We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, sizable room with view and clean amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
belconnen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, sizable room with view and clean amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

If you're a shopaholic, this hotel would be ideal for your weekend shopping spreen as it located 5 minutes away from the shopping complex. If you need to park your car, this hotel charge for a fee but guarantee a parking spot as long as you specified at booking time. If you stay at Mantra nearby, you might run into trouble of not able to find a parking spot close to the hotel. Therefore, Sebel is giving me the peace of mind that I won't have trouble finding a place nearby to park my car.

We arrived around 9pm on a weekend and we waited 20 mintues for the reception staff to acknowledge our existence. Our check-in experience would have been a lot better if the staff can acknowledge our existence right in front of the counter by nodding or smiling to us though he was talking on the phone. It's kind of rude to look your guests in their eyes but show an cold face as if your guests did not exist.

The wait at reception was quite worthy because we found out from the phone conversation that staff had, that access to the internet does not work in a guest room. We didn't bother to pay $30 to test the internet access in our apartment.

The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed with another couple had a nice view of the night time skyline of north sydney. The balcony is very sizable and you can have a clear view of Chatswood train station platform. Perhaps the sound proofing was reasonably well crafted that we weren't affected by the noise from the trains.

Amenities in the full kitchen and both bathrooms were clean. We really liked the fact that the apartment had 2 bathroom and 3 TVs. This allowed both couple to have total privacy when required. The only down side is the second bedroom only had 2 single beds. That's not too much of a problem as we an move the furniture around to make a king size bed out of 2 single bed.

Hope they can keep up with good maintenance of their amenties.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anytimecheerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    123
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
109
36
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

We booked both the 3 bedroom apartments and 1x 2 bedroom apartment as we had extended family coming for a wedding. We also had the bridal party in one of the rooms. The rooms are good size and the rate was acceptable. It was also a good location, close to the station and easily found by interstate vistiors. T
he biggest let down was Service. Nothing is possible for the staff at the Sebel, it wasen't possible to get bigger cups (barely 100ml/cup) or bigger teapot or get extra keys (3 keys/room) or organise parking for hair and makeup artists who were only there for 4 hours. I couldn't even get the wedding forcast from staff in the morning. Finally even though I paid for the all 3 rooms, we were locked out after the wedding, so we had to wait in my wedding dress until someone turned up with a key. Apparantly a master key was not available.
This hotel is good for people who do not require anything from staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybay881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

We booked directly with the hotel after reading great reviews on tripadvisor and checking out their website. We rented a car and it was a little diffuicult to find the hotel, but that may have been because it was dark, raining and we were driving on the wrong side of the road! :)

The hotel staff was very nice, although one girl gave us the wrong train station exit when we asked for directions. By the way, it's a 2 minute walk from the hotel to the train station. Literally around the corner.

The rooms were lovely, we stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. The living area was large and had a dining table, the kitchen was well-equipped and the fridge was a good size. The bedrooms were nice, I liked that they were far away from each other. Only one had a TV, but they were both well-sezed with closet space and plenty of room to walk around. We had 5 people, so our 5th person slept on the pull-out bed in the living room, she said it was very comfortable.

Internet access was offered in the room (for a fee) but it was kind of annoying because it was through a cable that plugged in behind the TV. So we had to pull a chair up next to the table the TV was on and sit there. As we were using Skype to talk to friends at home, there was no privacy.

We had a corner room, so we had double windows in our dining area, one of which was a sliding door through which I took the picture I uploaded here.

The hotel provides you with a small amount of laundry soap, dishwashing soap (there's a dishwasher), and plates, bowls, utensils, etc. They also replenish the toiletries everyday and they were nice quality.

The bathrooms were nicely sized. The bedroom with the TV had an attached bathroom and the the other bathroom was in the hall next to the other bedroom.

The hotel has a pool that we uysed each day we were there. It was heated and clean. However, the hot tub was NOT clean.

It's right across the street from a mall, a Target, a theatre, and lots of restaurants. There's actually a little shopping area right outside the door with banks and a promenade area where there was a music festival while we were there. This area seemed to be heavily trafficked by Asian people (not a problem, just an observation), but most of Sydney is like that.

The hotel provides menus for takeout in the room from a variety of restaurants - Indian, Italian, Thai, burgers, etc.

  • Liked — The large rooms
  • Disliked — The dirty hot tub
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ichbinseins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

Overall: Average rooms, decent service, good size, good value and good location, worth the savings for what you get.

Location: Good location. Chatswood is a major center of Sydney at the north shore. The hotel is a few minutes walk to train station. Post office is next door, internet cafe right around the corner, a big shopping mall right across the street, and restaurants and cafes are all within walking distance.

Rooms: I have stayed at this property 3 times now, and each time I have stayed at a two-room suite with one living room. One room is ensuite with bathroom, the other one, the bathroom is just outside the room door for common use. There is a kitchen, living area and laundry. It looks out into an open view. While the furnishings are not fancy, they serve the basic function. Cleanliness is ok though not perfect. Note that the walls are thin so when somebody upstairs is taking a shower, you will hear it.

Service: Front desk is usually helpful and friendly. Note that your party only get one access card that lets you use the elevator to your floor so you have to ask them to let you in at times when your party is not together. Parking is paid (A$15) but if somebody is visiting you, ask them to park at the mall across where you can get 3 hours of parking for free. Breakfast is not cheap so we went next door to the cafe. Daily internet fee is A$30 so you are better off going around the corner to the internet cafe.

Conclusion: Nothing to be excited about with the rooms, but it is well worth the money (around A$250 for a two-room suite), and it's not far from the train station should you wish to go into the city. Recommended.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Can be better furnished
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SammyF1oyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

After spending a week in Singapore, I arrived in Sydney to stay at the Sebel. My inept cab driver could not find the property, but I think its because he didn't know how to use his GPS. Either way, make sure you have the address and phone number with you.

Upon reaching my room, I was quite surprised at 3 things -
1. The room is huge and is actually multiple rooms.
2. The place is somewhat old and has the feel of an old, downrent apartment.
3. The was a washer and dryer in the room.

Surprises 1 and 3 beat out surprise 2 and I found myself quite content. There was a decent-sized kitchen and a dinette and den with a TV, overlooking Chatswood and Sydney off in the distance. The bedroom was serviceable with its own tv and big closet. The bath was kind of rough around the edges, but it was usable. The washer and dryer was a great benefit!

There are several restaurants and stores in the area, so I went out for groceries and laundry soap. It was nice to be able to eat-in after traveling for so long. Also note that the hotel does not have a restaurant, so you either eat-in, or go for a walk. The hotel is very close to the train line (but not so close you hear it), so its very convenient to get in to Sydney.

Also, the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank audreyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2007

This hotel is located about 15 minutes by train from Sydney central, we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was fully self catering with full kitchen and laundry, the apartment was a good size with plenty off room to move, bedrooms were located away from the living area which was good once the kids had gone to bed. Decor was ok with natural tones browns and creams etc beds were nice and comfy with clean sheets, rooms serviced daily.

The hotel is located directly next to the Chatswood Westfield mall which is huge and a great asset to the hotel, if your going to shop for the weekend this hotel is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Twin Towers Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residence Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Property: The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Address: 37 Victor St, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residence Chatswood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Residence Chatswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Residence Chatswood Hotel Chatswood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing