We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Gibe African Restaurant
Ranked #130 of 247 Restaurants in Dandenong
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant looks dodgey from the outside but don't let this deter you!!
The decor is shabby but I think this is half the fun of eating here.
We ate the Ethiopian sandwiches for entree and they were delicious with just the right amount of kick.
The bread that comes with the meals really is a delight!!
This was my first African dining experience and let me tell you they set the bar very high.
The waiter was polite and friendly.
The food was super cheap! At just a total of $50 my husband and I had an entree, main and glass of wine each ( neither of us could finish our mains)
Gibe is well worth the little drive from Melbourne.
Beware: If your tummy can't handle spicy food this place should be avoided hahaha my hubby cried at his next toilet visit :)
Enjoy!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casper9030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great introduction to African food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great introduction to African food and God's value for money. We got 2 meals takeaway which fed 2 of us for 2 meals and some snacks for about $30. Taste great and fresh

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JutnNomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious food & warm hospitality”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've been to this restaurant many times and will keep returning. the food is delicious, generous servings and of course served by people who also love their food and are proud of what they give you. the Vegetarian plate with 5 different items on it is ideal...just ask for a little plate of the cheese to go on top. Very good prices which is even better. thanks to a great team.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank renee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are in the Southern suburbs of Melbourne and like to experience something a little different from your usual steak or pasta fare, then this is it. The shop itself is not visually appealing, but step inside to find a quaint and clean eating house with a very extensive menu with helpful accompaniying photos.
Ask you host for his recommendations, as he'll give you his smile for free. Service is very personal, and whilst it isnt what I would call fast, when the food comes out its in abundance.
Marinated meats, lentil dahls and plenty of injera bread is order of the day. Meal prices are more than affordable and there is a small bar that serves cold beer and other beverages. I once ate there and paid only $42 for meals and 4 beers between two people!
Gibe is becoming a favourite restaurant of mine. It allows couples, families or groups of friends to gather around in a relaxed atmosphere and enjoy very good authentic food that stretches their palate, and hopefully minds.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Grixti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keysborough
1 review
“Home Cooking At Its Best”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Melbourne is famous for its unassuming hole in the wall eateries and I believe this is one of them. We stopped in late one night looking for a quick meal. I did not expect to find such a warm family who take great pride in preparing delicious, authentic Ethiopian cuisine. It's hearty and filling food for meat lovers and vegetarians, in a "mum's kitchen" atmosphere which makes it easy to come back again and again. it is always relaxing and great value for money. Make sure you try a couple or three sambusas to start.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilesPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibe African Restaurant also viewed

Dandenong, Greater Melbourne
Springvale, Dandenong
 
Springvale, Dandenong
Springvale, Dandenong
 

Been to Gibe African Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing