We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somerset House Farm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somerset House Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Somerset House Farm”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just spent a great couple of nights here while visiting family nearby. Accommodation is stylish and very comfortable and Ashley is a wonderful host - nothing is too much trouble and he is very welcoming. Our kids (ages 3 and 6) loved the geese, chickens, sheep and fishpond, not to mention the lovebirds. Would definitely recommend this B&B t anyone looking for quality accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley W, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Sally, thank you so much for taking the time and effort to leave me a review. You, Adam and the kids were a pleasure to have stay. Hope to see you next year :o)
It's very much appreciated, have a prosperous 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    22
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
109
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely accomodation - comfortable beds , lovely decor -warm and comfortable facilities all round. Andy and Ashley were excellent hosts and did all they could to make us feel entirely at home. As the pub was shut they made us an excellent supper at short notice and a good breakfast next morning. Definitely a good place to stay.

We were in the annex which was very quiet with no sign of any road noise. It was not intrusive in the main house so I would ignore other comments on this issue. None of the 12 in our party noticed the road noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and It was an absolute pleasure to have your party stay with us.
We are looking into the whole evening meal thing again and may start that for the 2013 walking season :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here overnight as I was in the area on business. The ability to be flexible with check in time (prior arranged with Ashley and kept up to date via text messages) was extremely helpful as I didn't know what time I would be getting away from my day's meetings.

Positioned on the side of the A19 was easy to find and very handy for a quick getaway in the morning without having to travel off the beaten track. While I was aware that I could hear the road, the double glazing, wooden blinds and curtains cut out most of the noise and it didn't disturb my night.

I had a large double in the main house which was well decorated to a high standard with a very comfortable bed and bed linen. The bathroom was clean and one of the best showers for pressure that I have come across in a while. Wifi reception was good and fast so the inevitable late work wasn't held up. The whole house was warm (a little too warm at times although there was apparently a thermostat in the room that I missed).

Breakfast was good, with a choice of the full works and cereal/fruit juice. All cooked fresh by the looks of it and a good set up for the day.

I hope to make it back some time for pleasure rather than business!

Room Tip: Only saw the one room but the barn conversion looked good for a bit more separation from the owners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
What a great way to start my day !! Thank you very much for your kind words, they really do make it all worthwhile. See you soon and please tell all your colleagues about us ! Kindest regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay - the accommodation is top class, stylish, clean, comfortable, with loads of facilities - some we just didn't get time to utilize - and very spacious too. The food is delicious and the proprietors - Andy and Ashley - go out of their way to be helpful and yet not imposing, leaving us free to enjoy our own company and free to make best use of their facilities. As an example of how wonderful these people are, I had left my phone and charger and they kindly sent that back to me and wouldn't allow me to pay for the postage - how good is that?.
The A19 runs close by, but not withstanding the noise generated from the road, the rooms are quiet (unless you choose to open the windows fully!) and I can easily say I had the best nights sleep of the fortnight here! I'd highly recommend staying here, And If you're doing the coast to coast walk - this is "must" stay...

Room Tip: There were 12 of us staying and each person said their rooms were really good. I believe all rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alban M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
A cracking review thank you so much it was a pleasure and All 12 of you were lovely :o)
The day we posted your phone back to you we also posted 2 chargers, 1 cardigan, 1 pair of boots, 2 pair of shorts, ( and a partridge in a pear tree !! ) I think we need to open a Post Office courier account. Thanks again, really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We travel all over the country staying in all manor of accommodation and this was our second time staying here in 8 weeks. I was genuinely looking forward to returning. Ashley takes immense pride in providing top notch well equipped rooms that are immaculately turned out. The welcome is warm and your comfort and well being is the number one priority.
The Helicopter landing site is one of my favourites to land at too.
Be seeing you next year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Absolute fantastic review, thank you :o)
Loving the fact we are becoming a heliport lol, Thank you again and see you soon :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here with friends during August 2012 and it was a really nice place to stay, very clean, friendly staff and not to expensive. The owner even gave us a lift down to the local pub, which was really nice of him after our long days walk. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to leave a good review, it's very much appreciated and really pleased you enjoyed your stay :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not sure about all the glowing reports, we thought this was pretty ordinary. Breakfast was less than ordinary, no yoghurt, orange juice the reconstituted type no alternative juices. Room was quite nice and for a b&b a reasonable size. Other people that stayed here that we met on the track agreed with us. Did not enjoy the traffic at 5.00 am onwards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pogglesgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash355, Owner at Somerset House Farm, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Another fabulous review from Australia, lol. I suspect I know who's hidden behind their computer and left this so it's not worth being derogatory in my response. The other reviews speak for themselves :o) Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleby Arncliffe
0.9 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
383 reviews
6.4 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
284 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
480 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swan House
Swan House
#8 of 23 in Northallerton
163 reviews
6.4 mi away
Porch House
Porch House
#3 of 23 in Northallerton
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Farm

Property: Somerset House Farm
Address: Somerset House Farm Ingleby Cross, Ingleby Arncliffe, Northallerton DL6 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Ingleby Arncliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleby Arncliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Walkers rest". A warm welcome awaits you at our converted 200 year old farmhouse. All our en-suite rooms are clean and contemporary yet in a traditional setting with a fabulous mix of old and new. Our fully licensed bar is the perfect place to relax, play pool or simply have a pint after your walk, you know you deserve one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Somerset House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing