We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, average location and management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I guess the title really summarises what we thought about our holiday. The views and the rooms were realy great, but it is quite a walk to everything , especially in the evenings. I have to say the confort of the rooms and the value for money paid for the accomodation might tempt us ot return but we will look into a few more other options next time round. The furnishing was also nice and thoughtful/practical

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventuroustravel90a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi adventuroustravel...

Many thanks for doing a review on Trip Advisor on your thoughts about your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the accommodation and its luxurious surroundings. And yes we do have very comfortable furnishings and great competitive rates.

As for the location, we are only a short taxi ride around $10.00 from most places in Airlie Beach therefore there was really no need for you to walk 20 minutes at night unless you chose to, especially after a meal. In fact some restaurants even offer free transport to and from the accommodation places within the area.

Anyway, we hope to see you again soon in the not so distant future.

Best regards from
The Peninsula Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Peninsula Airlie Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment at the Peninsula. It had stunning views over the Abel Point marina and a gorgeous balcony to enjoy them from. The apartment was very spacious with a large open plan living/dining area, upstairs bedroom with it's own large ensuite and walk in robe and downstairs bedroom with another bathroom. It was a great walk into town along the boardwalk. We did this at least once every day. No complaints here. What a lovely place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Megan C,

The team at Peninsula are glad to hear that you had a terrific stay with us recently.

Our proximity to town, the bicentennial boardwalk that hugs the coastline with its magnificent view plus our luxurious apartments are a real treat for all our guests to enjoy.

The Penthouses are a great way to enjoy being in one of the most wonderfully designed apartments with its spacious balconies & great surroundings.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peninsula.

Our best regards
Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here but there were a couple of things that would probably stop us from booking it a second time - and these are just personal preferences and not the fault of Peninsula.
We were aware that there was a 20 min walk into Airlie Beach and thought the exercise would be great, but we didn't realise just how tiring and inconvenient it would be at times. We self catered for breakfast but walked into Airlie Beach for lunches and general shopping, however, walking that distance for dinner wasn't suitable when wearing something nice and I didn't like the thought of then having to walk back in the dark (especially after having a few drinks!). It was also hard to buy too many grocery items at once. We ended up hiring a car (much more convenient that catching taxis) which was perfect and I'd highly recommend it.
The rooms are beautiful and the views stunning, but the one downside is that because it is completely open plan, if someone is asleep on the second floor, they can hear every noise you make downstairs.
For the price you pay, I think it's a bit rude to ask guests to take out their own rubbish at the end of the stay.
The fire alarm went off during our stay, which wasn't a problem in itself as these things happen (false alarm), but what concerned us immensely was that there was absolutely no guidance from management during the event - no head check, no information or update on what was happening, and no formal announcement that it was safe to go back in. It was poorly coordinated and I would hate to be there in the event of a real fire.
Disappointing that they don't have a BBQ on site. There is one in the park that borders the accommodation, but this is still inconvenient if you only want to BBQ the meat and take it back to your room to eat on the balcony with everything else you prepared.
We spent a lot of time in the room and so the free WiFi was greatly appreciated as were the additional channels on pay TV.
Overall it is a great place to stay as long as your are fully aware of the set-up and location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rellie263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello Rellie 263 thank you for your review and kind words,
In response to a couple of your comments:
1. Regarding your grocery shopping, many of our guests order through Coles online and arrange to have their orders delivered on the day of their arrival this makes the shopping experience easy.
2. A 20 min flat walk into Airlie Beach or a $7.00 Taxi cost is not for all but considering the tranquil and quiet location of Peninsula most of our guests say it's worth it.
3. Regarding the rubbish removal at the end of a stay, this has been brought about for health and safety reasons, eg past instances guests have departed and have stored their garbage on balconies for several days. You can imagine the stench when seafood has been consumed or dirty disposable nappies are left let alone sharps that have been used for medical reasons. To expect housekeeping to remove this is totally unfair. We and other self catering apartments rather than discriminate between long and short stay guests now ask that all guests remove their rubbish during and at the end of their stay.
4. We are in the process of installing electric BBQ's and outdoor settings; we do have an electric BBQ that can be used on the balconies of our apartments on request. I apologise as this should have been made available to you.
5. Re the fire alarm, in all apartments there is a clear evacuation plan/drawing showing the assembly point in case of a fire. While the alarm was sounding our staff were checking all apartments, there was no head check because guests may be off the premises therefore we do focus on making sure all apartments have been vacated. We are directed by the Fire Brigade and no updates or directions were given to us at the time as they were having trouble resetting the fire panel. This was a false alarm and by the time we were told by the fire service all was Ok for guests to return to their rooms, most had already done so. I do hope you return for that second visit, we would like to welcome you back to really enjoy what we have here at Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked this hotel for my wife's father, who had a hip replacement, and needed flat ground to get around on. Prior to our arrival, he had a heart attack and was not able to travel. We contacted the establishment but were not allowed to cancel the booking. We were forced to cancel the booking, and loose our money, or take it without him. He implored us to go, so we did. On our arrival the staff were gruff. We found the 2nd bedroom and bathroom locked and not accessible to us, though we had paid for a 2 bed apartment.
Beware the snake!!!!
The toilet cystern ran all night, and when reported, we were told that it would be sorted after we had left.
No BBQ facilities to use.
Location good, customer service not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CazAndDavid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, but you have left out a few facts! You booked and fully paid your accommodation through Wotif, not with Peninsula and Wotif's cancellation policy is no refunds or changes to the booking which you told me when you rang Wotif they advised you of the same. When you notified Peninsula reception inquiring about a refund and of the circumstances that your father had actually passed away our staff advised you that your request would be passed to management for further possible action. Before a decision could be made by management your husband rang with a different story and advised your father was sick and unable to travel due to a heart attack. At this stage we offered to move your booking to another time that suites and change the two bedroom booking to a one bedroom and refund the balance. No other communication was heard until you and your husband arrived on the due date and it was I that asked housekeeping to lock down one bedroom thinking you would want the refund of the cost between a two and a one bedroom apartment. When you advised you required the second bedroom opened it was immediately attended too and unlocked. We do not have any gruff staff as you put it, as you can see by our reviews all guests applaud both Sandy & Dorothy. I have checked the maintenance book and there was no reported maintenance in the apartment you stayed in during your short stay, we do have a maintenance person available 24/7 so if a problem is reported it would have been attended to immediately. Regarding our BBQ facilities, if you had asked you would of been shown where they are located. Your comment beware of the snake!! you are the one who tried to deceive !!! not us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The standard of the accommodation is amazing. The apartment size is huge & beautifully furnished. The views & balconies are sensational. We loved being so close to the marina & we can't wait to return in three weeks!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Chris D.

Thank you for such an awesome and very positive review of our property!

We are very pleased that you've enjoyed your stay with us at The Peninsula and its convenient location. We pride ourselves to have the most luxurious surroundings and beautifully furnished apartments on mainland Whitsundays. All our apartments no matter the size enjoy the water frontage & the balconies are all so spacious.

Our proximity to Abell Point Marina ensures that our guests don't have to travel far to get to most of the tours to the reef & the Whitsunday Islands. And it's a pleasant walk along the coastline via the special bicentennial boardwalk to the town or Airlie Beach where all the cafes and restaurants are located & the shops.

One of the best compliments we can ever receive will have to be previous guests returning back to The Peninsula to enjoy more of what we offer and supporting us therefore we would like to take this opportunity to say a Big Thank You for coming back & for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you are in The Whitsundays.

Our best regards,
Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at The Peninsula, Airlie Beach and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Beautiful accommodation, jacuzzi bath was just superb after the walk up 'that hill'.
Attention to detail was good, especially any noise disturbance, so a really quiet place to be in mid July, just a shame it rained!!
And that hill was steep, but if one admires the view enough times on the way up, it is very do able.
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Caroline W,

It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay at The Peninsula.

Our guests always enjoy the tranquillity of our location in our beautiful water frontage apartments.

As for the steep hill, that was unnecessary as there is an option of the bicentennial boardwalk which is a flat 20 minute walk that hugs the coastline to town or to the shops.

It is unfortunate about the weather but we hope you will visit us again soon when there are sunnier skies.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We hope we will see you again in the not so distant future.

Our best regards,
Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The apartment is beautiful and well designed, and the views are fantastic. I should have booked a rental car, because the walk to Airlie beach restaurants is quite tiring. We ended up calling taxis every time we went out for lunch and dinner, and it was quite expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosamund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsulaairliebeach, Front Office Manager at Peninsula Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Rosamund,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful apartments plus the fantastic water views!

A car rental is a good option if you are not keen on the 20 minutes flat walk through the bicentennial boardwalk to town or the shops. The taxi fare is usually less than $10.00 each way. And the nearest restaurant/pub is only a 10 minutes walk away from our location.

We hope we will see you again at The Peninsula.

Our best regards,
Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mirage Whitsundays
Mirage Whitsundays
#3 of 8 in Cannonvale
103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#2 of 57 in Airlie Beach
473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 57 in Airlie Beach
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Airlie Beach

Address: 144 Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $232 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peninsula Airlie Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peninsula Airlie Beach is a five star absolute water front apartment complex. All apartment balconies which are large have expansive views over the marina and out to the Coral Sea and northern Whitsunday Islands. Choice is from 1 - 4 bedroom apartments and penthouses with fully ducted air conditioning, large balconies, with elevator access to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Peninsula
Peninsula Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing