We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food at a reasonable price”
Review of Indian at Hunter

Indian at Hunter
Ranked #35 of 123 Restaurants in Cessnock
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I got takeaway from Indian at Hunter. I love my food really hot and they didn't disappoint. The chicken Tikka Masala was really good, as was the Naan bread, papadums and condiments. Very tasty and well priced

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    34
    12
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Indian Restaurent”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had a very bad experience at this restaurent.
Service was very poor, I had ask for water 3 times and i had to wait for 20 approx to place an order.
Food was even worst, Oily food, not even near to authentic taste, worst curry taste ever.

I ordered the Coke and in glass there was flyes.
waste of money!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food & service..”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We tried the regular banquet option which was great. Over all great food, ambience & service.. We loved it..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GenuineBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Top Quality Meals & reasonable prices.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife ordered a takeaway at this restaurant last week and it was mouthwateringly delicious. Real herbs and spices were used in the dish and it was cooked to her liking of spiciness. The restaurant itself did not appear to be very spectacular or have the best atmosphere, but if it is great quality food that you after, then eat here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themaddog74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprise yourself - the best Indian Food is in Cessnock!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family are regulars at Indian @Hunter and have never had a meal we didn't enjoy. You must try the Tandoori chicken, the lamb sag,the eggplant & potato, the Hunter mixed platter and the best Nans I have ever eaten. I have tasted Indian food in many different restaurants including many in Sydney & none are as good as this local restaurant.
This is a family run restaurant and I suggest that you book if possible so you don't miss out on a table- you won't be sorry!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birdandpuss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian at Hunter also viewed

Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
 
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Indian at Hunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing