We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, fast and authentic Malaysian fare” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PappaRich

PappaRich
Ranked #40 of 226 Restaurants in Chatswood
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, fast and authentic Malaysian fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We saw the weekend long queue and knew we were on to something good. Hoping to avoid the ridiculous conga line, we planned an early brunch recon on a weekday. First time and pretty happy with service overall. Their ordering system is efficiently fast. Best part is the service call bell right on your table. We ordered our holy trinity - penang Assam laksa, roti canai with curry chicken and special nasi lemak with chicken curry and Assam prawns. Orders arrived in rapid time and didn't disappoint. Meats were tender fresh, curries rich and spices balanced. The rice noodles used for the laksa was exceptionally chewy and the fish flakes in the broth nails the authenticity of the cuisine. I would have wished it was a little less sweet and more Assam, sour hot. 3 thumbs up all the same. Finished off with a Cham coffee - a sweetened coffee and tea combo hot drink. Talk about catering for everyone including the undecided. Many more dishes to try, will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ourve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    37
    30
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Efficient service, average value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was impressed by the long queues outside the restaurant from day one of the new restaurant. However, the numbers have since diminished. I was attracted by the efficient system of ordering food on a slip of paper which you hand to the waiter who answers the buzzer on your table. However, the food serve was smaller than average although prices fell on the other side of average. The popular chicken rice came with, surprisingly, bean sprouts on the side and the other usual accompaniments. The atmosphere was efficiency at the expense of occasional brusque manners from the supervisors on duty. The waiters were however always pleasant. Ultimately, an average experience, but nothing to shout about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YellowOrchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Some serious contention now...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

For the longest time I was still in my quest to look out for the right dose of Malaysian balance. Happy to say that I've stopped the hunt! My rice noodle broth hit the spot, the steamed chicken came out succulent, the fried kuey tiaow was lively and light, the chilli spicy, and the drinks were as I liked it and I am quite particular - hot barley, no sugar, got to have that cloudy touch. They met all of the brief!

Head over here, and come early if it's a Saturday brunch you're looking for. Definitely worth the wait and I'm glad it's finally here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mvtwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New Malaysian Restaurant - Best Char Kway Teow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This Malaysian restaurant opened recently in Chatswood, Sydney. Hubby and I have already eaten there three times - with family, on our own and with friends. All have really loved the food there. Hubby and I recently went to Malaysia for a holiday and fell in love with Char Kway Teow (very tasty dish of fried flat noodles, prawns etc) in Penang which is famous for it. I ate it every night whilst I was there! We were not expecting it to be as good here as in Penang but to our delight it was - we thought it was even better actually as it was more spicy. It costs $12.50 We also have eaten the roti canai here each time which is delicious too - highly recommend both and also recommend the fruity mango/lychee drink. The only problem is that the restaurant does not take reservations so you just have to queue up. We have gone once for lunch and twice for dinner (Sat. pm) and waiting time has been between 30 and 45 minutes - it's not great having to wait but we don't mind as the meal is well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozzies_From_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Me and my partner stumbled into this place, the food was authentic, the place is so nice and the drinks is so yummm. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SilverAshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PappaRich also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Chatswood, Willoughby
 
Chatswood, Willoughby
Chatswood, Willoughby
 
Chatswood, Willoughby
Chatswood, Willoughby
 

Been to PappaRich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing