We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Reviewed June 18, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was excellent - it is hard to find a one night stay in Airlie but this hotel were happy to accommodate. We asked them for a nice room as it was our anniversary and they gave us a spa room and when we arrived there were candles lit all around the room and a bottle of champagne and some glasses waiting - this is amazing service as we only mentioned it was our anniversary when we booked. The room is large and modern and the bed very very comfortable, we had a great night sleep. The spa bath is on the balcony and it was great to have the champagne in the spa. My wife liked the special soaps they provide. All up it was a great night and we will be back when next in airlie

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrettandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2009

The rooms are lovely and clean, staff so friendly (even when we woke them up in the wee hours of the morning as we'd locked our keys inside). So close to the town, within short walking distance. The only downside is the construction out the front - but they didn't have much control over that. And you get that in big cities anyway. would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I have travelled to numerous places, and I have to say this is the best service I have ever received! I had a number of 'additional personal requests' and the staff here were happy to accommodate them, and in fact exceeded my expectations! The resort itself is beautiful, nice touch with a spa on the balcony and nice and small so it is perfect for a nice cosy romantic getaway! The property is located only a short walk from town, and I was so impressed by the whole experience I most certainly will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaelysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed in the hotel for one night only, and found the hotel room to be incredibly clean, really comfortable furniture (the bed being one of the most comfortable ones we have stayed in during our holiday) with complimentary internet access (unlike a number of hotels that charge ridiculous prices for it). Beautifully large television, speakers for an IPOD dock and a DVD player all meant that we could spend the night in without wanting for anything. The cost was very low compared the one of the other serviced apartments we stayed at, and considering this apartment held a small stove, microwave, fridge etc, we would definately choose to stay here again next time we were in airlie beach. Yes there was a view to the construction going on, but i think the price + features outweighed the lack of a view.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faelmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

This is the response I got when I complained that the apartment was grotty, had dirty furniture, and a dirty used aromatherapy dispenser. He said "the last tenants only left an hour a go and I've been busy"

I asked if I could change my booking outta there, and was told I couldn't cancel, but he could come up and clean the room in 5 minutes.

The "waterfront" view is of a construction site. There was no elegance about it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tskellernsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We enjoyed a three night stay at the Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat from January 16th through 19, 2009. An excellent facility and amenities with personalized service and close proximity to cruises to the Whitsunday Islands, a very special part of the Reef area.

A high quality home away from home and would love to return. Highly recommended.

Dave & Sue Morris,
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We stayed for our wedding anniverisary we loved it. alot of motels request a min stay we just wanted 1 night with a spa. We are local people just treating ourselves and it was great

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
16.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,522 reviews
12 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat

Address: 438 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $182 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat sets new standards of luxury award winning couples only boutique accommodation in the Whitsundays. Adjoining Airlie Beach and nestled on Pioneer bay which features pristine turquoise waters surrounded by breathtaking rainforest, guests can expect a high level of privacy coupled with exceptional unobtrusive personalised service. The luxury retreat comprises an exclusive collection of just five, one bedroom balcony spa suites and an incredible top floor Jacuzzi penthouse, with views over Port of Airlie and the Coral Sea. The luxury spa suites feature contemporary inspired interior furnishings that exude style and tropical ambience, natural timber louvers, spacious balcony with corner spa, Brand new king size beds, gourmet galley kitchen and pebbled ensuite bathrooms. The penthouse features a unique four posted king bed, the master bathroom featuring a double person rain shower, generous powder room complete with private balcony overlooking lush rainforest, a gourmet kitchen, black marble bar complete with wine fridge and stainless steel fixtures. Externally the penthouse enjoys an expansive balcony complete with six person Jacuzzi. Redefining intimate levels of service suites are serviced daily whilst the retreat boasts a private sun deck, deep water horizon pool, guest BBQ, lush tropical gardens, a-la-carte in room massage, facial and beauty treatments, unlimited FREE wireless internet, tour booking desk, great barrier reef touring, concierge and personalised limousine transfers. Exuding luxury, romance and tropical ambiance, at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat offers the travel connoisseur a perfect blend of relaxation, intimacy and personalised service for an unparalleled couples only retreat experience. PLEASE NOTE : For the enjoyment of all guests, Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 18+ enforces a strict NO NOISE NO PARTY POLICY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Hotel
At Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing