We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful and pleasant”
Review of Silver Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Hills Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Kickatinalong
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Cheerful and pleasant”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Firstly, let me solve a few mysteries.

1) Queenstown has only had clean potable tap water for 12 months, so ignore those who blame the hotel for the water supply....they should blame the government, after all it only took them 130 years to achieve drinking water !
2) There are many levels of accommodation at this place, from miners accommodations to family style rooms, and some may be judging all the rooms by their choice of accommodation, not the facility.
3) New management has grabbed this place by the horns and made it turn around...a credit to them.

That said, my stay was pleasant, with cheerful staff, clean and quiet room, food portions the size of hubcaps, and a price that is more than reasonable. An honest establishment without pretence.

I would commend the Silver Hills to anyone wanting these qualities from a hotel which is located in one of the most remote areas of Tasmania. I will be back when next i visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    63
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
18
67
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Labrador, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

New management of property has certainly breathed new life into this classic motel. We stumbled into the Silver Hills motel after a long drive to be warlmy welcome by a hansome young man & his lovely wife. We decided to dine in as the restaurant was sooo warm with the large open fire and the vista through the windows of the surrounding mountains was breathtaking. We throughly enjoyed the Lamb Shanks that simply melted in the mouth. The Irish coffee was so delicious we had to have 2!!! If we are ever back on the west coast of Tasmania we will definately be back to check out the planned improvements.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank huontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

well priced, my room was on the smallish side but was immaculately clean. Staff were lovely

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kelliae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Just stayed the one night at the Silver Hills and in some respects was pretty impressed. The property is ( like all Queenstown motels ) a little dated, and it is only 3 star but the rooms were immaculately clean, the food was good quality pub-style food and very friendly staff. Compared to prices the other places in Queenstown are charging, this is probably the best value for money...I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimndebnolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days while exploring Queenstown and Strahan. The rooms were clean and well maintained, not at all like the photos in other reviews here. The new owners clearly have worked hard to improve cleanliness and service. The rooms are a little tired, sure, but everything worked and the beds were comfortable.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, assisting with directions, bookings and advice about local sights to see etc.

Breakfast was excellent value for money. There was a choice of cooked or continental and it was all of a high quality. We dined in Strahan in the evenings, but on the last night of our stay we decided to eat in the restaurant on site, as we had to make an early start the next day. How we wished we had tried it earlier! The menu was impressively varied and all the dishes we tried (we were a party of 6, and we all ordered something different) were fantastic. There were several local diners in the restaurant as well, which has got to be a good sign!

Location was good, just a short walk into town. Despite being right on the road there was no problem with traffic noise (and if you get a room at the front you have the bonus of a spectacular view).

Yes, it's old and tired, but this motel is clean, functional and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank touringpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

When we arrived late evening after a long drive from the Cradle Mountain N.P. this property was the only available option. However we should have considered sleeping in our car instead of taking the risk to try to sleep in this dump ! Avoid in all cases and se why looking at our pictures !!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HOTELLMEMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverhillsmotel, Manager at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Showing by your pictures you must be right. However we, the new owners, have over this property inlate April 2010 and we are proud to display this property. It has been cleaned from top to bottom, undergone some modifactions and the service from staff and management is up to a very good standard. We have an excellent report from the Wotif Group and are ranking very high on their Tasmanian chart. We are here to please you and we as hosts are here to make sure you do. All rooms are clean and all equipment in it is working. If..... their might be a problem we are only to happy to solve it and that is a promise.
Our restaurant is of top class and the locals are returning frequently which must be a good sign. The motel is still old but please don't forget that this motel is the oldest motel in Tasmania and has therefore a certain charisma. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cloncurry, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This motel is cheap and deservedly so. The radiator appeared old and took a age to warm up...so the room was quite cold for a long time. The bathroom remained wet with vapour running down the walls after a shower as there was no real ventilation. The electric blanket on one bed did not work correctly and so we had to pile blankets on to it. If someone moved in the room tv reception was lost, which wasn't great to begin with. The motel matches what Queenstown has become sad, old and rundown.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wickertooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.4 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
112 reviews
12.9 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
889 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Hills Motel

Property: Silver Hills Motel
Address: 3 Penghana Rd, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Hills Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This iconic Queenstown motel is not only the oldest on the Tasmanian West Coast, but also one of the largest. Featuring 57 motel rooms all with en-suites, heating and queen sized beds...as well as the largest restaurant in Queenstown with a fantastic fireplace and views over the ranges. An ideal (and well priced!) base to explore Queenstown, Strahan and the Western Wilderness.Now with free WiFi internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Silver Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Hills Motel Queenstown, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing