We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience...”
Review of Cessnock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cessnock Motel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience...”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely newly renovated motel with a euro design atmosphere. The husband/wife team that own and run it are exceptional people with high quality standards. I enjoyed the poached egg breakfast which they bring to your room. The owner is a five star pastry chef so breakfast are lovely. There is also a solar heated lap pool. They treated me with kindness and I highly recommend the whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makkie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    64
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
133
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast NSW
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed overnight for my hubbys birthday to get an early start with him flying a tiger moth aeroplane that morning. Thankyou Celeste for making us feel so welcome. Breakfast was delicious. A modern, immaculately clean, gorgeous place. We couldnt have been happier!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived to our cosy ,neat, modern room and our hostess was so inviting and helpful.We were up from Sydney for a tennis event in Cessnock. Our room was super clean each day when we came back. Shops are within walking distance and if you need advise on were to go for dinner ask Cleste at the front desk. We will be staying here again if ever we ever come up this way and we highly recommend Cessnock Motel for your next stay in the Hunter area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da_SaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We arrived after a long drive. The hostess was welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. The location is good for amenities. Highly recomended as a base for exploring the wineries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBat055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We received a phone call from our host on the morning of our arrival informing us that our room was ready and enquiring what our arrival time was. She was concerned that we would have an opportunity to see the region. We're glad we arrived with some time to explore the vineyards, which are less than 20 minutes drive away. Our host gave us some great hints and tips for great places to see.

The downside is that the motel is on a very busy road and was quite noisy during the day, but at night wasn't so bad. The bathrooms very modern and clean. Everything we needed was provided. Our host gave us extra blankets for the cooler weather, but the room was great with a good heating system.

Excellent for a one-night stop.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the road as possible....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Cessnock Motel on a recent visit to the Hunter Valley. We booked on wotif.com and were given a standard Queen room. We have stayed at the Cessnock Motel previously but I don't recall the rooms being that small. Our Queen room was narrow with a table setting for two at one end, the Queen bed in the middle and the ensuite at the other end. It was quite claustrophbic but ok for two nights until the guests in the room next door returned. It appears their tv only had one volume and that was excessively loud! Being a very light sleeper I anticipated problems with our neighbours so my husband asked Celeste if another room was available. For a small additional charge we were moved to the spa Queen room at one corner of the motel.

This room was larger and blissfully quiet. The room also contained a small kitchenette with microwave but as we were visiting relatives we didn't use the kitchenette. The room was extremely clean and the bed very comfortable.

A big thank you to Celeste for accommodating our request for a quieter room which certainly allowed us to have a very enjoyable stay in Cessnock. Next time we book we will ring the motel directly!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The motel appears to have been renovated recently and the rooms are in excellent condition with modern fittings, although a bit on the small side by contemporary standards. The room was spotless. The motel is on the main road, but traffic noise did not seem to be a problem. I would say the tone is business-like rather than home-away-from-home. There is no mini-bar in the room (items available from reception), so if you want a drink or snack after reception is closed you are out of luck.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessnock
0.4 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
337 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.6 mi away
Potters Hotel & Brewery
5.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cessnock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cessnock Motel

Property: Cessnock Motel
Address: 13 Allandale Rd, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cessnock Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cessnock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cessnock Motel Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing