We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignored as silver member”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ignored as silver member”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We always stay in Chatswood when we visit Sydney. Sometimes at the Sebel sometimes the Mantra. The Sebel is more convenient to shops, but it is not a member of Accor. As we are now silver members we chose the Sebel to get free wi fi and welcome drinks. Unfortunately this was not offered.
The hotel as also adopted a policy of debiting the credit card for $100.00 and refunding 3 working days after check out. This is despite the fact we had already paid in advance and they knew our credit card details in case we skipped away without paying for any extras.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 983brianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello photoman037

Thank you for your feedback we do appreciate this.

I do apologise that we were not attentive to you being a Le Club silver member, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We do have a credit card pre authorisation process when checking in, I am sorry this was not clearly explained as we do not debit the card.

I do hope that your enjoyment of our loaction will allow us to opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    126
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
114
36
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Have stayed here many times when visiting Sydney. It is right opposite Westfield Centre and vey close to many other stores. The train station is a few minutes walk away. We usually take a two bedroom apartment as they are located on the higher floors and have excellent Sydney views. Unfortunately the management no longer allow use of the intercom to let guests in. This means our friends have to call us on arrival and we have to descend to the foyer to let them in to the building and lift.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 983brianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello 983brianm

Thank you for your time in providing feedback. It is good to know you enjoy our location we are fortunate to have everything right on our door step.

We have increased our security within the building though our reception team can assist so you don't have to come to the lobby to meet your guest.

We apprecaite your continued support and aways look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in a 2 br apartment with 3 adults and 2 kids. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The unit was clean and the beds comfy. All good upstairs.

Some issues that really annoyed me. Firstly, the pool was closed for renovations - apparently since November 2013. But the website still showed a photo of the pool. And a nice pool it looked too. I complained about this and was told that it says that its closed on the website. But when I clarified where it said it - the story was that it didn't say the pool was closed it just didn't say the pool was open. When I asked 'what about the photo of the pool in all his sunny glory' - I was told that Accor in Paris can't take it down.

I consider this to be misleading and with 3 kids in tow in their swimmers looking at a pool which resembled a building site out of a third world country I was the one guilty of misleading the kids that we were going to go for a great swim. Dad was in trouble from that point.

So then I chose to try the sauna the next morning. After avoiding the building rubbish from the pool and from the showers being retiled - unfortunately the sauna was not working.

I must really compliment the staff however. I could tell that they had been copping a spray from people about the pool. But the 'Paris couldn't take the photo down' excuse just doesn't wash with me. Take the photo down and make it clear the pool is closed as I made a buying decision based upon misleading information.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangBin440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello TangBin440

Thank you for your review, I sincerely apologise the pool was under refurbishment during your stay. We were able to offer alternative activities to ensures the children enjoyed their holiday I apologise this was not offered.

Thank you for acknowledging our team I do apprecaite this. I would aprecaite the opportunity to welcome you back and would be pleased if you contacted me directly.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in April for one night in a 2br apartment. Plenty of room, well appointed kitchen and comfy beds. When we arrived there was an awful smell coming from the laundry but this was quickly rectified. Was looking very forward to a swim, we actually picked this over the mantra as the pool looked nicer, so was disappointed when we discovered it was closed for renovations. Would probably try somewhere else next time just because it was nothing special for us.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castles45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello Castles45

Thank you for your feedback we do apologise for the pool being under refurbishment and are looking forward to opening this in July.

We do hope you will consider coming back to stay especially to enjoy the major upgrade of our recreational area.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights for a wedding in North Sydney. We were really happy with the apartment overall.

Pluses - location with Westfield 200m away and close to fabulous eateries (Din tai fung, Pappa rich etc), space, the apt bring fully self contained with kitchen, 2 separate bathrooms, etc, parking on site, hot showers, comfy beds. Good cleanliness and helpful reception (thank you Ms Huang) who checked up on us to see if we were ok on the first night. I also requested a quiet room on higher floor away from lift, and this was provided.

minuses- parking is $22 day, visitors parking $17 - this fee adds up if you stay a number of days and there's not much alternative parking. Also,The swimming pool was close for renovations.

I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello sarah y

Thank you for taking the time and providing us feed back from your recent stay.

It was lovely to hear you all enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We chose to stay out at Chatswood rather than in the Sydney CBD over Easter and it was a good move.
Firstly the location of the Sebel couldn't be better. In amongst the shops, close to the train station but yet still quiet. We had great views from our 9th floor balcony out to the city skyline over lots of treed areas. Just really restful.
I love apartments that have balconies and this one extended in front of the bedroom too. The apartment was spacious, even the bedroom, and the kitchen was well appointed and best with just one cook in it!
The bed was a bit bouncy but firm and comfortable. The shower was good and strong with plenty of hot water. A welcome bonus to have a washing machine and drier.
A nice extra touch was that on the night before Easter Sunday we arrived back to find two little Easter eggs waiting for us. Thanks!
Front desk staff were always very pleasant and helpful.
Thanks for a great stay, and we'll be returning for sure.

Room Tip: Try to get on to a higher floor than the 9th floor so you don't hear the air conditioning unit f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catsings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello Catsings

Thank you for taking to time to advising us of your stay. Your comments were lovely and we received by all our team.

It was good to know our location and size of our apartments were enjoyed. It is good to have a balcony to look out from and for fresh air.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sebel Residence Chatswood.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North Shore
Comfort Inn North Shore
#1 of 2 in Lane Cove
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residence Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Property: The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Address: 37 Victor St, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residence Chatswood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Residence Chatswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Residence Chatswood Hotel Chatswood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing