We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful, free wifi, inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Hills Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“helpful, free wifi, inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Free wifi! We arrived in the rain and there was undercover parking though not all rooms had this option. We were in Room 21 which had been refreshened up. The helpful service meant a lot to me - the owner offered to take our bags to the room, gave us heaps of tips regarding the drive ahead. For what this is - a motel - it is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    63
    25
    12
    12
See reviews for
18
66
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very good family base for West Coast.
Retro style Motel. Told my son it was just like in the "Cars" Disney movie.
Knowledgeable and friendly host.
Decent restaurant with a proper Chef.
Superb mountain views and warm fire place in restaurant and lounge bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our visit was brief but long enough to enjoy comfortable, clean and obviously refurbished accommodation. We dined in the restaurant and found the service, quality and quantity of food to be above average. We will most certainly recommend to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Host was very nice but standard queen rooms were a bit too small we only stayed one night but wouldn't recommend a long stay in this one.local houses opposite motel played loud headbanging music full bore till well past 3am with no respect for motel guests which starved us of sleep . probably wouldn't recommend this one.there is closer ones to town but didnt get prices as this was cheap enough for one night but lack of sleep told me I got what I paid for budget noisy accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertspier46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good morning and thanks for your review.
Am very sorry your sleep was disturbed from noise off the property, and trust me all the houses in the area were impacted by this noise, including mine. For a very very quiet place, this was out of character, and also out of my control. I actually don't think that respect for the guests of two nearby motels ( one is mine ) entered the heads of the revellers, or that of the sleep of the mining shift workers that reside in this town.
We do have a well priced property, warm rooms, great beds and excellent food, and we do our best to ensure the comfort of guests, but that oversight extends to our motel boundaries. As I said...this is a very quiet area, and the disturbance was a once off ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Appears to be the best of all the motels we saw in Queenstown, very basic low end rooms, but if all you want is a bed to sleep in it is ok
Definitely need the electric blankets as only heating is an oil filled heater.
Attached restaurant meals were good but at the top of the price range for this level of restaurant.
Would not like to spend more than one or two days

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kingcheeseAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review ! The rooms are very warm and comfortable. The heater is a delonghi fan forced unit that was rated #2 in choice magazine last year. It is powerful, fan forced with thermostat, so it comes up to heat quickly, then maintains it for you without the heat becoming oppresive...and yes there are elctric blankets as well.

We are also proud to announce a couple of new menu items, Malaysian butter prawns; and Sticky Beef Ribs. A guest last week described the ribs as the best beef he had ever eaten !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed there for a night and was happy with the service provided by staff. You can imagine how friendly and helpful people are when you go in country areas. Town itself is in beautiful location in the middle of mountains. Reasonable price and nice service. Staff at check in was helpful. Loved the town and stay in the hotel. Wouldn't expect too much if you are in a small country town.
Will stay there again if I am visiting Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nepalichoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived on a Sunday around 2pm, as I had been warned about Tasmania no one works on a Sunday. Only had a brief phone conversation with Motel reception and told key was on door.

Room was comfortable but dated, TV was half decent size, bathroom a fair bit dated but all clean and comfortable. Luckily as it was a cold night heaters were in the room plus an electric blanket if required.

Restaurant was closed - a real shame as we had stayed here specifically for it. Luckily the pizza shop in town was open but would of been decent for reception when inquiring to suggest alternatives for dinner.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for your positive review Wadeal. I am sorry I wasnt able to personally greet you on arrival as I was out on an errand. Being a Sunday, with a lower occupancy, penalty rates for staff preclude the full manning of reception in my absence, as well as the restaurant on a quieter night. Penalty rates are not a Tasmanian challenge, but with costs escalating in a lot of areas, my focus is to continue to offer comfortable and affordable accommodation in this great part of the state. Hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.4 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#6 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
12.9 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Hills Motel

Property: Silver Hills Motel
Address: 3 Penghana Rd, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Hills Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This iconic Queenstown motel is not only the oldest on the Tasmanian West Coast, but also one of the largest. Featuring 57 motel rooms all with en-suites, heating and queen sized beds...as well as the largest restaurant in Queenstown with a fantastic fireplace and views over the ranges. An ideal (and well priced!) base to explore Queenstown, Strahan and the Western Wilderness.Now with free WiFi internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Silver Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Hills Motel Queenstown, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing