We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merlot Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley
Reviewed April 21, 2012

As often is the case, reality falls short of photos on the internet. The cottages are beginning to show their age and the decor is now quite dated. However, given the high cost of accomodation in the Hunter Valley these cottages probably represent reasonable value. The following should be noted: the cottages have only one three seater lounge (ours was lumpy) in the living area, cooking facilities are very basic, this includes a small benchtop oven with two hot plates on top.There is no ironing board or iron, the bathroom is very small and easily floods from the shallow shower recess. Two tv's are advertised, however the tv in the main bedroom is an old small anlogue tv with rabbit ears perched on an odd looking wooden pedestal. The small digital tv for the living area is located high on a wall closer to the ktichen area and cannot be swivelled around to face the lounge.The tiled floor area in our cottage was grotty and there were piles of dead ants in places including around the microwave oven on the bench top area. The exterior walls of the cabins are made from some type of flexible board rendered to resemble concrete or stone. However, the boards are thin and allow the cabin to heat up quickly, our cabin became uncomfortably warm on a 25 degree day. There is air conditioning in the living area, but the cooling effect does not extend to the bedrooms. We did enjoy our stay in the holiday park, the swimming pool is great and the large bouncing air cushion was a lot of fun, but the accommodation fell short of expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 272 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

08:45.... Planned Easter egg hunt ....Hold off kids till then only to find out it was run 15 mins earlier.. Over half of the kids in the park missed out .... Unhappy , very unorganized BIG 4 FAMILY PARK!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robneilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Highlights here are the big swimming pools and spa which have a nice grassed area around them, plus a shallow area for the little ones. Also the big jumping pillow was great as well.

The park is a little out of town, which is great for a bit of quiet, however means a car trip anywhere. Some of the roads internally in the park are gravel only (probably 50/50), but still fine for the kids to ride their bikes around on.

The cabins were a little dated, but still clean and well maintained. AC in our room a tad noise and hard to get a good cooling balance going, but certainly not a big issue. The cabins all sort of face each other and there aren't any trees around them, so you feel a bit out there.

Great for a short stop, not a top of the line park, but quite comfortable. At our time of stay the park was fairly full, but was great to see plenty of friendly fellow travellers around the place.

Room Tip: Don't forget to try out the Thai restaurant attached to the main office. Was great food!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neartheblowhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Westayed here for this (2012) Kurri Kurri Nostalgia festival & where rather impressed despite not having high hopes. After being in the car for hours, the friendly staff & spa were great. The suprising clenliness and higher than 'ya usual big four' standard of accomadations will see my partner & I back here soon. Would make a great base for exploring the region.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed in a Merlot Cabin which looked tired from the outside, but had been renovated inside, was clean and quite comfortable for two adults on a two night stay. There was very little storage, and although the cabin is set up for four guests, it would have been very crowded under those circumstances. The bathroom in particular is very small. We chose to stay in a cabin rather than hotel/motel because we like to do our own cooking, but were disappointed by the lack of cooking utensils - especially when similar cabins elsewhere on our trip had been very well equipped for self-catering. The Park is located away from the city centre, so walking to shops and restaurants is not possible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rechargexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We always stay here when there are concerts in the vineyards, the campsite is good, has a nice pool area for hoy summer days and an excellent Thai restuarant for dinner after the drive up (booking advised). The concert bus picks up from the gate and drops back of afterwards so no issues with drinking and driving. Management are in process of upgrading some of the areas so should be even better next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VixSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I booked a couple of Mountain View cabins for an overnight stay after watching the Christmas Lights at the Hunter Valley Gardens.
Located in Cessnock rather than being in the winery area itself, meant that we were only a minute drive from the supermarkets and other essential services.
It was also only a 20 minute drive to the gardens and other popular wineries.
I did notice there was some newer Mount View cabins near us. The one we stayed in was a bit old but they refurbished the toilet and we had a new sofa bed.
The cabin was very clean when we arrived and the air con worked sufficiently well during a 35C day! (although the air con was very loud).
Kitchen was well equipped with a full sized fridge and gas stove top. Just outside are some BBQs as well.
Although a bit smaller than the other cabins, the Mount View was sufficient for 2 adults and 2 children under 5. If you have teenagers for example, I may opt for the larger cabins.
I did ask around many places during the first week of January - and since it was peak period, prices were expensive everywhere in the Hunter - but this caravan got my pick because it ended up being the best value.
They also have a jumping pillow - no shade however, and the pool was ok although the amenities were quite dirty when we were there.

Overall, a great stop over and although not as glamorous as the other winery accommodation in the area, this may fit well for those with young children.

Room Tip: If going for the Mount view, ask if you can get the newer ones.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AustTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessnock
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
344 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
8.5 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley

Address: 137 Mount View Rd, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Cessnock
Price Range: $74 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley's central location provides you with the perfect base to explore the vineyards, cheese factories, chocolate shops, galleries, Hunter Valley Gardens, restaurants, historical villages of Wollombi and Morpeth and much more. We offer a variety of accommodation options to suit all tastes and budgets from poolside villas to budget cabins and a number of caravan and camping sites. There is so much to see and do in the Hunter Valley Wine Country, making Active Holidays BIG4 Hunter Valley the perfect holiday destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley Cessnock, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing