We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super happy kid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
John Pirie Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Pirie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Countryclubs, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for John Pirie Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 273 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

This motel has obviously been around for many years. It is, however, well maintained. My room was quite spacious with all the usual facilities in good order. It was also very clean. The air conditioning worked well and the bed was comfortable. I was able to park right outside. Food and service in the restaurant were good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 964David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryclubs, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. Yes we have been around since the Eighties! Our customers just keep coming back. We are going through a renovation process in our rooms to keep up with new & efficient trends but without disruption to our busy periods.
We hope you will stay with us again so we can show you what we've been doing. Thanks again. Andrew Spier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Checked out internet for a room in pt pirie. Having to organise a room at the last minute for work we found rooms available and looked like a good price. When we arrived and checked in we were told the rooms where more expensive by nearly $40 a night. No way are these rooms worth the price we ended up paying when you can stay in better rooms in neighbouring towns for cheaper prices. Was the worst rooms on our weeklong trip and by far the most expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I had an overnight stay in Port Pirie, visiting the home of her late grandparents and visiting their graves. Unbeknown to each of us at the time, we had, as children, often spent part of the school holidays in Port Pirie. We stayed at the John Pirie Motor inn. It was clean with well appointed rooms and every amenity in the room functioned as it should. On arrival the greeting was as warm as it was on departure. We were made to feel valued. We definitely would stay there again. We didn't dine there but just 150 meters up the road is the Sportsman's Tavern which had excellent seafood and a very friendly vibe. Ad it was close enough to walk to an from, particularly after some very well priced wines.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFromAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryclubs, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind response. Our team appreciates your valued comments. We hope that you will return one day and try our fresh local seafood, or other specialty foods, in JP's on-site restaurant or delivered to your room by our friendly team. Thanks again. Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering my room I noticed dead flies and thick dust on my bench, the bedspread has numerous ominous stains on it, pubic hair in the shower on the bathroom floor, the towels had stains on them, the spare pillow lies on the floor of the cupboard and the rooms comes complete with a can of fly spray. Not a very pleasant or comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chiefey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPMI, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for your your unsatisfactory room.
I hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves for a future stay. Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this motel early this week.
I booked through an online booking site. The price for the basic room offered via this site was $132, we chose the executive room which was only $4 dearer. All I can say is that I am pleased that I did not pay the full price which is $170. Close to the road ,traffic noise etc.
We had an old noisy air conditioner/heater. One of our bedside lamps was not working, in the morning I found the plug on the floor under the bed in the middle.
Horrible shower head.
The room was clean just not worth the money. The airconditioner needs upgrading and then it might be halfway to being an executive room.

Room Tip: If you can check them out first.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank childsy442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This motel is a couple of kilometres out of town. The units are attractive behind their verandas lined with white wrought iron lace. Our unit is one of a pair set apart from others, and is appealing because it has windows on two sides. The main room is large with all usual features, although no microwave or even a toaster. Come on guys! The adjacent en suite has a large modern spa bath, and smart decor. I enjoyed my morning shower. There are lots of tea and coffee provisions, and nice biscuits. Plenty of soaps etc in the bathroom too. Lighting is adequate but only just: I do like bright bedside lights to read by. The rom has a ceiling fan, and also extra blankets, electric blankets and air conditioning - good for the cold nights. The motel has its own restaurant and swimming pool. We had two problems: the kettle wouldn't reboil until it cooled right down, and we couldn't get normal TV on the television set. Both resolved by the obliging staff, but a note in the motel folder would have made life easier. A quiet and enjoyable stay in a high class motel room with a couple of minor deficiencies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPMI, General Manager at John Pirie Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Our kitchenette rooms & suites are fitted with toasters & microwaves as well as other cooking appliances & are suitable for longer stays with a more defined cooking area. I'm glad to hear that our staff were able to assist you in locating the Foxtel channels on your TV.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Pirie
1.0 mi away
Travelway Motel
Travelway Motel
#3 of 5 in Port Pirie
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ellen Hotel
Ellen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Pirie
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flinders Motel on main
Flinders Motel on main
#2 of 5 in Port Pirie
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Taralee Orchards
Taralee Orchards
#1 of 2 in Wirrabara
23 reviews
16.7 mi away
Stone Hut Cottages
Stone Hut Cottages
#1 of 1 in Stone Hut
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Pirie Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Pirie Motor Inn

Address: John Pirie Motor Inn 166 - 174 Warnertown Rd, Port Pirie, South Australia 5540, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Pirie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Pirie
Price Range: $86 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — John Pirie Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Colonial style property conveniently located on the main road (Warnertown Road) at the entrance to Port Pirie, arriving from Adelaide. When driving from the North (Port Augusta) on Port Germien Road we are located at the other side of T intersection with Warnertown Road. Our property is well lit, secure and surrounded by gardens and palms. Free wireless connection is available to all rooms. Featuring a paved courtyard and off-street car-parking adjacent to all guest rooms. Our in-ground swimming pool is the perfect place to relax after a long drive with BBQ facilities for you to enjoy. JP's licensed restaurant is open for breakfast & dinner serving a wide range of dishes for the discerning palette and a fine selection of wines from the Clare valley and other districts. Room service available during restaurant hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your John Pirie Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing