We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place! Great food ... and inexpensive!”
Review of Mamak Chatswood

Mamak Chatswood
Ranked #1 of 231 Restaurants in Chatswood
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love this place! Great food ... and inexpensive!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I love Mamak and keep going back. The food is fresh, interesting and very tasty! I love the breads, the curries are great, and the satay chicken sticks are delightful. The desserts are also great - especially the banana dessert (sorry, forgotten it's name). All washed down with iced tea! Perfect! And inexpensive. Mamak is a casual restaurant, so not the place to go if you're looking for ambience. It's a great place to eat a weekday meal if you don't feel like cooking (hmmmm ... which is most of the time for me!) It's a very popular place, so be prepared to queue if you arrive around 7pm. I like to go early. Service is quick and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oztripper_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    148
    47
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent Roti and I loved the variety too. Unlike any other restaurant this busy and cluttered, the space was kept spotless by attentive staff who were plenty and made sure you do not have to wait for a second before one of them catches your eye.
Gluttony is man's worst enemy. I should have been warned by the server when I was ordering 2 rotis and one dessert that it was too much for one as I ended up wasting most of good food. Tip for next time

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puneet208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mamak = mammoth (happy).”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It takes a lot for something I've enjoyed eating to play on repeat in my mind..over & over... & tucking into the most delicious Roti Canai & dessert Roti Tisu at Mamak in Chatswood is guilty in the 1st degree in every sense of the term. I have now dined here 3 times since 24th December 2012 (Christmas Eve) & I still can't get enough of the sensational crisp, light, 'fluffy' roti (roti canai) which is dipped in a wonderful chickpea &/or chilli sauce. A 'scrunch' of this alongside Mamak's famous version of KFC chicken & you'll forget Colonel Sanders ever existed! Top this all off with Mamak's beautiful, tissue-like 'cone' of gentle buttery "sweetness" i.e. the roti tisu & you will think your Christmas's (or birthdays) have indeed all come at once. A little 'tip' here is to order an extra serve of ice cream along with your roti tisu & while you're waiting take a peek in the kitchen as your roti is being stretched into airy thin-ness. There are some lovely curries & other delicious choices on the menu & while it is a little noisy, who am I to deny others the joy while enjoying the Mamak dining experience? The treat for the taste-buds is worth every minute of it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

There is usually a bit of a wait to get a table, even if you book. But the food is certainly worth the wait and is good value for money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Yummy & Popular”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a great place to eat. Go early so you don't have to queue. The food is delicious and authentic. The prices are very reasonable. You won't be disappointed!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HAVEFUN000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamak Chatswood also viewed

Chatswood, Willoughby
Chatswood, Willoughby
 

Been to Mamak Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing