We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel many times to visit family. This time the experience was very good. We were upgraded to a room with fantastic views but smaller than previous times. The bathroom was a little disappointing, small & moldy ceiling. We were greeted by small cockroaches in the bathroom sink. I called reception to alert them of this & they said there was an epidemic in sydney at the moment, they offered to come & spray them. We weren't that worried by a couple of roaches coming from north Queensland. Breakfast was included which was quite substantial. Chef made an omelette for my husband that was amazing. Staff are very pleasant & eager to please. Dinner at restaurant was good but not much selection if you are vegetarian & a little pricey, But the chef will make you anything. As I've said, very accommodating. The bed & pillows were very comfortable. The reheaded bar attendant couldn't make a basic cocktail( brandy Alexander ) & was the only staff member that wouldn't accommodate us. She said it wasn't on the menu & they didn't have brandy. Her attitude was smug & rude. Overall it is a great place to stay. Position is very central.most staff are lovely. Would defiantly recommend.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carmie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    378
    140
    37
    15
See reviews for
167
301
49
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and it is always a pleasure. The rooms are spotlessly clean and room amenities are very good. If you get a room with an ocean view it is fantastic. The bars and restaurants are very good - all with views over the beautiful Coogee Beach. As well as the beach itself, the location is great. You're close to the city without all the hassles. The bus to the city is right outside the front door. Coogee has some great restaurants and bars.
The only gripe I have with this property is the elevator service. If you're coming up from the carpark basement, you have to get out of one lift and wait for another. Awkward if you've got plenty of luggage.
Look forward to my next stay. Hopefully it will be in summer to take full advantage of the beach.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The room here is really clean, with bathtub and spacious! This hotel is located just a road across the Coogee Beach! Very nice beach and the famous Bondi beach is just a short driving distance away! The service was really good as they would help me in anyway they can, car parks, postage, just ask them anything and they are very helpful! When walking down the street around the vicinity, you can find many restaurants and cafes to have your meals! The roads here are relatively quiet so you would not find this place noisy or rowdy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I spent the long weekend in Sydney and decided to stay at the beach. This hotel has fabulous ocean views and I was pleasantly surprised when having booked a coogee view room I found myself in a room with an ocean view. The room was large and comfortable and I had a good sleep both nights. The breakfast was really good and the place had a very happy feel about it. The staff were all pleasant. I'd been for nice lunch in Bondi and was doing the coast walk back (which I've done before and is spectacular) but got caught in a downpour. Managed to get a cab back to the Crowne Plaza and with the rain sheeting down spent the rest of the weekend in the hotel room/ restaurant. It was a nice place to be and quite relaxing. Quiet. It makes a change to stay at a good beachside hotel and it is pretty easy to get into the city, or anywhere else.

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view is best...not much need to go anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

There would be a simple rule to follow - make sure room is an ocean view. You may as well be staying at a motel 200m up the road if you're not. The rooms are ok, but if it wasn't for the views you would certainly question the value. Others words are far more eloquent, just get the right room.

The restaurant was actually ok, but deathly empty on a Saturday night. My partner and I were eating there and wondering what we were doing wrong but it was fine. Probably just not the social atmosphere of the Bay hotel 100m down the road.

Breakfast was ok, average buffet fair but quite acceptable.

If you're keen on Coogee (and it is beautful, this is fine with an ocean view).

Room Tip: I think it costs $50 more per night to have an ocean view. You'll kick yourself if you take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourpoeticprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed 2 nights but had planned 3 but a grounded Qantas flight caused me to miss the last flight to Sydney . Arrived a day later than planned but the staff very kindly gave me a room looking over the pool with a view of the ocean when I told them why I had been a no-show on the night before . The room was lovely and the pillows were very comfy. The breakfast was excellent and I would highly recommend the hour long walk along the coast from Coogee to Bondi to work off the excesses . I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Sydney . The airport is only $30 in a taxi also.

Room Tip: Ask for view of ocean even if it's a pool facing room . Some have it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincentreardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

If a beach hotel shines even when the weather is lousy then you know you have found a gem.

We were expecting a weekend of sun, surf and lazing by the pool when we checked into the Crowne Plaza Coogee in January. But the Sydney weather had other ideas and the rain started to fall as we arrived.
Our room overlooked Coogee Beach and despite the rain, we were able to sit on our small balcony and watch the ocean and those braving the elements. The hotel is positioned high on the hill overlooking the beach and parts of Coogee town, the views are fantastic.
The rooms are large with plenty of hanging space, storage space for your clothes and luggage, with a small desk area for your computer and business bags, always important to us as we don’t travel light.
Our room had two double beds which fit comfortably in the large room. We loved the pillows, in fact we loved the pillows so much we asked where we could buy some.
The bathroom was your usual bathroom, very clean and with the usual extras, conditioner, body gel, shampoo, shower cap but with some very nice oatmeal soap which smelt lovely. The shower was over the bathtub not my ideal but the water pressure was great as was the water temperature.
We don’t usually watch tv in our room but it was raining and we had expected to sleep off our jetlag by the pool, so we made an exception. We were amazed at the number of channels available, we did some serious channel surfing.
The hotel does have a small gym,, no pretentions here when you check in you are also offered a complimentary pass to the local gym just 100 metres down the road. This means the guests really have the best of both worlds. If you just wish to run some kilometres on a treadmill then you can use hotel gym but for some serious workouts you can jog along the beach, or road to the fully serviced gym with all its extras, the hotel even gives you a towel to take.
Once you’ve finished on your treadmill or gym, or the beach has got too windy then the hotel pool is the perfect area. A larger than average fibre glass pool with Jacuzzi on a raised deck area means you can lay by the pool and still look at the ocean. There are ample sun lounges, some with side tables and some with umbrellas so every ones happy. If hungry or thirsty all you need do is use the pool phone and place your order. If you don’t want to eat by the pool there are table, chairs and umbrellas alongside the pool area .
We had the buffet breakfast, in,one word, delicious. Definately more hot choices than your average buffet breakfast, two flavours sausages, two styles of bacon, with an egg station and a chef on hand to make your omelette or egg of choice. However the highlight had to be the coffee, without doubt best coffee I have had in Sydney made by Josh behind the bar...mmmmmmmm
If you are trying to decide between Bondi and Coogee, pick Coogee. Unless you are a backpacker there is no decent accomodation in Bondi, stay at the Crowne Plaza Coogee and do a day trip to Bondi, you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: The higher up and of course with ocean views otherwise whats the point!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freosunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing