We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a two bedroom apartment in January 2014. We were forced to stay a little out of the city due to time of year and ashes tourist demand. No regrets - the Sebel is less than 5 minutes to the train which only takes 20 miuntes to get to the center of Sydney. The Sebel itself is across the road (literally) from a Westfiled Mall and 5 minutes walk to Chatswood Chase - a very nice up-market shopping center. The local area is full of restaurants of all sorts of ethnicity. We went to a very nice Italian restaurant (La Terrazza (sp?)) on the promenade area by the local convention center. The service at the Sebel was outstanding and the room facilities first class. We used the gym which fine. The pool was being renevoted during our stay. I would highly recommend the Sebel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwitraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hello Kiwitraveler59

So pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. We are fortunate to be in a really good location and we very much apprecaite you acknowledging our team members service.

Many thanks and we hope to welome you back again.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 273 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

The apartment is spacious and gives one the feeling of living in a home. It comes complete with a kitchenette, and a utility room complete with a washing machine, a separate drier, ironing board and iron. I like its location best as Westfield Shopping Mall is almost at its doorstep, Chatswood train station just round the corner 2minutes away, and the shops along the shopping best of Victoria Avenue round the other corner. The other big shopping mall Chatswood Chase is within 15 minutes walking distance from the Sebel Residence.
I would rate the apartment complete if not for the lack of free wifi in the apartment, the very old but working washing machine and the toilet cistern that needs three flushes just to remove a piece of tissue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Sydney Harbour Bridge if you are staying over 31 Dec to enjoy the firework...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hello Chris997

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback.

Glad you liked our accessible location we are spoilt, we are currently working on a WiFi plan for our apartments and hope to roll this out in the New Year.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager
The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Allaned
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had been told by several people that the Sebel Chatswood was the place to stay on the North Shore. As a result we booked a two bedroom apartment. First the good things. Parking was on site and was free. The location is excellent, especially if you need to do shopping as you are right in the middle of the shopping precinct. Our room had a great balcony with a 90 degree view of the city/north shore. Now the disappointing things. The room was very tired looking and needed doing up. The carpet appeared stained and the table was worn. Glasses in the kitchen were dirty and needed cleaning before we could use them. The room was very expensive and the value for money was poor. After driving all day we had a cup of coffee but there wasn't a biscuit to be seen! Even the most poor run country town motel has a bikkie to have with your cuppa!! There was no mini bar, poor room service and no bar in the lobby to enjoy a quiet drink. What annoyed me was having to pay a $100 deposit on the room on top of the room rate and having to go through the payment process twice, both at check in and check out. At check out I had to wait while the staff member argued with a guest on the phone over a late check out. Very unprofessional. Overall I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms up higher are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyLeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hello LizzyLeeton

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your stay. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations.

I would like to discuss this further if you have the opportunity to call me on 02 9414 1600.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you don't want to be in the Sydney CBD - or want to be on the North Shore - Chatswood is ideal, and the Sebel is in an ideal location. Right in the middle of the primary shopping precinct, with a full supermarket just over the road. And the rail station is just a 5 minutes stroll.
The suites in the Sebel are all a good size, which is to be expected when the price is a little on the high side (yet still excellent value in comparison to the CBD).

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank FletchCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hello FletchCol

Appreciate your comments and glad you liked the location of our property, we are very spoilt having everything so close by.

Pleased you were comfortable in our spacious apartments we are fortunate with the size of our rooms.
Hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Sebel Residence.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is our first visit in Australia and we are very happy we stayed in The Sebel Residence in Chatswood! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 10 nights from October 20 to 30, 2013. I can say that the security systems in place is very cool. Without a room key, you won't be able to use the lift or you won't be able to enter the main entrance door after 10 PM without a room key! The location is very good as Westfield Mall is just in front of the hotel and there's a variety of restaurants outside - best area if you are looking for Korean, Japanese and Chinese food! The Chatswood train station is also just 2 minutes away! And the reception is knowledgeable when asked about public transport to and from tourist destinations.

The room is clean and housekeeping is cleaning the room everyday, however, they only fix the bed, kitchen and replenish toiletries, they don't vacuum the room daily and they don't clean the living room (not sure if it is a norm in Aussie hotel apartments). Quite strange that there's no doorbell and peephole - maybe designed intentionally due to the security systems in place at the main hotel door and lifts - but still found it strange.

Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay in The Sebel Residence Chatswood!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xbs128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hello xbs 128

Very special that you selected us to stay with as your first Australian experience, pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We are a very secure property and you are right you need you security access with you at all times. Good to know you enjoyed our location.

Hope we get to welcome you back to The Sebel Residence Chatswood and Australia.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Rooms are large with a fully functioning kitchen, lounge room and dining table, balcony and king size bed. There is also a full size fridge, but with nothing in it. No minibar, although there is a small selection of snacks and non alcoholic beverages that can be ordered to your room. No room service option for food either, except for the small selection of snacks. Is close to Chatswood mall and Westfield and there are many restaurants, pubs and shopping close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoundyAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at The Sebel Residence Chatswood, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hello RoundyAU

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Good to know that you enjoyed our spacious apartments. As you could see from our location we have so many cuisines and food options available so very close by.

Appreciate your feedback and hope we get to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Sandra Crisafi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
0.2 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#2 of 6 in North Ryde
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residence Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residence Chatswood

Address: 37 Victor St, Chatswood, Willoughby, New South Wales 2067, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Chatswood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chatswood
Price Range: $155 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residence Chatswood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Residence Chatswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Residence Chatswood Hotel Chatswood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing