We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment”
Review of at Marina Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
at Marina Shores
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Me and my friends stayed at the marina shores for two nights in July 2012. I have to say the apartment we stayed in was fantastic. It was expensive at $325 per night but the quality of apartment and the view made it well worth it for us. We had a two bedroom apartment which was spacious and luxurious. The bedrooms were great with comfortable beds and the master bedroom had a lovely en suite with jacuzzi tub. There was a nice, well appointed kitchen and a large balcony with stunning ocean views. The only downside to this apartment was the lack of wifi. For me it is important for me to have wifi due to the fact I need to check work emails and FaceTime my family. When I'm paying such a high price for a room, I expect to have it free of charge. Apart from this minor issue, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for at Marina Shores
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, room was huge and comfy with a great balcony. Best part of the Marina Shores are the owners, we found them so friendly and welcoming that it couldn't help but put you in a good mood as soon as you arrive. We will definately be back, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozzy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

returned to marina shores after previous experience 2 yrs ago very pleasant, beautiful and positive. Felt marina shores was a sure thing. July 2012, 2br/2 bath family 4inc 2 children.Our last night stay Airlie after 1 wk sailing.Wanting hot showers.On arrival, NO HOT WATER at 1.30pm. rang reception at 1.35pm... told hot water OFF PEAK. what the???? 5 stars and NO HOT WATER!! Our last night in Airlie, planned to go out for dinner...no one wanted to go out..felt tired and dirty.Waited till 11.30 pm still NO HOT WATER. No one rang to check if we had hot water.No one cared.Boiled water kettle and kids had 5 star bucket bath. Hot water arrived next morning. told reception on departure..... we were told to take it up with the owner!!!WOW.Well, hi owner of apt 239, this is how your apptment is being managed...and to all who read this, NO HOT WATER in 239 because it is OFF PEAK and apparently, no customer service either! Thank you for this ending to our holiday!It was memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here 1st June with hubby and mother, had a 2 bed/2 bath apartment which overlooked the water, the views were fantastic, my hubby loved sitting out on the balcony watching the boats at mooring. The apartment was very nice good layout had all the cons the upside was the fact that my mothers bedroom was away from our bedroom, she had her own bathroom and sep area. The downside was that the apartments were alittle noisy the austics were not very good and we could easily hear the neighbouring apartments and walking around above us.

Room Tip: Room overlooking balcony 2 or 3rd floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrwalkerscave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Such a beautiful start to our honeymoon, We were greeted by Terri and Nick at reception (Hotel owners/managers) upon our arrival. Both Terri and Nick were so friendly, helpful and genuinely keen to help us have the perfect honeymoon.
They helped us book wonderful tours & day trips, gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne and also recommended great restaurants, which we tried, and loved!
Beautiful Room, Spacious, Clean, Great views.
Beautiful Pool area, immaculately looked after.
Amazing service- we were greeted every single time we walked past reception with a friendly smile and wave!
Would Definitely recommend this hotel.
Also HIGHLY recommend doing the ECO JET SAFARI while staying at Airlie Beach!- Pick up is provided from this hotel also!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the split level marina view penthouse suites- absolutely stunning.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over there and enjoyed the peaceful time after 2days' sailing. I loved the balcony view room with everything we could possibly think of. Lovely staff and they are very helpful with our tours. Even-though due to the weather condition we did not go, we still had a really good time staying there. Everyone was surprised with the apartment that we paid at a very low price.
Just miss it. If I would go there for my next holiday, I will go Marina Shores again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyGAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Many thanks for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in our part of the magical Whitsundays. Teri, Nick and I look forward to welcoming you back to Marina Shores.

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in room 349 for 3 nights after an amazing cruise. We thought it would be an anticlimax after the cruise, it wasn't. The views from both balconies are sensational, We stayed in and cooked on two nights as we wanted to make the most of the apartment and enjoy the stunning views. The bedroom is not the largest, but there is heaps of storeage so everthing can be put away and there is nothing under your feet.

Talking of feet, we did feel that the floors could have been cleaner, especially on the balconies, we did have dirty feet after walking around barefoot.

The receptions staff could not have done more for us. They were so helpful and had some great recommendations. We could not fault the service at all from booking to arriving to departing,

Unfortunately the pool was not heated so far too cold in June for a dip!

It is quite a walk to the main street, mostly along the coastline which is truly stunning so it was a pleasure to walk. The closest bar/restaurant is Sorento's, which has some good food with a relaxing atmosphere on the waters edge.

We also drove out of Monte's for lunch which is highly recommended, only about 30 mins from Airlie Beach, the best location for a restaurant, the food was excellent too.

We would stay at the Marina Shores again. We thought it was reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berry-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Berry-SA,

Many thanks for your review, it was so lovely to meet you and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for the feedback in regards to the floors, I have passed this feedback to our housekeeping team for review.

Fantastic you took a trip to Monte's, this is one of my many favourite places to visit, and could not agree more what an amazing spot for lazy lunch right on the beach.

Teri, Nick and I look forward to welcoming you back to Marina Shores.

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.8 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
10.6 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
272 reviews
1.1 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Marina Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Marina Shores

Address: 159 Shingley Dr | Airlie Beach, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $166 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — at Marina Shores 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Shores absolute waterfront living is positioned in a prestigious oceanfront location in Airlie Beach. Consisting of 30 luxurious fully self contained apartments with views overlooking Abel Point Marina, the Coral Sea and to the Whitsunday Islands this is certainly a new standard of fashionable accommodation in Airlie Beach. The variety of rooms include, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom spa apartments, 2 bedroom 2 level spa penthouses and incredible 4 bedroom 2 level spa penthouses. Marina Shores has been designed to be totally different in space, light and colour with vogue interiors, spacious balconies, state of the art lighting and a heated 30 metre pool with lush gardens ensuring each guests enjoys an oasis of luxury and tranquility. Just a 5 minute stroll along the seaside boardwalk to Abel Point Marina where tours depart for the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach and the Whitsunday Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your at Marina Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Shores Hotel Airlie Beach
At Marina Shores Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing