We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really impressive upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solberge Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at Solberge Hall about 18 months ago and booked a night there recently on a business trip. The lady who took my booking explained that they had recently refurbished a large part of the hotel which worried me slightly as I had loved the room I had last time and it certainly hadn't been shabby. I needn't have worried. My refurbished room was really tasteful and welcoming, had a lovely bathroom and a super comfy bed. The main difference was downstairs where they have moved and redecorated the dining room and which is now sumptuous and not at all stuffy. There is a new bar area too with a bar menu for anyone wanting to eat somewhere/something less formal.

So, in a nutshell, it's a really tasteful (ongoing) refurbishment. The staff were welcoming and extremely helpful and knowledgable. The restaurant serves delicious, beautifully presented food (the slow cooked shin beef topped with blackberries and silverskin onions was to die for) and reasonably priced wines and what must be THE best breakfast I have ever tasted. Every single element of it was to be savoured but the melt-in-the-mouth black pudding was divine.

The downside? Well, there's always one - it's a 5-6 hour drive from where I live!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethegoodthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 737 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a two night break at the Solberg Hall Hotel and the most outstanding attribute of this establishment is the service. All of the staff goes out of their way to ensure that you your needs are catered for; their old fashioned approach to looking after the guests is a refreshing change in these days changing standards. The hotel is a very quiet retreat in North Yorkshire but is easy to access from the A1M and is ideally placed for seeing some of the best beauty spots of the Yorkshire Dales. The Old building has been tastefully maintained with large bedrooms that are well equipped with modern large bathrooms and tasteful furniture with all the expected facilities, towels were changed daily and the beds were the most comfortable we have experienced. We utilised the very intimate restaurant for both evening meals which were a culinary delight and served by very professional staff, the breakfast menu was extensive and cooked to order instead of the usual hot plate scenario. The public rooms were warm and comfortable with again very efficient service from all the staff we encountered, a large old fashioned fireplace made the room a nice homely area to sit and read whilst enjoying a drink from the bar. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing high quality break and would like the manager to pass on our thanks to all his staff for a job well done.

Room Tip: We had Room 8 which was a standard room but had a good view from the front of the hotel and due to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolferDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Two nights on a Groupon break. Old Georgian mansion, good looking bedroom and brand new bathroom, but misleading. Mirror light in bathroom useless for shaving or makeup. Brand new shower unable to stabilise heat setting.Fixed shower head. No use for ladies trying to preserve hairstyles.Kettle must have been from a caravan. Low wattage and short cable - had to be boiled on floor near curtain! Never asked if we wanted a daily paper.Food very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clawhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had a 2 night break this weekend and took sister and brother in law as their 50th birthday present. Was very pleasantly surprised with the rooms. i did upgrade them but even so they were pretty spectacular. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and it was great quality. Service was also excellent from our waiter, and he was there the next morning at breakfast. Overall a lovely weekend and i would consider returning with a voucher/offer of some kind.

Room Tip: Room 2 for the most spectacular, room 1 a close second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armstrong1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We held our wedding reception here in November, and can fault anything, well apart from that it couldn't go on longer, but that's not Solberge Hall's fault, the fun had to end at some time! Tracy and her team were excellent from the day we called in off speck just to see what the venue was like to the morning we left the day after the wedding. Tracy paid attention to every detail of our wedding reception, she was extremely accommodating and helpful. The canapes were delicious (apparently, sadly we didn't manage to have any as we were having our photos in the rain!), wedding breakfast was superb and the evening buffet also fantastic with lots of choice and a plentiful amount, and breakfast the following morning was great too!! Our room was beautiful and the most comfortable bed ever. All our guest commented on how lovely everything was. They complimented the setting, the rooms and the food. Thank you so much Solberge Hall for making our wedding day so special!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our 10th year wedding anniversary.
I had been searching for Somewere special and discovered solberge hall.
After reading other reviews I decided to book. From arrival , the lady at reception was lovely, made us feel very welcomed and told us a little history of the hotel.
We stayed in the finest room (2) it was beautiful & huge. We loved it so much.
It was very relaxing and peaceful.
Our evening 3 course meal was amazing, thanks to the chef who made it extra special by piping 'happy anniversary' around our dessert dish.
It was the best dessert I ever had ( chocolate fondant ) we were lucky to have gone when it was quiet as it was nice to have the peace! All the staff were so nice & friendly. We felt Like king & queen as we were in this beautiful huge place with hardly any people about which we enjoyed. We were told it is normally so busy with weddings , we were so lucky to have had a quiet night. We personally prefare the peace! Breakfast was very nice. Thoroughly loved all the food, excellent service from all staff.
We had a walk around the grounds after breakfast then said a sad goodbye to the hotel. We would love to return when we can as we enjoyed it so much.
Special thanks again to all staff for making our anniversary 1 to remember.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank empirestace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we've just returned from a 2 night stay at solberge hall on a groupon deal. we were initially given room 15, which was freezing cold as the radiators weren't working properly, but to be fair to the hotel staff they sent up steve the maintenance man who couldn't be more helpful and promptly arranged for us to be moved to another (lot nicer and bigger) room as he couldn't fix the problem. we were then given room 12 which was a large nicely decorated, well equipped bedroom with lovely modern bathroom. it was particularly quiet whilst we were staying there, and we found ourselves pretty much having the bar / lounge area to ourselves both nights. the staff were very polite and helpful...in particularly kevin the barman, who couldn't do enough for you and was quite possibly the most conscientious hotel worker we've ever come across! the hotel was immaculately clean through out. we didn't eat in the restaurant, but the breakfast was lovely on the first day, and the only thing i can put the solberge hall down on is the breakfast on the second day. we were served by a younger girl who didn't really seem to know what she was doing, the service was slow, the coffee was awful and when i asked for fresh coffee i'm convinced she sent the same one back. there must have been a mushroom shortage on this particular day as my husband and i only had 1 between us! putting this aside, we had a lovely stay, and would definately return if we were ever in the area again....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Wiske
3.6 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
314 reviews
6.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,524 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
3.1 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solberge Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solberge Hall Hotel

Address: Solberge Hall Solberge Hall, Newby Wiske, Northallerton DL7 9ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Newby Wiske
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Price Range: $116 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solberge Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solberge Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solberge Hall Northallerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing