We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean motel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunter Valley Motel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good clean motel for the price”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I recently stayed at this motel in the Hunter for one night and could not fault it for the price. It is not like other places in the Hunter where you have to stay a minimum 2 night stay on the weekend and pay outrageous prices. It is really value for money. The room was very clean, the beds are comfortable and the location is fantastic as you can walk to the restaurants in Cessnock within 5 minutes and you are so close the vineyards. If you want value for money - I would recommend this hotel. We had 3 adults staying in a room and there was a double and two singles so it worked out perfectly. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtgsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a good location if you wish to explore the Hunter Valley wine region. Limited places to eat in walking distance of the motel (McDonalds, Oporto Chicken, local Pizza), but still enough to get by. I had to correct the lady at reception about the number of nights and the quoted price I had on my invoice. She also make me wait a few minutes when there was no one else in the small office. The road passing the hotel is very busy. You will hear traffic no matter what time of day it is.

After getting some tips from some locals, I would probably stay somewhere else next time, but if you're on a budget and this what you can afford (like me) I would not deter you from giving it a shot.

Tips: Stop by the Hunter Valley Visitor Center to get a map. It will help you so much instead of trying to print one off online. The wineries are close together for the most part and tasting fees range from free to about 5 dollars (AUD) per person.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgtmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I booked this because it was the cheapest deal in the Valley. I (and especially my wife) wondered whether we would live to regret it. I should have had no worries. Yes a standard motel but spacious; a decent large bathroom with a walk in shower that worked excellently, a long wooden shelf which was excellent for luggage and working on the computer. Really I was more than happy. If you want to save money while wine tasting this really is the place. Ok it is a drive from the vineyards but so what. It has a pool but it was May... Booking direct is cheaper than the agencies by the way

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Cheap and still had what we needed as well as the nice extras such as the pool and the internet.

The first thing we asked when checking in: do you have airconditioning? Yes- brand new systems. On a run of 35C+ days this was an essential.

The set up of the room is 2 singles and a small double bed, then a bench along the other side of the wall with a small fridge, cupboard with iron+ironing board.

At the back of the room is a small narrow bathroom, with toilet, sink + counter and then a walk in shower. There is no curtain on the shower (no worries for splashing, just privacy, if more people want to use it.) The shower has a low-flow water saving head.

There is a small salt water pool, lovely on the hot days. There is also wireless internet available at 5 dollars (australian) a night for as many computers/devices as you want.

Being a roadside motel there is some traffic noise and the neighbours also could be heard partying (not too loudly) in the bathroom but with the aircon on (needed) you couldn't really hear them over the white noise, but something to keep in mind if you are a light sleeper.

The quality of the beds weren't 5 star, they were comfortable enough though either a little hard or a little small (the double).

Friendly owners, would stay here again. (Make sure to ask for the Road Club discount if you have it, and be aware that weekend rates are much higher)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titanium_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessnock
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.5 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cumberland Motor Inn
Cumberland Motor Inn
#10 of 16 in Cessnock
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Potters Hotel & Brewery
5.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
0.1 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#1 of 16 in Cessnock
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Motel

Property: Hunter Valley Motel
Address: 30 Allandale Rd, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cessnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter Valley Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hunter Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Motel Cessnock, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing