We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't bother”
Review of Silver Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Hills Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed 1 night. Had booked a deluxe room. BUT on arrival a DELUXE room didn't have a microwave. So I requested to view a standard room which had a microwave. In my opinion the
standard room was better than the deluxe room. the standard room was only $6.00 cheaper, but was a more practical room with better views.

The lady who greeted us on arrival, didn't seem to care and her basic knowledge of the accommodation was very poor.

Try other motels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhonforr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi Rhonfor,
Thanks for your review. We have done a lot of work on our standard rooms and we agree with you that they are coming up nicely, bathrooms have been refreshed, new beds and mostly new carpets too. These rooms have generally suited a particular market of ours so have always had microwaves, but I appreciate your point that the Queens could feature these too, so will put this on the to do list. Am also considering making redundant the use of deluxe and standard when categorising our rooms for this very reason as well.
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Travelled through the Franklin Gordon World Heritage Forest to end up in Queenstown and the Silver Hills Motel.....Staff were friendly, room was basic but clean and warm. The restaurant was a little overpriced as they all seem to be in Tassie but the food was quite good..

Room Tip: No room preference although there was a little bit of street noise early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The rooms here are very old fashioned looking. The wood grain look is back big time! However the rooms were clean and functional with modern TV and good light fittings. The heaters worked too well, almost cooked myself, and the bathrooms while old were okay and clean. We ate at the restaurant one night and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food. It was expensive as are most restaurants and pubs in Tassie, but the quality of the food was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazzychaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while travelling through Tassie, room was basic but had everything we needed. Had a lovely meal at the restaurant. Staff were great and the host advised us on a great hike to do at Montezuma Falls!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst touring Tasmania. Overall was a good standard motel and reasonable value for money. The rooms were clean, tidy and fair sized. The host was friendly and helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I fail to understand the negative and bad reviews, Being cautious, I booked for one night and as soon as I saw the room,went to reception and extended my stay by two days, The amount of time that I wished to spend in Queenstown. The rooms are clean, spacious and have everything that you need in a Motel. Last night a charity cycle event stayed here and as they had been on the road all day, I expected the hot water to run out, even with all those cyclists here, plenty of hot water,Would return. Staff very friendly and helpful, I am in room 32 typing this and have amazing views. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 04_roger_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The rooms are worn but comfortable. The staff is friendly and full of information about the surrounds, the history and things to see and do. Your made feel welcome at all times. If the receptionist knows what your interests are they make suggestions on what you might like to see and do.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.4 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
116 reviews
12.9 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
926 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Hills Motel

Address: 3 Penghana Rd, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: $84 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Hills Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This iconic Queenstown motel is not only the oldest on the Tasmanian West Coast, but also one of the largest. Featuring 57 motel rooms all with en-suites, heating and queen sized beds...as well as the largest restaurant in Queenstown with a fantastic fireplace and views over the ranges. An ideal (and well priced!) base to explore Queenstown, Strahan and the Western Wilderness.Now with free WiFi internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Silver Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Hills Motel Queenstown, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing