We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright..”
Review of West Coaster Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Coaster Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The room, bathroom and beds were clean and well maintained. The room was too small and cramped for the price but given the location and peak-season, it was probably justified. We had cooked buffet breakfast (at extra charge) the next morning which was pretty good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaraZorEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for West Coaster Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Centrally located in Queenstown on A10. Accommodation is on two storey building and no lift. We were there only for a night and arrived late evening. No issues with check-in and check-out.
We were in a family room, which sleeps 4 people. Room is spacious, clean with updated décor. Toiletries were provided. They have switched on the heater before we arrived and the room was quite warm and cosy. We were quite impressed. We didn’t use their restaurant but ordered Pizza as room service. Dinner was provided promptly, food was good and reasonably priced. Even though they mentioned there’s free wireless internet, we couldn’t connect since their network had issues. But all in all, good value for money.
Only drawbacks were the unavailability of internet and the poor attitude of the Manager/ Receptionist.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on ground floor If you got heavy luggage, as there's no lift
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DashYaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your reveiw and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will endevour to continue to provide the positive aspects of your stay and work on the not so positive ones! (Athough, installing a lift may take a while!) We do not charge for WiFi due to the exact reason you mentioned of guests having trouble sometimes with connecting but as the town is located in a deep valeey this is occasionally the case. We hope we can continue to "impress" our guests and thanks again for the helpful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked a budget room for two nights, room was upstairs, it was very clean, large and very comfortable, plenty of towels, nice china cups for tea and coffee, pleased with our stay and have no hesitation in recommending this motel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KahylaNoosaHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will continue to try to provide our guests with a positive experience such as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This motel has to be the best in Queenstown, and after arriving home, one of the best in rural Tasmania. Beautifully clean, well appointed with very usable amenities, quiet with undercover parking, and close to everything.
The pizza served to room was top class, delivered with a smile and like the restaurant (we had breakfast there) was very good value for money, no pre-packaged here..
Great value for money in a very charming old mining town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyRobSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

We are so pleased you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our Motel (and town!) and thank you for taking the time to give us this review. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed in Queenstown many times and at this hotel but since it has changed ownership we have found many things changing and not for the better,after traveling many hours to get to Queenstown for work purposes we found we couldn't access reception until 2pm "hotel not open" when in our room a chainsaw worked outside our window for hours and after 6pm and other noisy equipment being used.
No restaurant open again, facilities at the hotel not in use, if you liked toast, jam and very bad coffee for $15.00 pp you were set or pizza only as room service.
The hotel front manager is always offish and bordering on rude its the last time for me I have found equal if not better accommodation within Queenstown and much friendlier reception.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper level less traffic noise but stairs a problem and narrow if you have lots of bags
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We are sorry you have found your second visit to our Motel unsatisfactory. As a family run and owned Motel with limited staff in a particularly tough time in the tourism market we must assure our guests we try to do our best at all time are it is unfortunate this site seems to be easier for guests to comment on than to come to us directly. Firstly reception was open at 1.30pm for this one day, as our normal check-in time is always from 2pm, and the arrival time for our only 2 guests that day was 2pm and 5pm as stated on thier paperwork. It was a Saturday, and yes, we had tree fellers here as they were all week, on council land and orders at the back of the Motel removing dangerous, large trees that were a hazard to our rooms and potential guests. We would much rather had this done than a tree fall through our building. We were informed by these guests that they were attending a function for dinner which is why we chose to close the restaurant and just offer pizzas for the night. We hope your next stay in Queenstown is more to your liking and we hope in future our guests will address their issues when they arrise with us in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a first floor room and found the stairs hard going with luggage. The room was large and clean but dated with only tea making facilities. Plenty of off street parking. We had a good sleep for the price. Close to town. We had trouble filling the kettle from the sink in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thankyou for your review. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay at the West Coaster Motel and appreciate your positive review. Yes, our first floor rooms do have a flight of stairs to them which is why they are at lower price than our ground floor rooms and find travellers appreciate the lower cost and usualy don't mind the stairs. Assistance is also available with luggage if required. We are pleased to know that you found your room spacious and clean although all our rooms have tea AND coffee making facilities with milk daily and complimentary biscuits as well a a well stocked mini bar. Pizza and room service is also available most nights. As stated before, Queenstown is a historic mining town and it would be difficult to find a modern hotel in the town! We continue to update and refresh our rooms and are making progress to make all rooms as comfortable as posssible. Thanks again for you review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have been staying here for years and have always been impressed with the constant improvements. it is still the only place to stay in queenstown as it delivers every time.
it is managed by a husband and wife team who are enthusiastic( how rare is that !) experienced and friendly.

while the place isnt a modern glass and steel resort. Queenstown isnt a resort town either. The rooms are clean, staff happy, food tasty, and most of all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billycoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
113 reviews
12.8 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Queenstown
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coaster Motel

Address: Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: $67 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Coaster Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Coaster Motel, situated in Queenstown on Tasmania's West Coast, is a 60 room, recently purchased, family run property and a perfect base to come back to after exploring the rich history of this unique part of Tasmania. 5 minutes walk to the ABT Wilderness Train Station, the Galley museum and the centre of town, you will enjoy the newly upgraded rooms from the modern Superior rooms with ipod docking clocks, to the warm Deluxe ground floor rooms, the convenient kitchenettes and the spacious 2 Bedroom Suite complete with king bed. All rooms have new linen and bedding, flat screen TV and DVD players, Mini bars & Room Service, Tea & Coffee, hairdryers. Queenstown has also had a complete overhaul of the water system and now delivers clean, clear water to all its residents and visitors alike (we have purchased white linen to prove this!). Enjoy a beer or wine in front of the fire in our Lounge/Bar then settle in to either the buffet dinner or select from the a la carte menu for a delicious home cooked, affordable meal. Book your train or Gordon River cruise direct with us and see what else our region has to offer from our helpful staff and brochure stand. We welcome you to the West Coaster and hope you have a pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Coaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coaster Motel Queenstown, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing