We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option”
Review of Ashfield Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashfield Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Its not the Ritz but when you pay $95 a night with ensuite, its pretty good value. Its a bit noisy but then if you want to hang out in your room, pay more and stay at a hotel.
The front desk staff get a little bit confused, so get a quote on email prior to checking in as 3 times now I've been misquoted only to find the per night price is higher when you get there

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 106 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

It is a budget option...
Bed is comfortable and sheets are clean but however the overall condition of the room is quite old..
there were lots of ants in the room and heard from a colleque who stayed in the same place that he found cockroaches in the room..
Extremely noisy - not so much from the main road but from next door and people upstairs. Can hear noise from TV from next door at 11pm and been woken up at 6am from the noise and thumping from the room above..
will not return to this place.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Yume66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed for a week at Ashfield Manor and were pleasantly suprised. It is a warm friendly place and the staff were so helpful. It felt like being in a family home though there are quite a few guests. This was a bonus as conversation over breakfast was very rewarding.
The rooms are very clean as are the bathrooms and actually the whole place,( A big plus for us ) and suprisingly quiet. There are about three lounge rooms you can visit but our favourite was the courtyard where we could take our breakfast out to eat.The managers, Sandy, Chi and Gabrielle were so nice and helpful, we had many conversations and gained helpful tips. The beds are very comfortable though the rooms are a bit small. The breakfast is a continental with some wonderful breads ( try the fruit sour- dough, to die for ) There is coffee and tea, basic, any time in the lounge and papers in the morning. Transport is excellent with a bus outside which takes you into to city centre and trains a short walk which take you to the centre or the Olympic park or up to the Blue mountains.
We hired a car and parking is pretty limited in the B&B but we found no problem in parking in the streets nearby, a short walk and pretty safe. In Ashfield there is a big supermarket but you can buy very cheaply in the little shops abound in the area.They have a beautiful kitchen with everything you need to cook a banquet. There is also a multitude of restaurants in the area and we found out Little Italy, Leichhardt, is only a short bus trip away for dinner, coffee or shops. Summer Hill village is also worth a walk to have a coffee or just look around.
All in all we had a great stay in Sydney by staying here and have no problems recommending Ashfield Manor. Discounts are given for weekly stays but don't be late on check in as they charge you for having someone stay in the office after seven pm

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It is so hard to find a decent place that is clean and with a good atmosphere. This is the place. I have been to so many places that offer the earth and deliver mud, all for a high price. As soon as I walked in I felt at home. Sandy and Chi were lovely and so helpful. The place is clean and handy to transport. Coffee and tea is always available in the lounge room and the commercial kitchen can house many and was vital in saving quite a sum in being able to cook your own meals rather than having to eat out. The rooms are small but comfortable and the en-suite was very clean. Parking is pretty limited on site but we had no trouble in finding a street park close by. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The staff were friendly and showed genuine concern. The rooms were clean though a bit small.
The beds were comfortable with fresh clean linen and good pillows. Being on the main road I thought there would be a lot of noise at night. Not the case, I was pleasantly surprised and the lack of noise and a comfortable sleep.The shower had plenty of pressure. Breakfast was a mixture of 6 different bread types and 7 diffeerent cereals. Tea and coffee was 24/7. Plenty of lounges and a lovely courtyard to sit in with papers each morning to read. The bus is about 20m away and the train about 350m away. This gives access to just about everywhere and the city centre is virtually 5- 10min by train.
All in all I would definetely reccommend this place and I will be staying here on my next visit to ydney

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnday10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I decided to stay here, just for one night, for an event that I was attending in Ashfield area.

Pleasant service and atmosphere. Beds and rooms in general are very clean and comfortable and include fresh linen, towels, hot (good pressure) shower, wardrobe, fridge(!) and a big screen TV.

Breakfast comes included in the price; just the basics, tea, toast and cereal, which is nice. The place is pretty quiet, despite it being on a main road. It's very close to Sydney city and a bus stops right outside. Ashfield has a lot of fantastic, low priced Chinese restaurants so you won't go hungry!

The biggest downfall for me and the reason that I won't stay here again, is the heavily deodorised carpet. The smell was overwhelming and after that one night, I ended up with a sinus cold. Such a shame because in every other aspect it's really a nice place. If they could stop using whatever it is they're using to 'deodorise' the rooms, it'd be great. I'm sure the place can't smell THAT bad without it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ascetylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We spent 1 week at Ashfield Manor with a mixture of a double for a few days and a triple for the rest of the stay to accommodate an extra family member. The double room was not bad although very small. The trouble started when we moved to the triple room: the wardrobe on this room (to accommodate 3 people) was about half the size of the one in the double room. The toilet seat was so close to the wall that you had to watch how you sat, or could hit your knees against the wall; the airconditioning unit was so poorly located that the cold air was on our backs all night. The triple room was absolutely terrible: no room to move.
Breakfast was simple, very simple: cereal, toast and some spreads plus hot beverages. There is a kitchen that can be used if you like to cook while on holidays. The most disappointing part was that next to the Manor there is another motel called Westside Motor Inn and we went there to find out their rates: not happy when they quoted us about $350 less than the Manor for the whole week with very similar facilities (the only difference is they don't have cooking facilities, but they have Foxtel and your own parking space). Not going back to the Manor again.

Room Tip: Find out other rates in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOLLIE2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashfield
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 186 in Sydney
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Lodge Sydney
#1 of 2 in Haberfield
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Manor

Address: 83 Liverpool Rd, Ashfield, New South Wales 2131, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ashfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashfield
Price Range: $54 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashfield Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the cusp of Ashfield and Summer Hill, Inner West Sydney, Ashfield Manor has easy transport options to Sydney Olympic Park, Sydney City and famous tourists sites. Ashfield Manor Hotel offers you all the comforts of home, clean and comfortable accommodation combined with great facilities to add that Bed and Breakfast feel. Our friendly and helpful staff will make your stay with us a memorable one. A complimentary breakfast is included in the tariff of the room, which comprises of a wide variety of breads and cereals. Guests are most welcomed to help themselves and have as much as they desire. Coffee and Tea is available 24/7 in our dining room. We have a superb commercial kitchen where guests can cook their lunch or dinner at their own leisure. Enjoy the comforts of our dining and lounge room and relax in our spacious outdoor courtyard. There is also a BBQ. We have a designated area for smokers in the courtyard. Coin operated washers and dryers are also available in our laundry. At Ashfield Manor we pride ourselves on our uniqueness. Our boutique style accommodation makes us different from other Sydney Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashfield Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing