We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally recommend!”

Cumberland Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cumberland Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally recommend!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for a night only, both the location and the room impressed us. The size and facilities in the room was definitely that of a high rated hotel (not motel). The location is perfect - central yet peaceful. We could reach some of the good vineyards in 10mins or so (driving), there was a good restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smritimodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Korora, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our stay was really comfortable and the excellent A/C in the rooms was extremely welcome as temperatures were very high following the rally driving experience we had booked. The salt water pool was also great (although it needed a bit of a vacuum) and our 6month old twin grand daughters had a ball! The adjoining room facility was invaluable. Quiet end of town was appreciated and the bed was wonderfully firm and supporting. Great sized bathroom and shower. Furniture and decor updating will certainly enhance the stay. The friendly and helpful staff have ensured a future visit when required.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 &10 are very quiet and although a bit darker, were very useful as the sun didn't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colclu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed for a night, overall good place - central location, clean and well maintained albeit with old furnishings. Rooms are not facing the main street so it was pretty quiet.

There are plenty of places to eat around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apmdimka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Cumberland Motor Inn with some friends and it was really lovely. Great location, about a 10 minute drive from wineries and is just just behind the main shopping strip in Cessnock so it was very easy to go walking to Coles or to find lovely cafés. Room decor & bathroom was a little dated but everything was exceptionally clean. Service was really friendly. And best of all, it was really cheap!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkmnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After several visits to Cessnock we came across this Motel by chance and now wouldn't stay anywhere else. Maybe a bit dated but its spotless, and even though its in the middle of town with short walk to everything you want, "Nowhere Near any Noisy Traffic".
Our room was spacious with a large bathroom and huge shower and our friends had a similar big disabled room next door all on the ground floor. Bed was firm the way we like it and the peaceful location ensures a decent nights sleep, all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speaktruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This motel was a great choice for our stay in Cessnock. The hotel is very central to the town center, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. We will definitely stay here again when travelling through Cessnock.

Room Tip: Great pubs nearby for food and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SM_McKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

For a basic motel, the Comfort Inn has excellent facilities and helpful staff (who checked us in early). A huge room, for those who care about that, and even bathrobes! Centrally located in the town and easy to find, but very quiet (well, the town pretty much shuts after dark…). Cessnock is not really set up for tourists but there are a couple of reasonable restaurants at the far end of the main street from the Inn and everyone we met recommended the 221 Restaurant at the Royal Oak Hotel – though we didn’t get there ourselves. For breakfast we went to the Queen of Tarts bakery, which was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_n_R_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessnock
0.3 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
329 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.2 mi away
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.7 mi away
Hunter Valley Motel
Hunter Valley Motel
#12 of 16 in Cessnock
45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Travellers Rest Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Motor Inn

Property: Cumberland Motor Inn
Address: 57 - 61 Cumberland St, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Cumberland)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumberland Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumberland Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cessnock
Cessnock Comfort Inn
Cumberland Motor Inn Cessnock, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing