if you want an amazing coogee beach experience, then try this. Great work crowne plaza team

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pajmaoriswagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Greeat two night stay - location and room was great for me - was on my own felt very secure and staff were very friendly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were part of a small wedding party enjoying dinner together after a lovely ceremony held in a private area of the hotel. Our hosts had ordered champagne and low alcohol beer on arrival, and a choice of white or red wine or beer with dinner. From time to time the waiters came around to top up our glasses or take orders for beer. One particular time, about half way through the meal, three or four of the guests ordered beer and the waiter came back with a tray - on it were the beers and a glass of water with a straw in it. He gave two of the guests their beers then put the glass of water in front of the gentleman opposite me and said quite aggressively 'drink that, then you can have a beer'. The guest quite reasonably replied 'what's that, I didn't order it, I ordered a beer'. He was told to drink it, it was water, and when he'd drunk it he'd bring him a beer, but not until. The guest protested and the waiter walked away with the beer still on his tray. This was all conducted within sight and earshot of the guest's teenage children. He was mortified and visibly shaken. A little later another guest joined our end of the table. She had also been given a glass of water. The waiter had said, "thought you might like a glass of water to have with the wine, it's our policy to make sure you don't dehydrate." She had gladly accepted it.

Why was there such a difference in approach? I can only think that it was because the gentleman sitting opposite me was an Indigenous Australian. He'd had no more to drink than anyone else, we were eating dinner, he was chatting with other guests. I'd never seen blatant discrimination before - I was shocked and so were those around me who had witnessed it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
269 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing