We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Ashfield Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashfield Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashfield B&B and Inns
Exeter, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed at Ashfield based on previous recommendations on Trip Advisor and we were not let down. We have two young boys aged 5 and 3 and we were all made very welcome and had a wonderful stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the other guests were also very helpful.

We would definately recommend this place to others and if we return to Sydney we will be staying here.

It is well connected in terms of public transport as the bus stops just outside going in and returning from Sydney city centre. The train station is only a 10-15 minute walk with young children.

There are some excellent asian food stores, restaurants and mainstream supermarkets nearby in Ashfield Town which made life a little easier.

Overall a wonderful time was had by the whole family and we can't wait to return

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CarlSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
26
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

This place was reccommended by a friend who had stayed last year.
It is a clean comfortable place and the staff are so friendly.
I found it handy to most places with buses at the door and the trains and shopping center a short walk away. Definitely value for money

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rhiNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

This property describes itself as a B&B, but it is not intimate or luxurious in any way, and has a bit of an old fashioned boarding house. Our room was quite small but clean, and there are kitchen facilities available and a rather decent continental breakfast is included in the price. The biggest problem is the distance from the city. There is nothing to do in the area, and while Sydney commuter trains are efficient, it is a hassle to get around.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank QandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

my wife and i stayed here for a week its a great place to relax rooms are clean and the b&b is kept spotless ask for the weekly rate its reasonable and breakfast included aswell.the train station is about ten minutes walk i suggest you get yourself a $33.00 AUD train pass as it allows you in the red zone of sydney on any council bus train or ferry in sydney harbour.ashfield has some great restaurants and the leagues club is 2mins walk up the road.if you want to stay in for the night the b&b has a fully equiped kitchen that you can use you must clean up after yourself which is fair enough.we got to speak to a few of the guests from all over the world which was great and carl if you read this thanks for the pen great bloke .the only thing that we found that was not to good was the motel next door had japanese students ariving by the bus load at all hours of the night which were very noisy little blitters all and all its a nice place to stay.thanks to david your doing a great job.

  • Liked — great rate breakfast inculded
  • Disliked — motel next door fully lite up at night people arriving late.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank snow69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

After a long flight, it was great to settle in to this friendly, comfortable place. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and I enjoyed the conversations with other guests. It suprised me that Ashfield Manor has 37 bedrooms but there was plenty of space to go and relax. Loved the leafy courtyard and the BBQ

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Disliked — parking is limited
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rhi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2007

Thanks to John and Therese for all the help.It felt like living in a big family home but with so many nice people to talk to.

  • Liked — Friendly,clean,comfortable
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rhi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashfield
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Enfield
#1 of 2 in Strathfield South
323 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
464 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Manor

Property: Ashfield Manor
Address: 83 Liverpool Rd, Ashfield, New South Wales 2131, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ashfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashfield Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the cusp of Ashfield and Summer Hill, Inner West Sydney, Ashfield Manor has easy transport options to Sydney Olympic Park, Sydney City and famous tourists sites. Ashfield Manor Hotel offers you all the comforts of home, clean and comfortable accommodation combined with great facilities to add that Bed and Breakfast feel. Our friendly and helpful staff will make your stay with us a memorable one. A complimentary breakfast is included in the tariff of the room, which comprises of a wide variety of breads and cereals. Guests are most welcomed to help themselves and have as much as they desire. Coffee and Tea is available 24/7 in our dining room. We have a superb commercial kitchen where guests can cook their lunch or dinner at their own leisure. Enjoy the comforts of our dining and lounge room and relax in our spacious outdoor courtyard. There is also a BBQ. We have a designated area for smokers in the courtyard. Coin operated washers and dryers are also available in our laundry. At Ashfield Manor we pride ourselves on our uniqueness. Our boutique style accommodation makes us different from other Sydney Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashfield Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing