We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”
Review of at Marina Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
at Marina Shores
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed in Airlie a few times and was very impressed by Marina Shores. The hotel is located near Abel Point which makes it very useful if you have a book. Though probably wouldn't be in the centre of airlie. The rooms have a great view of the water with a bbq on the veranda. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment. There is a king size bed with a ensuite and then 1 bedroom with two single. The room was really big and comfortable. The staff are really nice. The only issue we had was that the showers spill out of the tile and make it rather slippery. However overall a nice place to stay will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 411 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

My daughter and i recently visited the whitsundays and we were booked in to stay at Marina shores, how this place gets a 5 star rating absolutely amazes me, we were put into 3 different rooms as the state of the first 2 rooms was appalling, filthy rooms, the toilet seat in one room was broken and there was poo all over the toilet, the fridge was filthy, there was hair all over the sheets and floors, i would not recommend this place to anyone, hence why we were moved to a 3.5 star hotel the next morning that ran rings around this place.......please do not stay here!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaShores, Owner at at Marina Shores, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Karen B,

Thank you for your feedback.

I was incredibly saddened by your review, it is difficult not to take negative feedback personally as we sincerely strive to exceed our guest expectations.

On this occasion we simply were not up to scratch, I appreciate there is simply no excuse, I am not only disappointed but more so very sorry you did not enjoy your stay, I humbly apologise.

I have since met with the management team at Marina Shores, we have thoroughly scrutinised our policy and procedures, we have met with our housekeeping department and conducted extensive retraining of the skills necessary to prepare accommodation to the 5 star standard expected.

I openly welcome you back at anytime to witness firsthand the exceptional quality and breathtaking location which you should have enjoyed the first time.

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and nice.
Our unit had a very partial ocean view-we expected to see more of the ocean. There is a huge apartment complex located in front of the Marina Shores complex blocking most views of the ocean.
Our unit needed a serious scrub. The showers leaked making it dangerous on tile floors. Carpets were stained and worn out.
Unfortunately the pool hours begin at 7:00 AM. This was a problem as most all bedrooms faced the pool area. Little kids running and screaming this early is unacceptable. Was expecting a lot more out of this complex. Would recommend a short stay only.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yellowmellow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here on a $150 per night rate. The room was lovely with smart decor, full kitchen and single spa tub. It was all very clean and well presented. The service was friendly and helpful, if we needed extras of things like towels or tea bags they were bought to the room quickly.
It is a bit of a hike to Airlie, made worse by the time of year of our stay, but they do rent a little car for $30 for 2 hours to do shopping etc, it was a big help.
At the price we paid we were very happy and would gladly go back, at their $250 rack rate probably not.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Give_Me_Latitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Marina Shores were so lovely! Willing to help with any query and were always informative and to the point.
The rooms at Marina Shores were well presented, however, not of five star standard. We ordered a spa room- was quite possibly the smallest spa I've ever seen.
Hotel is a little bit too far from Central Airlie and there are no nearby restaurants.

All in all, I would recommend staying here for a business trip or short stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank courtneyccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

An excellent 5 star apartment with great views. Situated about 1 km outside airle beach in a quiet location away from the noise of the town. Access to the town and Abel Point for the ferries to The Whitsundays is along a boardwalk.Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MossMereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Marina Shores is a wonderful place to stay. We had a beautiful view from our room. It was spacious, had nice furnishings, and everything we needed. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 212 has the best view of the water. Has a nice, spacious wrap around balcony for views both wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.8 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
10.6 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,409 reviews
17.2 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Marina Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Marina Shores

Address: 159 Shingley Dr | Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $164 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — at Marina Shores 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Shores absolute waterfront living is positioned in a prestigious oceanfront location in Airlie Beach. Consisting of 30 luxurious fully self contained apartments with views overlooking Abel Point Marina, the Coral Sea and to the Whitsunday Islands this is certainly a new standard of fashionable accommodation in Airlie Beach. The variety of rooms include, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom spa apartments, 2 bedroom 2 level spa penthouses and incredible 4 bedroom 2 level spa penthouses. Marina Shores has been designed to be totally different in space, light and colour with vogue interiors, spacious balconies, state of the art lighting and a heated 30 metre pool with lush gardens ensuring each guests enjoys an oasis of luxury and tranquility. Just a 5 minute stroll along the seaside boardwalk to Abel Point Marina where tours depart for the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach and the Whitsunday Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your at Marina Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Shores Hotel Airlie Beach
At Marina Shores Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing