We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Reviewed November 7, 2012

For a "hotel" if you could call it that, it certainly lacks ALOT of the amentities you get from some the bigger hotels. Yes, location wise it is only 500m away from shops and public transport. Yes the overall architecture is pretty. It feels very old and more like an over presented backpackers.
I stayed in one of the "Explorer" rooms. The only good thing about the room for me was the bed was comfy and from the balony you could see some of Aussies beautiful wild parots (Cockatoos and Rainbow Lorakeets). However if I had to give it a star rating it would be 2.5 and that would be pushing it. The rooms are barely large enough to swing a cat. The bed is more/less pushed hard up against the wall. They've tried to fit a dinner table for two in by chopping away ¼ of the round table top - just looks shabby and tacky. The walls are very thin, so you hear not only people walking down the hallway but also people going to the toilet in the floor above. The bathroom door and window was always left open and I soon discovered why aside from it being only big enough to stand in with a toilet, vanity and shower crammed in. There is a drain in the centre of the room and also in the show itself both smell and could do with a good flushing of drain cleaner!. There was also a hole in the ceiling and peeling paint with indications of mould/mildrew damage probably also adds to the smell. The shower rose was cracked so very little pressure, very noisy and no consistancy to temperature freezing one minute and scoulding the next. I don’t think the bed linen was changed from the last guest either, as there were long blonde hairs under one the pillow, shortish dark hair under another a one stray “other hair” when I pulled the covers back. Mini bar…..most of the drinks had expired several months ago and it’s completely non-alcoholic. The fridge is also noisy so if you are a light sleeper you may want to bring some from of ear plugs. As for “breakfast being provided” it’s only provided on the weekend and it’s all packet stuff, shoved in the fridge the night before. The hotel does not provide any form of room service or even in-house movies or pay-per-view TV. There is also no in-house dining and "lounge" area is only open when reception is open. If you want food you either cook it all yourself in one big communal kitchen or you go out to eat. Thankfully there are heaps of places a short walk way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charrington, Owner at The Charrington Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

I am sorry this guest was not satisfied with his accommodation at the Charrington as we try to satisfy all our guests needs.
This guest did not bother to let the hotel office of any problems he had with room at the time of his
stay at the hotel.
Obviously by the sound of his review the guest expects all the amenities of a 5 star hotel in a 3.5 star hotel.He books the cheapest priced hotel in chatswood as he is not prepared to pay 100% to 150% higher tariff the other two 4.5 star hotels in chatswood charge.( $250.00 plus )
The free complementary continental breakfast which is provided on saturday and sunday mornings at the Charrington consists of cerial,milk,yougert,fruit salad, orange juice and a croissant with butter and jam ( the croissant needs to be put in the m/wave for about 10 seconds ). This breakfast is placed on a tray in the fridge in the rooms the night before so guests can have breakfast at any tine in the morning they please.. I am sure none of the 4.5 star hotels in chatswood provide any sort of free breakfast or free wireless /cable internet in their roon tariff
As for the hole in the ceiling I was unable to find one in any of our 6 explorer rooms.As for the water pressure in the shower ,all the shower heads in the bathrooms are water saver type shower heads as required by willoughby council. The charrington is not a big enough hotel to afford the cost of a liquor licence so we are not able to have alcoholic drinks in the room mini bar.
All the rooms in the charrington are 4.0 m x 3.5 m plus a balcony with outdoor furnature ( very unusual for most hotels ) plus an ensuite bathroom , Whilest not being oversised most people find them to be quite adequite.The building is constructed with all solid brick walls and all the floors and ceilings are 150mm thick concrete which is exactly the same type of construction
most home unit blocks in sydney are constructed so I dont understand what the guest is complaining about.
The explorer rooms are serviced every day and the sheets ,pillow cases and towels are laundered on site .The sheets and pillow cases are not ironed so sometimes depending on the cleaning staff they may appear with a few wrinkles.

Rob Davies....manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 129 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were welcomed by Oscar the little dog and the owner. Quick check in and up the stairs in our room. The Matthew flinders room. Compact room with not much room to move however the two balcony makes it up for it. Big tv and fridge with complimentary water coffee and tea. Air cond and fan and safe. All what you need. Confy bed and for the price really good value. Clean and in 15 minutes walk you are in the mall with shops and restaurant. Internet is working and no hassles at all. We are here for 5 nights and very happy.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Swissmiss6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my 8-year-old daughter for 9 nights. From the time we arrived, we fell in love with the hotel's architecture & location. For slightly over AUD$130 per night, and being a 10-15min walk away from the train station & main shopping mall, it's really value for money.

We simply love the warm & cosy atmosphere, the peace & quiet of the surroundings & the extremely helpful & friendly staff. It is precisely these qualities that enabled me to get my serious work done before I returned home. At the end of each day, my daughter just couldn't wait to get back to the hotel! I'm very grateful to Robert, Gary & Catherine for having made our stay so memorable!

The Charrington will always be on my recommendation list.

Ariana

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I was lodged here for a week while looking for permanent accommodation after moving to Sydney. It was work sponsored so I didn't have a choice which turned out to be a good and bad thing.

Firstly, location. This is important and in my case was excellent as it was a five-minute walk from my office. However if you were planning to stay here for touring Sydney city I wouldn't recommend it as you will need to walk to Pacific Highway and find a bus or walk to Chatswood station to catch a train in. Admittedly not really a hassle but something you need not do if you take a hotel in the CBD.

The premises itself is a large, multi-room residence that is of the colonial style and quite nice to be in. It's warm and friendly and the staff mirror this, being approachable and helpful. There is a 'but' here though and that is that even a deliberately old-looking hotel can still appear run-down and the Charrington was slightly. Televisions are old and the furniture while serviceable is also aged. The shared kitchen, also good enough, wasn't anything special.

Maybe I'm expecting too much or am too used to modern hotels but I feel the rooms could have been of a better standard. In the end I didn't leave with a bad feeling but would probably find something more to my taste with a more modern feel than this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The Charrington is a charming boutique hotel in the middle of Chatswood. I had meetings somewhere around, and the hotel was only 10 mins walk away. I emailed the hotel to make some initial enquiries, and hotel managers Gary and Katherine were very prompt and polite in their replies.

I stayed in the Colonial Room 105 on the ground floor, which had an en suite bathroom, a little balcony, and wired broadband connection via LAN cable (included in the $124 room price.)

Great stuff:
- price
- LAN + wireless connection (from upstairs)
- homely atmosphere
- easy check in/out
- left luggage service (ask nicely!)
- airport pickup available for $65; dropoff $55
- has cooking facilities
- very pretty garden

Bad stuff:
- Hotel is definitely older and not for the fussy chi-chi traveller - the furniture is dated and the bathroom fixtures are old. Everything is in working condition, just not at their best. My mini refrigerator was extremely noisy, and kept waking me up at night. Furniture are also a little old, but everything fits nicely into the picturesque image it has.
- This is NOT a B&B - you have to settle your own breakfast (but 10mins away, Chatwood Train Station has loads of shops and convenience stores.)
- Reception is only available from about 8am-6 or 7pm; if you want to check in after hours, you won't be met - you'll have to get the key from a set of locked boxes outside the hotel doors (see my pictures for the pic.) I personally thought this was terribly innovative and very fun; however I see from other reviews people thought it was ridiculous. Different strokes for different folks I guess!

Room Tip: Email Gary to ask him! You get a discount if you book long term (1 wk or longer.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesseilonwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My partner and I stumbled across this hotel purely by chance on the Internet. We found it excellent - staff friendly, courteous, helpful and room clean. I had to come to Sydney for medical treatment at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, on the southern side of Sydney Harbour. Thanks to situation so close to the train station - 8 minutes walk - was able to make the journey to Camperdown with good connections in less than 1 hour. Apart from the transport, Chatswood has a multitude of ideal restaurants and a wide variety of shops. We thoroughly recommend the Charrington.

Room Tip: We found the rooms on the second floor, each with their small balcony, just what the Doctor ordered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brudder2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Hotel is located a ten minutes walk from Chatswood station. It takes you about 30 minutes from the hotel to Sydney Center. Chatswood self has a big shopping area. For breakfast you have to walk five minutes to find several options.
The rooms are stylish and come with a really good (free) internet connection. Rooms are clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. If you really want to be in Sydney, it's not the best option. If you are in Sydney for business and a longer period of time, I think it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiederickPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
0.3 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
938 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
0.6 mi away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charrington Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charrington Boutique Hotel

Address: 22 Centennial Ave, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Price Range: $98 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charrington Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charrington Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing