We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and mouldy, see photos”
Review of at Marina Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
at Marina Shores
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

5 star view 3 star hotel.
Maintenance attended unit but did not fix mould in shower,see photos. The cleaner could not fix the problem as it was so bad. The bed was a double and so soft and old you rolled into the middle, no sleep for 7 nights. The dishwasher was so dirty could not use before maintenance cleaned it. Under the sofa was so dirty it was stuck to the tiles. Carpet looked like it had never been cleaned. No mats to wipe your feet provided. When it rained you could not use the only table provided as it was outside in the rain.
They insisted on up front payment on arrival.
Reception did offer to help with bed but did not offer to replace it. They also gave us a bottle of champagne to compensate us.
It was peak period in Airlie there was no where to move to or we would have. There is no excuse for the unit to be so dirty and mouldy. It is also a basic requirement of any hotel/resort that the unit, and bed be of reasonable condition and size for the price we paid. The price was too much for the condition of the property. My overall recommendation is find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 132
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WellTravelled62009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 424 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Would like to say thanks to the staff, myself and my fiancee had a fantastic stay. The apartment was very clean, the staff were extremely helpful and location was beautiful. The apartment block itself was nice and quite and the pool was very relaxing

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

As we have very hectic work loads in our lives, we wanted somewhere to totally relax for seven nights. Marina shores proved to be an excellent choice. Beautiful location, scenery was perfect and the penthouse two bedroom appartment was absolutely wonderful. Fully self contained everything was on hand. As it was a girls break while the boys went on their yearly fishing trip, security was on our list and we felt very secure and comfortable here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would reccommend Marina Shores as the perfect getaway to anyone looking for that time out.

Room Tip: I found the higher floor overlooking the ocean to be very quiet and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Narelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived at Airlie without accommodation booking and had trouble finding accommodation to suit our needs, found Marina Shores and the apartment was perfect, great view, great location, very stylish and comfortably set out. Teri and Jeff could not be more friendly, they were totally there to make your staff perfect. Helped with advice on activities to be done in the area, assisted with bookings and made our stay most enjoyable. Would recommend for anyone to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views was brilliant and very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a superior experience. The penthouse suite was out of this world, and view was perfect. The inside as well as the exterior was supreme. For a memorable stay, go nowhere else. This is the place.

Room Tip: The penthouse suite was nothing less then awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Marina Shores in December following a fantastic few days about Catamaran 'On Ice'. Teri was very accommodating- she kindly let us store our luggage for a few days whilst we were at sea, and provided useful and helpful advice about the local area! Her husband and her were very friendly. Our 1bdrm seafront ground floor apartment was gorgeous. Lovely spacious layout, fantastic view, good facilities and tastefully decorated. If only our stay was longer so we could have made better use of what the place had to offer- perfectly equipped for longer stays. Marina Shores was located quite a walk from the Main Street, but that was clearly indicated when booking. It's about $10 each way in a cab or a pleasant walk along the boardwalk (obviously a little hot in the day). Airlie Beach is a backpacker hangout, so it was actually quite nice being based away from the youth hostels on the main drag. A picturesque part of the world. Whitehaven is a must.

Room Tip: "Seafront rooms are worth the extra spend"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rissasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staff where very polite, helpful and welcome . Was a nice room, clean, tidy well located and presented . Would stay there anyday :) highly recommend.Beautiful views,easy access and all around a great place to stay . Facilities where great, kept neat and tidy and well maintained . Definately will be staying there again next time I am on holiday or taking a break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.8 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.2 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
17.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
295 reviews
1.1 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Marina Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Marina Shores

Address: 159 Shingley Dr | Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $163 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — at Marina Shores 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Shores absolute waterfront living is positioned in a prestigious oceanfront location in Airlie Beach. Consisting of 30 luxurious fully self contained apartments with views overlooking Abel Point Marina, the Coral Sea and to the Whitsunday Islands this is certainly a new standard of fashionable accommodation in Airlie Beach. The variety of rooms include, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom spa apartments, 2 bedroom 2 level spa penthouses and incredible 4 bedroom 2 level spa penthouses. Marina Shores has been designed to be totally different in space, light and colour with vogue interiors, spacious balconies, state of the art lighting and a heated 30 metre pool with lush gardens ensuring each guests enjoys an oasis of luxury and tranquility. Just a 5 minute stroll along the seaside boardwalk to Abel Point Marina where tours depart for the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach and the Whitsunday Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your at Marina Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Shores Hotel Airlie Beach
At Marina Shores Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing