We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best budget hotels we've used”

Cumberland Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cumberland Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Reviewed April 28, 2013

For a basic motel, the Comfort Inn has excellent facilities and helpful staff (who checked us in early). A huge room, for those who care about that, and even bathrobes! Centrally located in the town and easy to find, but very quiet (well, the town pretty much shuts after dark…). Cessnock is not really set up for tourists but there are a couple of reasonable restaurants at the far end of the main street from the Inn and everyone we met recommended the 221 Restaurant at the Royal Oak Hotel – though we didn’t get there ourselves. For breakfast we went to the Queen of Tarts bakery, which was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_n_R_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 60 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Found the room to be quite large, although we had booked a room to cater for a family of 3 (2 parents and a baby under the age of one). Kids under two are free with this motel which was a nice change from others that insist on us paying for a family room. The location is quite handy, just a street back from the Main Street of Cessnock, with restaurants, pubs etc.

Room was clean enough, although it was an older-style motel room.

Service was okay, did ask a few questions about the best places for a meal, and was given a very brief, un informative answer (my google search was more helpful in this regard).

The parking is fairly tight when the motel is busy, especially when you have a few large vehicles parked around you.

Overall the motel met our requirements but it wasn't an amazing experience.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank travelertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Despite non smoking room it still smelt terrible and no wonder with what seemed every other guest in the hotel smoking right outside the room doors, often with the doors and windows open!!

I agree with previous reviewer - this motel just does not cut the mustard with their 3.5 star rating!

Definitely overpriced and over rated - this should be a 2.5 star and well <$100 a night! It cost us over $250 for 4 adults in 1 room!!! No breakfast, no Foxtel, no lift for upstairs rooms.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere! I've had friends stay in the local pubs with fewer complaints than this establish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mad_ELK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I don't know how this motel is permitted to display 3.5 stars on it's pylon sign, as the facilities although clean, don't come close to 3.5 stars of comfort.

Free parking, but it's Cessnock so free parking is abundant.
No Foxtel/Austar.
Thin, off-white, scratchy towels. Mine with a lovely blood stain.
Goop in the dark shower titled with homemade sign printed off inkjet printer and adhered with school book contact "hair and body wash" I suppose ticks both requirements of Country Confort off this list.
Aged rooms with stale smell.
Rock hard pillows.
Lacking breakfast menu.
Noise from surrounding pubs and restaurants kept us awake.
Hoons on road heard all night long.
$180 for 1 night.... There's gotta be something better!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pusskka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

we stayed for a night in this hotel and i found it to be very comfortable and relaxing. It offered basics such as a microwave and kettle and some cutlery. Our configuration was a queen bed and two single beds plus a baby portacot. It was just one room but our room had the option of being opened on to another or the same configuration. For a night it was pretty good but with kids i would have fond it a challenge for any longer, with all the kids in the same room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eman_fady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very clean and comfy room. Plenty of space. Large bathroom. A great place to stay, as it is close to all attractions. Plenty of good dining close by, so no need for the car. Very busy Motel, so book early if travelling to The Hunter valley.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been travelling around our beautiful land and overnighting in motel's along the way, we failed to book in advance in this instance and took pot luck on an overnight stay in Cessnock N.S.W.

What good luck we had in coming across the Cumberland Motel.

The room was large, clean and quiet with the owners being very friendly and helpful. What else could you ask for.... well both the RSL and Local Pub do fantastic meals right next door.

A good feed and a good night's sleep.... Bliss.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room near a side road...no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRSMITH1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cessnock hotels
0.3 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#4 of 16 in Cessnock
362 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.2 mi away
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#1 of 16 in Cessnock
317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Travellers Rest Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Motor Inn

Address: 57 - 61 Cumberland St, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Cumberland)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Price Range: $80 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumberland Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cumberland Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cessnock
Cessnock Comfort Inn
Cumberland Motor Inn Cessnock, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing