We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Chatswood
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good With Reasonable Prices”
Review of Fortune Place

Fortune Place
Ranked #186 of 321 Restaurants in Chatswood
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There're not that many good yum cha places to eat at outside of Sydney Chinatown, so it was a gamble when I decided to try this restaurant.

When we got there, the place was already packed out and we had to get a queue ticket. Thankfully the wait was only about 10 minutes and we were seated. The food carts came thick and fast and we just grabbed whatever took our fancy.

What surprised us was that there were no bad dishes. All 12 selections for our family of 3 we rated as fair to good. Also we're not sure if it was for just the day we visited, but they had a flat $5.50 price for every dish we picked. Chinese tea was on the house if payment was made in cash.

Judging by the crowd of people on that weekday, I venture to guess the weekends would be much less enjoyable with the queuing. However, perhaps the quality of the food may be worth it.

We will certainly be back but definitely on a weekday..

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cougar_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There must be millions of Chinese restaurants in the world. This has got to be the worst...

We went for Yum Cha lunch.

To say this place looked tired would be an understatement. I think it can be charitably compared to one of Chairman Mao’s prison canteens.

The fried rice was a glutinous amorphous mass better suited to a construction site. The flat noodles were a soggy gelatinous mess. Indeed their lack of structure made one wonder if they had fallen off the back of a truck and subsequently been run over by a bus. The pork (if indeed it was) was terrible - with a fatty, washed out taste.

The only redeeming feature was the spring rolls which were actually quite nice. However even that was spoiled when one of my children spotted a waitress spilling them on the carpet, re-plating them with her fingers and plonking them on some poor unfortunate’s table.

The meal was so bad that we then went next door to Westfield and got something edible.

It is completely beyond me as to how this restaurant (a) has not been closed down and (b) remains in business.

This is a restaurant best suited for your Mother-in-Laws birthday....

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank LordPaulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019 via mobile

We tried to eat here for yum cha on the weekend.
We were shown to the table and that was where the service ended.

We tried to order drinks endless times but were totally ignored by the waiter. He saw us wave to him a few times but totally ignored us and continued serving many other tables of people that came in after us. We tried for over 20 minutes and gave up.

We eat yum cha most weekends but this was our first time here and we won’t be back.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Karen2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

Lunch time rush and many customers! More staff could help with queues at door. Reasonable food and service OK.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

We had dinner here on Saturday night. When we arrived there were plenty of vacant seats, so we thought the service would be ok.
It took 45 mins to receive our entree (Pork Dumplings), meanwhile other larger groups were arriving and all receiving their food before us.
For mains we had special fried rice, salt & pepper squid and shredded beef in peking sauce.
The rice and squid came out in a reasonable time after our entree, however we had to ask about the beef.
There is no complaints about the quality of the food it was very nice and tasty, just the constant asking that they check our order.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deejay6669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortune Place also viewed

Chatswood, Willoughby
Lane Cove, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Fortune Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing