We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great views but too out the way.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Airlie Beach is a wonderful resort its a shame this hotel is so far away from it!
Rooms are beautiful , views are limited (I think) and its just too far out the way - the hotel is on the top of a hill and I think a super fit person would have trouble walking to and from the hotel to the beach. There is a bus but….
Staff very nice and food very pricey - really very pricey but they got ya there on top of a big hill!

The rooms are really beautiful though as is the birds. If you want seclusion this is your hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Liz H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on our resort. I can certainly understand your comments about Mount Whitsunday, it is quite steep although it is how we have our wonderful views! As you mentioned, we do offer a shuttle service in to town and are always delighted to assist our guests around the resort and down to the bottom of the hill with our buggy service.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon for some rest and relaxation.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 928 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very friendly, proffessional and helpful insofar as they were able. Amenities/services/activities were very limited and shuttle cutoff seemed quite early with the last run finishing at seven which doesn't even allow you to go into town for dinner with a few drinks (this property is NOT a simple stroll away) which only leaves the incredibly overpriced restaurant which closes food and therefore room service at nine pm. The cheese "platter" for "two" priced at twenty dollars plus five dollars tray charge if you choose room service was actually a quarter plate and was something I could have finished on my own in the ad break much less in the two hours it took to fill the spa and consisted of fifty cents worth of dried fruit, two dollars worth of cheese available at the supermarket and one type of cracker. The decor was dated with some general wear and tear on paintwork throughout. Despite having had the booking paid a full four months prior to our arrival we were given two single beds pushed together for our first wedding anniversary in a room that had disappointing views of the mountain opposite us and a construction site below instead of the king bed/ocean view promised us at time of booking. The pool was absolutely pointless and right next to the "trying to be classy" restaurant - in fact the entire "resort" felt like an afterthought. As a travel agent myself I thought maybe they might have gone to some tiny effort, you know like a note saying happy anniversary from management or something akin to five star standard like that did at the Palm Cove Peppers for our actual honeymoon but we were bitterly disappointed when our supposed five star resort turned out to be an overpriced three and a half star self contained apartment with limited views of a muddy inlet due to construction on reclaimed land, an half hearted effort at providing services to guests because they said they would in the write-up and with the best onsite entertainment they have to offer is a small selection of family board games for three or more people. Free-to-air TV available only, unless you purchase a movie as a one off for ten dollars. The wi-fi is free which is as it should be for a hotel that doesn't bring fresh towels or leave a mint/chocolate on your pillow when making up the room. IF they make up your room. You may or may not have a mini bar in your room. We didn't. Special mention to Simon in reception for being awesome and giving great advice. Property was very touch and go but the staff were lovely and Airlie itself is a paradise.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Skye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Skye P,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your first wedding anniversary stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you.
Phone- 07 49625100 or Email- jodi.shambrook@peppers.com.au

Kind Regards


Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have review this resort when it was new may 2012 that stay was good, but since then they have gone down hill. On arriving our room was not ready, we were told in a rude manner "the room may take a little bit of time to get ready" so I asked to be given a call when it was ready .I had driven for 8 hours from work to get there as a supprise for my partner and was quite keen to get in my room. As we didnt fell like waiting in the foyer. We went down to airlie beach to kill sometime. Still no call at 4pm so I rang up to find out if it was ready, only to receive a sarcastic " all rooms are ready"
Finally we get our room. it is looking well worn these days. but still has a great veiw ,we put food and drink in the fridge At night the neighbours above were deffinantly having a good time unfortunatly this ment we had no sleep. We decided to have breakfast and go home at 7am for some sleep. The breakfast was small salmon had one slice of salmon, one small slice of bread two eggs and half an aspargus stem for about $25
To top of the stay all our food and drink was frozen in the fridge as it was set on the coldest setting
Once again thanks Peppers for making our stay memorable
Ps:the property is very steep and to far from airlie to walk for an one that is not fit

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alcheringasailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Alcheringasailing,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you.
Phone- 07 49625100 or Email- jodi.shambrook@peppers.com.au

Kind Regards


Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Peppers Coral Coast Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It's a very steep hill whether you're walking or driving but once you arrive you see sweeping views out to see and across the new marina. The good thing is that all the rooms come with a good view and complimentary sea breezes!

Disappointingly, we were checked in and given keys however, when we got into the room it was clear the last guests hadn't long left!! We were able to sit by the pool whilst they cleaned the room however it felt like it was ready too quick and when we got in it just didn't have that clean and fresh feel a newly made up room should have.

As the time went on it was clear that the whole room needed a really deep clean as there were marks and grubby areas everywhere which was disappointing for such a nice hotel.

The hotel itself has a small but nice and refreshing infinity pool, only downside is that anyone in the restaurant watches you swim or sunbathe.

Reception were very helpful with making bookings and we chose to go out to the Whitsundays by sea plane. The restaurant was good every morning for breakfast and evenings are pleasant for dinner with a decent menu and wine list. Only down side to the restaurant was the grumpy chef continually moaning at the serving staff. A couple of them seemed new but he seemed to be giving them a hard time which was a little annoying as we were eating.

Although it was nice, The management need to pay more attention to detail and remember that star ratings come with a responsibility to uphold them...it felt a bit slack at times.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better views - spa rooms come with luxury tubs though you probably won't use them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Flyboylee,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad that you decided to stay with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. However we are sorry that you were frustrated with your experience when it came to the state in which you found your room. Your feedback has been passed onto respective departmental managers. We do hope to welcome you back to Peppers Airlie Beach again soon.


Kind Regards


Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is part of the reputable Peppers Chain and while not 'five-star' is a good-high standard of accommodation. Set just outside of the main village of Airlie, it's probably most suitable for families. The pool is great (infinity) although not massive - luckily it was never too full to take a dip. The rooms were nicely furnished, well-equipped and in a good state, with HUGE balconies. Only negative was the noise - we found ourselves sandwiched between a room of 4 just-out-of-schoolers and what sounded like part of a football team. Noise carries really badly. We told staff and they said they would deal with it, which did lead to some reduction but you know what resorts are like...can't do too much about that kind thing. Probably would give the Boathouse (a new Outrigger property) a go next time - although if you're a beach lover like me, Port Douglas craps all over Airlie - vice versa, if it's the Whitsunday's and sailing and snorkelling you want, this is probs the place to be.

Room Tip: maybe try and a get a room further up the hill to avoid noisier groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavlob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Pavlob,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I was disappointed to learn that you experienced a noise issue when staying with us, we pride ourselves on being a quiet getaway for all of our guests and unfortunately some people over schoolies week distrupt this!

We do hope to welcome you back to Peppers Airlie Beach soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Peppers Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at Peppers Airlie Beach from the 27th November to the 1st December 2013.

From our phone calls before we arrived, to our check in, our stay and check out, we absolutely loved our stay.

The resort is beautiful, the rooms and the views to die for, and the dinner at Tides Restaurant just amazing

What really made our stay special, was the staff.

Without exception, we were so impressed with everyone that dealt with us during our stay.

Thank you, and all your staff for making such an impression on us, every bit of it was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear 63GR,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback- your lovely comments have been passed on to the department heads to be shared with their team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Airlie Beach very soon!

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Utterly beautiful room. Incredibly polite and helpful staff, particularly Simon at the front desk. Lovely infinity pool. Innovative bar deals; loved the Cocktail Passport. Massive spa off the main bedroom. Well-appointed kitchen.

Room Tip: I think room 314 is one of the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Your lovely comments have been passed on to Simon, the team and our restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
16.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
16 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $147 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Airlie Beach accommodation includes One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with views of the Whitsunday passage from verandas. One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers leisure options including the culinary delights of Tides Restaurant & Bar or revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. Maintenance Notice: Due to damage resulting from Cyclone Debbie, Peppers Airlie Beach is conducting internal repair works with limited noise disruptions to guests. From July to 30 December 2017 roof repair works will begin resulting in external noise and accommodation blocks with scaffolding in place will be closed while completed. Please note the property will be closed 13 - 30 November 2017 due to repair works. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Please note: Amex is not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing