We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Positives - Location (very close to Chatswood centre with the train station and shopping),Very Victorian in its outlook, Helpful staff.
Negatives - The weird positioning (Rooms below the 2nd floor are actually below road level), the balcony with do with some cleaning
Would have helped - A bigger bowl which fit in to the microwave.

Room Tip: Rooms below the 2nd floor are actually below road level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 125 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Booked a deluxe room which had a double bed as well as a single bed, making the room relatively small. The bathroom was small too but overall, it was a clean and well maintained B&B. It looks slightly dingy at night so I'd advise guests to try and arrive during the day as it looks much better in the daylight!
Breakfast was ready on a tray in the bar fridge and consisted of 2 croissants, 2 juice poppers, 2 cut fruit cups in syrup and 2 of those kids boxed cereals that you pour the milk directly in. There was tea and coffee with a clean kettle provided as well. It was slightly bright with sunlight in the morning but I had taken precautions by wearing an eye mask. It was quite quiet despite the close proximity of other guests in this converted house.
The corridor and overall look of the B&B is quite pretty with stain glass windows.
I'd come here only for one or two nights; would prefer a more modern hotel in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisstruffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I think they have done a great job in maintaining this building and giving it character. The rooms are not large, bathroom is small but it is one of the few hotels that still offer a bath. Nicely furnished and have a country feel. It's quaint. I do feel the rooms are slightly over priced. Lovely personable service at the front desk. I was a little surprised though that my room was not made up after the first night's stay - it seemed to only happened on my second night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymousme00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in room 306 on a recent business trip. Staff are friendly, rooms are a bit dated but comfortable. 2 complimentary water bottles of joining. There is tea/coffee making faclities, microwave and cutlery in the room, iron and ironing board, free wifi - that worked fine, bed comfortable, Aircon worked fine. If you wanted to cook you have access to the kitchen. There was also a small balcony.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Chatswood train station and shopping malls and restaurants . All in all was a pleasant stay and different from your average 'hotel' experience but value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A very old style hotel has been an old house converted to Hotel.You enter from road onto 2nd floor so make sure your room is on either 2nd or 3rd floor as first and ground floor are below road level.windows in room would not close properly,room did not feel secure
It is cheap but this is probably its redeeming feature other than being handy to Chatswood Centre and Railway Station

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Interesting hotel, close to a great shopping centre at Chatswood. Handy to the train, and not far into Sydney. We have been here twice, and found the rooms to be very quiet. This trip we were down the back on 3rd floor. The bed & pillows were really comfy, about the best we have ever had anywhere. Friendly staff, and helpful. Breakfast good, plenty to eat. Would prefer bread & a toaster, rather than the croissants, that are a bit too greasy for us.

Room Tip: Highest floor, and towards the back is the best, or on the high school side, looking into the lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Beautifully maintained Victorian mansion in a leafy part of Chatswood. Close to trains and Chatswood shopping centre. Rooms are pretty but carpet could be cleaner from stains.
Has free wi-fi in rooms and a very calming and charming entrance and atmosphere generally.
Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italiangypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatswood
0.3 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
0.6 mi away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
1.4 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
0.7 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charrington Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charrington Boutique Hotel

Address: 22 Centennial Ave, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Price Range: $92 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charrington Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charrington Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing