We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, average apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing location, average apartments”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The apartment we had was looking a little tired. Not dirty but not overly clean and a few little maintenance issues (broken blinds etc). That said, the view back over Sydney was amazing and you could not get a better location in Chatswood. Access to shops, parks and public transport was immediate. We will stay again. The apartments are not cheap, but you are paying for the convenience of the location.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CJSDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello CJS Dubai

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

It is lovely to know you we impressed with our location and views we are very fortunate.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Sebel Residence Chatswood in the future.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    126
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
114
36
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This property is definitely no 4.5 star, location aside it would struggle to scrape in with a 4 star rating.

What I like about the property is the location and the staff who are friendly, personable and helpful, but that's about where the Pro's end and the Con's begin.

For starters the apartments are very dated, worn in alot of places (see pic of dining suite), dirty/stained (see pic of blood or some other stain on the kitchen floor) and stink from over use of chemical cleaners which gave myself and everyone else in the apartment a rotten headache.

As if the apartments aren't over priced for the quality received already, when we were forced to ask for a sofabed/rollaway to accommodate the 4th person due to the second bedroom only having a Queen bed in it (it was a couple and 2 single males) we were slugged $45 for the privilege.
Now I can fully appreciate that there are costs involved with utilizing bed linen and that if I was attempting to accommodate a 5th person I would expect to pay it, but given they chose to put a Queen in place of 2 singles in the second room, it seems a bit rich to be charging a guest when they can't even accommodation 4 people in existing bedding.

The quality of sleep wasn't fantastic due to the level of noise (even on the 25th floor) from both the rail and people screaming in the street, not a brilliant location if you like a quiet nights sleep.

Overall I wouldn't recommend the property unless you have to be based in Chatswood, as great as the location and staff are the property itself is way overpriced for what you're getting and the circa early 90s decor just doesn't cut it for a property that promotes itself as a 'Sebel Premium' 4.5 star property.

**This is an independent review from TravellerAgent who paid his own accommodation bill and at no time made the property aware of my association within the travel industry.
All opinions are my own and reflect my own experience with the property**

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priveluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello Traveller Agent

It was dissappointing to note that you did not enjoy your stay.

I am not sure as to why there was an issue with the bedding as we do have two bedroom apartments with a king bed and two single beds.

Thank you for acknowledging our friendly team and good location in Chatswood.

We appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

For a stay on the North Shore of Sydney as well easy access to a train to travel into Sydney CBD you cannot go oat the Sebel at Chatswood. The apartments are comfortable although the furniture in the two apartments that we stayed in were a little dated but still comfortable.
The staff at reception were very helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank dthomas1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello dthomas 1941

We appreciate your valuable feedback and the time you have taken to provide this.

We are pleased to know our location appealed to you we are fortunate to be just a short distance to the CBD. Thank you for acknowledging our team for being helpful.

Do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Despite the quite high prices charged, it is a good location and well run venue. Rooms were spotlessly clean and beds were very comfortable. If you require a kitchen/dining/laundry in an apartment, then this is the place for you. However if you just require a high level hotel room, then you can find better for much less elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello travellinallover

Thank you for chosing to stay with us and for your feedabck.

We are fortunate that our apartments are spacious and we apprecaited you acknowledging the quality of our cleaning.

Hope you will consider staying with us next time your in Sydney.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I do a lot of work in Chatswood and there's not a lot of choice in terms of accommodation so I was really pleased to find the Sebel. The staff were helpful (I even got early check in when I rocked up unexpectedly), the apartment was spacious, clean and well furnished, and the bed was very comfortable - in particular, the pillows. Many hotels have these soft placid pillows that causes neck damage by the time you wake in the morning so it was a relief to be in a hotel where the pillows were those nice firm foam ones.
Location wise, this is very well positioned - Immediately adjacent to Chatswood station and bus terminals and next to Westfield shopping centre. Lots of restaurants around (mainly asian) but good quality at great prices. Yet, the apartment was amazingly quiet at night so sleep quality was high!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollytd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Hollytd

Many thanks for your time in reviewing our property. Good to know you had a good time. Very much appreciated you acknowledging our pillows and had a good nights sleep.

Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I had a 1bedroom apartment on low floor. Rooms were clean. Good tvs. Apartment seems to be in the phase of transitioning to becoming old but is maintained well so far. Nearby you have many and every options for food. Lovely to walk around and safe. Station is nearby and taxi queue is on the other exit of station. 7/11 is close by. Overall service from staff was very good. Bed and bedding was great. It's just the wifi that will stop me from staying here again though its close to many large company head offices including mine. The staff give very good advice. They know the lack of wifi is sad but they try to direct you to Gloria jeans to use their wifi. This is odd but I can sense the staff try their best to help the customer. The lady said that as the apartments are owned by others they need to get overall approvals to install wifi which can be difficult.

Tip: the signage is not so clear that you have reached Sebel residence, so keep a clear eye open for the venue.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pt2pt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello pt2pt3

Apprecite your time in proving feeback on our property, glad to know your enjoyed your stay as well as our beds.

We are currently investigating a solution to provide WiFi in all of our apartments and hope to have this up and running in the not too distant future.

We hope that this will encourage you to consider staying with us.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North Shore
Comfort Inn North Shore
#1 of 2 in Lane Cove
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residence Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Property: The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Address: 37 Victor St, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residence Chatswood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Residence Chatswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Residence Chatswood Hotel Chatswood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing