We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Booked this place at a good rate. Loved the rooms and the view. Very spacious. Enjoyed the pool and drinking coffee beside it! Bar and wait staff were very friendly.

As for the hill - this hill is the cure to Australia's obesity crisis.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2010

We have just returned from our stay at Peppers and I cannot compliment the staff there highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they even ran us into town at un-scheduled times on the resort shuttle bus, reception staff were wonderful and all our requests were dealt with promptly. If all resort staff were like this then holidays would be a pleasure.

And now for the downside..

The resort is lovely and does have beautiful views however as said by other travellers the swimming pool is way too small, we travelled at a quiett time so had the pool pretty much to ourselves when we wanted but I couldn't imagine what it would be like at peak times. The resort is also too far to walk from Airlie Beach and we had to get taxis everywhere and that hill has to be seen to be believed, we didn't even try and walk up the hill.

We had absolutely no problems with the water pressure and we didn't find the tiles or any areas around the resort slippery at all so not sure what areas are a problem and it rained quite a lot the last day we were here.

Our rooms were cleaned every day and the apartment was spacious with plenty of room, also we had huge spa that was more like a little swimming pool in the bathroom.

Our only other "gripes" are that they were fixing up the pool area and workmen were grinding machinery from 8.00 am until 4.00 pm every day we were there, the noise was very very irritating and far from relaxing and spoilt it for us somewhat, we ended up sitting inside our apartment to get away from it which is not what you do when on holidays, we should be sitting by the pool relaxing, but this was impossible . We mentioned it to staff but didn't receive any compensation other than one said oh well you can have Saturday and Sunday off from the noise which didn't help as we left on the sunday. Lastly, even though the resort was pretty empty, for some reason they were lumping all of the guests close to each other so that we had no privacy on our balcony and did get some noise from people above us. It would have thought it would be better to give resort guests the opportunity for some space if possible. Just seemed a little silly, there was about 5 rooms booked out and we were all close to each other, and we noticed when we went out on our balcony our fellow guests would go inside and vice versa. Also they gave us a ground floor level room so our view was obstructed by buildings, this was part of the reason we wanted to stay there because the views were supposed to be amazing, I'm sure they would have been if we were up higher, can't understand this as the resort was almost empty.

All in all, we did like the resort, but not the noise, not the lack of privacy and not the walk up the hill so we really can't decide whether we'd stay there again, and we were a little disappointed that not much was done about the noise either.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUSSIEGIRLVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2010

Thank you providing us with your valuable feedback. I’m delighted to hear overall you had a pleasant stay at Peppers Coral Coast and that you found the staff exceptional.
I concur the hill can be a deterrent for ease of access in and out of the property however this is what creates the ambiance and allows us our spectacular elevated views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Passage. As you mentioned we are very accommodating in providing courtesy shuttle runs or assisting in your travel arrangements.
Unfortunately in a resort there is never a good time to carry out maintenance works however it still needs to occur to maintain our standards. I do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this has caused.
The allocation of rooms during your stay was a strategic plan implemented to minimise noise levels for our in-house guests. Every effort would have been made to relocate you had we been advised of your concerns at the time.
Once again we would like to thank for your valuable feedback and hope that you would allow us to demonstrate the true hospitality of Peppers Resorts next time you holiday.
Kind Regards,
Leonie Lohrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Stayed 4 nights at Peppers Coral Coast and left very pleased. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a stunning view towards the water.

The hotel is located a little bit outside Airlie beach and it is up on a hill so walking (at least to the hotel, we walked down several times) may not be easy (a cab from the city cost us around 5-7 AUD or there is a shuttle every 2 hours). The good thing about the location is however to get away from the (occasionally) drunk and noisy backpackers and locals. If you are more after the night life then there are probably other options that are better.

We found the room to be very spacious and it had all things we needed. Room was equipped with washer and dryer (much needed after 3 weeks of travelling), kitchen (with all the necessary utensils etc) and the standard things one expect (hair dryer, iron etc). The main room had a large sofa and nice flat screen TV. There was a very large and nice balcony facing towards the water - perfect for a nice drink in the evening.

The bedroom was separate with a large and very comfortable bed and also an extra TV. The bathroom had a huge jacuzzi and a shower. We did not have any issues with water pressure (as some other reviewers appear to have had).

We never had anything to eat in the restaurant so do not have anything to say about it but we did have drinks and coffee. The drinks were great and the coffee was pretty good.

The service was always very courteous and they gave very good advice on day trips and activities and were also helpful in booking for us. Also have to say that it was truly great value since we managed to book a special on their own website (at around a third of the listed average price here on tripadvisor).

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This hotel is new but has no style, the apartments are compact and dull, the view is sad for the location, the pool is small and looks over the tin roof of a building, the restaurant is boring! no ones interested, the food is very cost driven, the staff are nice but they are machines ruled by the Stella groups policies they cant do anything for you unless you pay. The garden areas are full of rubbish, the showers have no pressure, the floors around the complex are very slippery when it rains, the internet at reception is a 14 inch a perfect sign of the hotels desperate attempt to gain an extra star. Honestly go stay at Pinnacles Resort or the Marina shores you wont leave disappointed and feeling robbed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itisthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2010

Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We were disappointed with your review, but realize that not everyone will enjoy their holiday wherever they decide to stay. As you would have noticed from previous reviews written by various guests from around the world, our resort Peppers Coral Coast is highly regarded in both its presentation and location. Additionally we make all efforts on all booking channels to clearly advise property information including apartment types, facilities and rate inclusions.
Kind Regards,
Leonie Lohrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

First impressions do matter and upon checking in to this resort, we were greeted with a room that had not been serviced (ie. used wine glasses on the coffee table, a bag of rubbish, used towels on the floor etc).

However, a quick call to reception and a new room was organised for the night with the option of either staying in the new room, or moving back to our original room the following morning once housekeeping had done their thing.

Apart from the above, overall the hotel/resort is quite pleasant. The housekeeping can be a very inconsistent (ie. bath mat left one day, then no bath mat the following or washing detergent left one day but none the next). This isn't do or die, but consistency would be nice.

The other major issue from this hotel is the mobile reception. My partner and I are both with Vodafone and had major issues with coverage, so do beware of this if you are reliant on your phone for anything urgent.

The rooms are also supposed to have Hotspot access through Azure, but the coverage for this was almost non existant. We found it easier to connect to a Hotspot at another hotel down the road.

One last thing, if you like a nice shower then you will be disappointed with the water pressure at this hotel and I mean 'disappointed'. The pressure in the shower is so weak that's it's virtually impossible to look forward to a nice shower after a day at the beach. My advice - shower at the beach instead.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eimaj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2010

Thank you providing us with your valuable feedback. It is pleasing to note that overall you had a pleasant stay at Peppers Coral Coast.
I was disappointed to hear you experienced housekeeping and water pressure issues and am regretful that these issues were not brought to my attention during your stay, as there are processes in place to quickly remedy any issues that may arise.
I have passed your feedback onto our internet provider Azure in regards to the wireless coverage for this to be tested. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Peppers Coral Coast.
Kind Regards,
Leonie Lohrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We are leaving Peppers Coral Coast tomorrow, so I thought I would write my review today. We decided to stay on the Airlie beach mainland since the cost of rooms was much less than on one of the islands. We were able to get a deal of stay 3 nights get one free. We spent our money on excursions to the Great Barrier Reef (Cruise Whitsunday outer reef tour AMAZING!!, AirWhitsunday panarma plane tour AMAZING!!) I am very happy with our choice. The hotel is fairly new, it seems more of a beach condo community than a hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and have their own kitchen, balcony and washer and dryer. I have to say the washer and dryer were great. We have been traveling for a week when we got here, and we did all our laundry. The rooms are well equipped. The kitchen has everything you need to cook, (but why would you when you have Fish Divine and Capers just a cab ride away) We even ordered take out and it was delivered to our room one night. The room is nice, It is a one bedroom apartment. Separate bedroom, with bathroom (HUGE TUB, tiny shower) then a kitchen/living room combo and a large balcony you can eat on. It is perfect for a home base when visiting the reef. The hotel is situated on a hill about 2mins by taxi from the main street of Airlie beach. This is good and bad. Good since you are away from all the backpackers of Airlie Beach, bad that you need to take a $6.00 taxi to and from town for dinner and getting to get to your tour starting point. They do offer a shuttle to town, however it only runs on odd hours (9,11,1,3....) They have a beautiful infinity pool, with great drinks. Overall very pleased.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We have just returned from 4 nights stay at Peppers in Airlie Beach and had a wonderful time. Our 1 bedroom apartment was spacious and well equipted which was serviced daily. Reception staff Danielle and Kurt were very helpful as were resturant staff. There's a shuttle bus that leaves every 2 hours starting around 9am to get you up and down the hill if you don't feel like walking. Otherwise a cab from town is no more than $10 which isn't to expensive.
The only small gripe I have is the size of the meals in the resturant. As delicious as the food was, the serves for dinner were small and myself and my husband did leave still feeling a little hungry. I'm not a big person and I did find myself still hungry afterwards.
Otherwise it was a fantastic time and we'll be looking to stay at more Peppers resorts in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MareedBrisbane_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
9.5 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
412 reviews
16.0 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $158 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Airlie Beach accommodation includes One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with views of the Whitsunday passage from verandas. One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers leisure options including the culinary delights of Tides Restaurant & Bar or revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. Maintenance Notice: Due to damage resulting from Cyclone Debbie, Peppers Airlie Beach is conducting internal repair works with limited noise disruptions to guests. From July to 30 December 2017 roof repair works will begin resulting in external noise and accommodation blocks with scaffolding in place will be closed while completed. Please note the property will be closed 13 - 30 November 2017 due to repair works. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Please note: Amex is not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing