We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Dandenong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Budget Dandenong
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overall good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here one night with the girlfriend as we were travelling. The room was as expected, small but clean and tidy. Bed was good. Overall for a stop over it was very nice. Im not going to mark it on too many points as it is a budget motel..... i mean what do you expect it to be like? Overall good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1990_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudget-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Ibis Budget Dandenong.I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our budget hotel.We offer clean comfortable budget accommodation at a reasonable price.We appreciate your comments and hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    31
    24
    12
See reviews for
24
32
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The room was very small and poorly organised. To be in the room one had to either stand in the doorway or in front of the mirror/sink or sit/lie on the bed which took up most of the space. Not a good place to bring a lot of luggage. The "window" faced a brick wall that was just metres away. The bathroom/toilet ensuite was the size of a cupboard making it uncomfortable to use. We counted on there being a microwave available at the reception area upon our return from the hot springs that night so we could heat and eat our dinners. To our surprise the entire area was fenced off and locked up with no access to the microwave at all (we should at least have been informed that this would happen). Going to bed without dinner when on holidays didnt go down well with the missus and I didnt hear the end of it for almost the whole of the next day. Overall, the room was very poor value for money and I would not have paid $80 if I had seen the room beforehand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 80dollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Dandenong. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations
Our reception hours are from 7-10am and 12pm-10pm.Times are clearly stated at reception and also on all booking sites.Pictures of our rooms and other facilities are also posted on all internet booking sites.Though our reception closes at 10pm a staff memeber is at the hotel after hours.If only you had called the hotel or pressed the buzzer at the hotel entrance for help our staff memeber would have gladly helped you
Please do remember that it is our aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible.We won't know your needs unless you tell us
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dandenong hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hard to believe Accor Hotels would be involved with such a low standard ,of accommodation. Holes in bedspread. 'Ensuite' was as if taken from an obsolete ship and put in corner of the bedroom. We have always had great rooms with Accor Hotels and this one turned out to be a real shock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Grady-Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Dandenong. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations
Our sincere apologies for the holes on the bedspread.We have recently employed some new housekeeping staff who had overlooked the qualilty of the bed linen.
Hotel is getting a refurb in July
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonnells bay
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The cleanliness and the location of the hotel was ok. The rooms are only basic, but that's what you'd expect for the price. I was a little disappointed with the fact that you couldn't get in at all between 10am and 12pm. Normally a hotel is always open, and sometimes you can get your room earlier in the day if it's ready. Not here. Neither I nor my wife slept very well. It was rather cold and so if we wanted to heat up the room during the night, we had to turn on the aircon, which made quite a bit of noise. The thing I liked the least was the fact that there was no shower curtain. So when you had a shower, the floor and to an extend the toilet got very wet. That was very annoying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank screenBonnellsBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Dandenong.
I will share your comments with our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Our hotel is getting a refurb in July.Rooms will get a fresh modern look
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We paid $316 for four nights, which was great value. Very clean hotel, very kind staff, everything comfortable and working. You get what you pay for and a little more but don't expect luxury. The location isn't perfect for getting jnto Melbourne and enjoying Dandenong - it's a good half hour walk to the train station - so not great for travellers without cars. But there's free parking at the station and hotel if you're driving.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Dandenong. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I will never stay in an Accor Hotel again after this experience. Only stayed as we needed to be in Dandenong and were nearly broke. Bathroom like a boat cabin - all plastic with hair in the shower sink yuk. Bed was terrible - lumpy pillow & only one, mattress wet under a plastic protector with a single bed above the head. No-one to contact as we arrived at 11pm and had to check-in electronically. Double-charged us then took over a week to refund us. Tried to resolve with the manager who was rude and has NO customer service ability whatsoever. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank fastfret72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Dandenong. A staff memeber is available after hours to ensure smooth operation of the hotel after our reception closes at 10pm.
Sorry that you got charged for a booking that you had already paid for.It was an honest mistake by reception staff .Since you had called the hotel at 11pm when the incident happened we refunded you at 7am the next day when reception opened.Wish you had mentioned your issues regarding the room at that time.Our after hours staff memeber would have been happy to change your room so you could get a good nights sleep
Please accept sincere apologies
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I traveled to Melbourne for business and was conducting all of my meetings over two days in the Noble Park area. With not many accommodation options, I noticed this Ibis-branded hotel and thought that it would be sufficient.

While the price is indeed very cheap (as you'd expect from a 'Budget' hotel), I can honestly say that I have stayed in backpacker hostels that were nicer for a lesser price!!

The rooms feel like jail cells - horrible carpet (mine was stained), a window that only opens a few inches and looks out onto a grey wall, a tiny TV practically chained to the wall, terribly uncomfortable bunk beds, one fluorescent light, a tiny bathroom elevated from the room with the toilet and shower that wasn't overly clean.... Oh, and you have to pay $2 for a toiletry pack with soap, shampoo and conditioner.

In saying all of this, the staff were absolutely lovely - very friendly, happy and courteous. However I would NEVER stay there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1-Dandenong, General Manager at Ibis Budget Dandenong, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Dandenong. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations
At ibis budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Hotel is getting a refurb in July .Rooms will get a fresh modern look
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dandenong
1.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Dandenong
Ramada Encore Dandenong
#1 of 5 in Dandenong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandown Regency
Sandown Regency
#2 of 2 in Noble Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Dandenong
Comfort Inn Dandenong
#2 of 5 in Dandenong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Atura Dandenong
Atura Dandenong
#1 of 2 in Doveton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.6 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dandenong Motel Melbourne
Dandenong Motel Melbourne
#4 of 5 in Dandenong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Dandenong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Dandenong

Property: Ibis Budget Dandenong
Address: 185 - 193 Princes Hwy | Cnr. Edgewood Road, Dandenong, Victoria 3175, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Dandenong 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Princes Highway, 1km from the centre of Dandenong,local shops,restaurants and train station.Clean and cosy rooms,featuring television,air-conditioning,clock radio and a private en-suite bathroom.Slide into supercomfy bedding and enjoy a happy sleep without breaking your budget!Queen room,Queen/Bunk room and Twin room.Disabled access rooms also available.At ibis budget,you can come and go as you like around the clock.For your convenience, an arrival kiosk is located at the front of the hotel to check-in or access a room after hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Dandenong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing