We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover after sailing trip”
Review of at Marina Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
at Marina Shores
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice stopover after sailing trip”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had spent a couple of days sailing around the Whitsundays, before spending the night here. We had docked at the far side of the marina, so it was actually quite a walk to get to this hotel despite the marina location. Service was friendly and helpful, including a recommendation for a fantastic seafood restaurant. The 1 bed apartment was modern, spacious with everything you needed, including a dryer. There is also a car you can hire for two hours to head into town, we needed to pick up our luggage and grab some groceries, so this was very welcome and a nice, thoughtful touch. The hotel is about a 20 min walk to into Airlie Beach, so don't attempt to walk it with bags. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeofJungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    88
    25
    16
    18
See reviews for
110
162
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

the place is situated off the town - around an hour to get to the town center,

it is probably overpriced (285 dollars for a double room), but it is really comfortable and cosy, it also has fantastic view on the lagoon

Room Tip: ask for a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice building, great location but a bit far from town. Spa bath too small for adults - one small child would fit. Cheap furniture and furnishings for 5 star, no daily housekeeping, pool surrounded by the building like old motels, only had blackout curtains no second set of sheer curtains so it was either dark or no privacy, no TV in main bedroom. Oh, we tried to book their romance package but 4 days wasn't enough time for them to organize a bottle of Moët and a picnic. Basically nice enough place but zero service. Overall it compares badly with some of Airlie Beach's real 5 star accommodation.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very new and modern appartment fully equiped, it was at the end of our trip to Queensland and we enjoyed the fact that we could cook our own dinner there. We were in Australia for a month and it was the best value of all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Pros:

- clean apartment and very cozy
- includes all needed amenities even a bbq!
- customer service was awesome
- pool was spectacular
- parking free
- even the cheapest apartment had a nice view
- close to town

Cons:

- wish reception desk was open a bit longer (only til 4:30pm - but it is an apartment hotel not a regular hotel).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swimmer30_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed on our way from a trip on the Solway Lass out of Airlie beach. We needed somewhere to store the majority of our luggage since we were restricted to how much we could take on board. I called the Marina Shores and explained and whilst they had no specific storage area they were willing to find room for our bags until we returned 3 days later. On our return we found that our bags had been moved into our accommodation which was a sparkling apartment with sea views and all facilities.
If we get the opportunity to return we will do so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The marina shores apartments were great. The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was pretty big and had a balcony overlooking the garden and marina. Even though this view is supposed to be the "bad" view, the view was still magnificent. Would definitely recommend it and would stay here again. My 4 year old wants to come back next week. If only...

Room Tip: go on the cruise adventures reef cruise but take tablets if u get seasick
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timbedohazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.8 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
1.1 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.9 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,084 reviews
17.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Marina Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Marina Shores

Property: at Marina Shores
Address: 159 Shingley Dr | Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — at Marina Shores 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Shores absolute waterfront living is positioned in a prestigious oceanfront location in Airlie Beach. Consisting of 30 luxurious fully self contained apartments with views overlooking Abel Point Marina, the Coral Sea and to the Whitsunday Islands this is certainly a new standard of fashionable accommodation in Airlie Beach. The variety of rooms include, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom spa apartments, 2 bedroom 2 level spa penthouses and incredible 4 bedroom 2 level spa penthouses. Marina Shores has been designed to be totally different in space, light and colour with vogue interiors, spacious balconies, state of the art lighting and a heated 30 metre pool with lush gardens ensuring each guests enjoys an oasis of luxury and tranquility. Just a 5 minute stroll along the seaside boardwalk to Abel Point Marina where tours depart for the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach and the Whitsunday Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your at Marina Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Shores Hotel Airlie Beach
At Marina Shores Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing