We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in this B&B / Danby Wiske - left feeling as if a regular”
Review of Ashfield House

Ashfield House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Danby Wiske
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashfield House
Ranked #2 of 4 Danby Wiske B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed one night whilst walking Coast to Coast. Jean made every effort to make us comfortable and welcome. Tea / Coffee making facilities in room but also in the guest lounge / kitchen adjacent to the downstairs guest room. Area for walking boots, washing / drying for nominal fee and use of outdoor clothes dryer for the odd item rinsed through. Good breakfast with usual cereals plus one not seen before on C2C, toast and hot "English" plus fresh fruit. Decent sized room compared to some C2C B&B. if in area would I stay again. An unqualified "Yes"

Room Tip: Downstairs room is adjacent to the guest lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

There isn't a lot on offer in Danby Wiske. Somewhere to break up a long day. Jean is very hospitable and lovely. The small room was very clean. Breakfast was good. Wifi was hopeless , though Jean commented the whole village has the same problem. It is just meters from the pub and directly en route.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived here from Richmond on the Coast to Coast walk for a one night stay.
Warm welcome from Jean and we were shown to our twin room.
The room was ensuite, clean and comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast was excellent, food piping hot and plenty of it.

Would highly recommend this place and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A very nice B&B with clean, comfortable rooms and a very friendly and helpful host. We only stayed one night as part of our coast-to-coast cycle trip but Ashfield House is a delightful place to stop after a long day in the saddle!

Jean welcomed us at the door and immediately found a place for us to store our bikes under cover. She had a drying area for boots and there was a towel heater in our en-suite for drying some wet clothing. As I had a lot of wet clothes (three days of rain!) I asked Jean if she had additional drying facilities. She took my wet clothes to dry them and when I got up in the morning, Jean handed them back to me washed and dried....fantastic!

The twin room we had was nicely decorated, ample size and spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable and the en-suite had shower, basin and toilet, all which worked well with plenty of hot water.

As we had to eat out, Jean had taken the liberty of ensuring a table for us at the local pub, the White swan, and we were grateful for the gesture. The food was good and the pub not too overcrowded.

Breakfast was a choice of full English and/or cereals, fruit, toast, yoghurt etc. Jean also provided porridge by request and we sat down to breakfast with other guests and ate our fill. We paid for a packed lunch (£2) which was sandwiches made to order and then chatted with Jean and her husband for a while before departing.

This was a lovely one-night stay and Jean was a great host that went that extra mile for her guests. I thoroughly recommend Ashfield House for other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnB611061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A lovely B & B- clean, nicely decorated with a warm and welcoming host and a very good breakfast. I'd be happy to return.
Ashfield is about 80 yards from the White Swan in the centre of Danby Wiske, but has no B & B signage outside as it tends to be exclusively booked by walkers and cyclists going coast to coast.
The only minor downsides were a very small en suite, and very steep stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here on the Coast to Coast Walk. Jean was so nice to us, helping us to get our luggage moved, a place to eat, etc. The room was spacious and the bathroom both roomy and nice. The food was very good. Everything there said a hostess who aimed to please. Can't say enough good about Ashfield House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msl48335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I only stopped one night because I was in the area on business, however I believe the b&b is popular with both walkers (it is situated on the coast-to-coast walk) as well as cyclists. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy, that's what matters to me about a night away from home. Jean's cooking is top notch and it's just a stone's throw from the village local pub. 5 stars *****

Room Tip: Upstairs is more peaceful if you want a lie in as the downstairs bedrooms are situated next to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House

Address: Danby Wiske, Northallerton DL7 0NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Danby Wiske
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Danby Wiske
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Danby Wiske, Northallerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing