We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern room in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent two nights here and were extremely pleased with our stay. The young man at reception was very pleasant, helpful and informative. The room was very clean and comfortable with a good bed and great shower. This motel is centrally located within walking distance to local shops, cafes and restaurants. We were in the Hunter Valley for a concert and the bus picked us up right at the door and dropped us back at the end of a most enjoyable evening. Great value for money for anyone looking for central accommodation with good service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 368 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with my mother and sister in a room with 3 single beds. Reception was very friendly and helpful and check in was very efficient. It's convenently located in Cessnock and only 15 minutes from the wineries. Disappointed they never mentioned the third bed in the room was a foldaway. When I walked in there was rubbish on one of the beds, a bit of knotted up plastic, and I had to do a finger vac on the floor. We were surprised that they didn't offer fresh milk for tea and coffee which we expected from a 4 star motel. They did bring some up to us when we asked, but not before telling us they don't supply it and we should go to the supermarket located behind the car park. We had their continental buffet breakfast on our last day which was well laid out, fresh and there was plenty of it. The staff member looking after the breakfast room was very friendly, helpful and efficient. All in all, not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank San-Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Over all my partner and I were pleased with our stay. The rooms were clean and modern and the location was great, close to the restaurants and shops. We have visited the Hunter Valley a few times and this seems like one of the better options in Cessnock, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This motel is in the heart of Cessnock and just minutes from the Hunter Valley and its wineries. Rooms are good, bed was comfortable, shower was hot and with good water pressure. We stayed three nights. Didn't use any facilities other than the room. Oh, and they had very fast free WiFi in the rooms too.

Only complaint: air con a little noisy even on low fan, so I wore my ear plugs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Location very central and handy for shopping, day trips etc
Just got the feeling that they would be happier running this motel without the nuisance of guests actually staying there! The rooms are of a good standard but are let down by poor attention to detail, dirty cups,glasses etc. if you are someone who enjoys a hot shower...forget it,as already mentioned in a couple of reviews the hot water takes ages to get anywhere near warm enough and no cold water is required. I would have thought that after seeing some of the previous comments they would have addressed this. The place is infested with signs and veiled threats regarding smoking and or setting off the smoke alarms, which apparently can also be set off by excess steam from the bath room (might explain the hot water issue?) overall not a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WurzelGummidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Suitable Accomodation for a short stay in the area, perhaps if just visiting the local wineries. If you looking for something more luxurious and resort like, then the Crowne Plaza is probably more for you.
The Wine Country Motor Inn is close to all amenities, local shops, Woolworths, restaurants etc. Wineries are real close.
The rooms are small but suitable. The service is average, but again, yu are probably out and about more often than just lazing around at the hotel. No pool. Internal fridge & coffee making facilities, but no mini bar. Room service is available. Plenty of room to park your car.
Price is a little high in my opinion, as they generally are popular with those looking for Accomodation for winery visits or local concerts. Worth a stay but only for a short one.
Bring your own pillow as theirs are very ordinary.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar. Twin king is what I stayed in. Save money and bring your own breakfast &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Copthat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Booked last minute and emailed the hotel direct. They gave us a better price than online and an upgrade as well. Within driving distance to all the wineries and at a decent price compared to other hotels that are in the area. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were.
Thank you Madeline for looking after the reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessnock
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2 mi away
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#1 of 16 in Cessnock
325 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Motor Inn

Address: 5 Darwin St, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Price Range: $86 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Country Motor Inn is located in the heart of the Cessnock CBD just five minutes to the wineries, offering guests the best of both worlds. The convenience and quality of a city property whilst being in close proximity to the renowned Hunter Valley Vineyards as well as the spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens. The Wine Country Motor Inn is delighted to be able to offer one night stays. In fact Wedding Guest accommodation is our specialty (not available on concert or event weekends). We have many great packages on offer, designed to suit all budgets for all major concert weekends and events held in the Vineyards and local area. The Wine Country Motor Inn has fifty rooms, all with modern, elegant décor. We have King, Queen, Twin and Special Access rooms available. All rooms are non-smoking and serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cessnock
Cessnock Best Western
Wine Country Motor Inn Cessnock, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing