We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Best"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have stayed at many places in our travels around the world and have to say that the Peninsula at Airlie Beach comes out on top!
We spent 5 nights in Apartment 33 which aforded us total luxury. The apartment is beautifully furnished and the kitchen is very well equipped with top quality appliances and plenty of cookware and tableware. We took full advantage of this and cooked some lovely meals which we ate out on the balcony, overlooking the marina and Pioneer Bay.
As the Peninsula is situated at the tip of Abel Point, there is no passing traffic and the only sound to be heard at night is the lapping of the waves on the rocks! It is also a treat to stand on the balcony at night and look up at the stars.
Security and car parking are also top class. The entire complex has been created with an eye for detail and no expense has been spared. There is even an office in the apartment with internet access at no extra charge!
We received a very warm welcome from Sandy and Dorothy and would like to say a big "Thankyou" to them for a wonderful stay ............ we shall definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms at the northern end have all day sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandrincruzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Would recommend you use the apartment as if you at home. Stock up the fridge and pantry sit back and relish in your newfound paradise. You truly do not even need to leave your beautiful abode as every room envelopes you with the outside beauty of the glorious Whitsundays.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph_b65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Staying here was simply awesome. The staff are friendly, room quality was outstanding, The view, unforgettable. You get what you pay for. I will definitely be recommending peninsula to all my friends and family. I will be staying here on my next visit also.

Room Tip: Do you want the best view? Room 34. That's all I'm saying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_Robson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We found the staff at Peninsula extremely friendly & helpful .The room was awesome, as was the view .The tariff was very reasonable considering that this is a new 5 star multi million dollar complex. The room was not only large & airy but also very well appointed , with washing machine & dishwasher . We were impressed with the pool area & surrounding gardens & it was great to relax & have a drink in the gazebo area overlooking the water.The area is very quiet as the complex is located at the end of a dead end road with no passing traffic & is very secure, including underground parking . We just loved it , this is the best place to stay in Airlie Beach.Thankyou to the staff who looked after us including the cleaners , who for some reason never seem to get a mention. We will stay there again when we next visit Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

From the first contact which was by phone to book we were impressed. We found Sandy, John and Dorothy extremely helpful - especially with booking us onto three different tours, all of which we enjoyed immensely. Their knowledge and experience was fantastic and certainly sent us in the right direction as we had no preorganised ideas or plans on what we wanted to do while on holiday. They were also happy to book taxis, pickups and airport transfers. Our apartment was stunning, spotlessly clean and with amazing views. We loved the location and walking along the boardwalk to and from Airlie Beach town was delightful and helped keep us a little trim after some great meals in town - also recommend by the Peninsula team! I think the "starter packs" in the apartment were quite generous actually - it is self catering afterall but there was no problem when we requested an extra tablet for the dishwasher! Would not hesitate to either return or recommend to family and friends!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Hello Julie

Thanks for your kind words and your time to write a positive review which repesents and portrays the true Peninsula experience. Sandy & Dorothy were happy to read your review !!!
I'm glad yourself along with most of our guests know the difference between a self catered apartment and a motel room. It was good to hear your overall Airlie Beach holiday was a memorable one. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Peninsula Apartments enjoy arguably the best location in Airlie Beach. The property is new and therefore boasts all modern conveniences. At $200+ a night they are a bit pricey and for this price we would have expected a daily servicing of the apartment and for amenities to be replenished daily, for example; soap, towels, dishwashing liquid, etc. We flew into Mackay (about 150kms away) and had planned to drive to the apartments, and had stated our ETA when we nade the reservation. On arriving in Mackay we telephoned the hotel to confirm that we were on our way. A very friendly lady with a New Zealand accent advised that was no problem, On approaching Airlie Beach I received a call on my mobile from the hotel. It was a different person asking very brusquely 'where are you?' We told her that we were driving from Mackay and that we were 20 minutes away. We received another call in 15 minutes asking if we were lost. We stated that we would be arriving shortly. When we did arrive we were told by the woman at reception that she had delayed having her dinner because of the time of our arrival. She quickly and not very graciously asked for my credit card to take the $500 deposit 'in case you trash the place.' Now at this point, we would have left immediately, were it not for the fact that the stay was pre-paid, but of course we could not. The welcome extended by a hotel sets the mood for one's stay, and this instance we, as paying customers were not made to feel welcome at all, but rather that we were some sort of encumbrance. The hotel was informed well in advance of our intention to drive from Mackay. The woman in question should have planned the timing of her dinner around this without reference to us. Also, a few times when passing the reception desk on our way in and out of the complex, no effort was made to ask if all was in order with the room, or other similar pleasantries that again set the mood for one's hotel experience. On departure, no assistance was given with regards to operating the gate for exiting the car park and hotel gate as we had surrendered our key, so we had to figure it our for ourselves. Whilst the hotel itself was beautiful, considering the less than gracious welcome, we will be staying elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BerlitzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Hello
Thanks for your review
Regarding apartment servicing, I'm sorry Peninsula is a self contained/ self catering complex as advertised. We do include in all apartments a complimentary sample pack to get you started before the need to shop for your normal/personal amenities and food. This is how all self catering apartments worldwide operate. They are usually like Peninsula, fitted out with all household amenities such as washing, drying, dishwashing machines, stoves, microwaves ,fridges etc .Self catering apartments like Peninsula are usually for longer stays, unlike motel accommodation. However we do offer on request a full daily servicing at a cost, this was not included in your rate/tariff nor was it requested at any time by yourself. All of which is explained in your apartment compendium. As a standard we do a mid stay clean on every fourth day if your stay is eight days or longer.
Regarding phone contact and discussions on arrival, I apologise if that’s the way the questions & responses appeared to be conveyed, it is not as you can see by previous reviews the normal character of any of my staff. Because Peninsula is a fully gated and a secure complex, entry is difficult for guests checking in after hours, the second call was defiantly a courteous call. We have had guests lost and frustrated at our front gate after hours.
I can see you did everything possible in advising us your travel plans, all your staff comments have been taken on board and addressed.
I would like to see both of you back here at Peninsula and can assure you a memorable stay as per the majority of our reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The best apartment we have stayed in, the view from our room and balcony was amazing, the apartment was excellently presented and a pleasure to stay in, the staff were friendly and very helpful so we had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 30 a two bedroom apartment the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#4 of 56 in Airlie Beach
486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
533 reviews
1 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Airlie Beach

Address: 144 Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $198 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peninsula Airlie Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peninsula Airlie Beach is a five star absolute water front apartment complex. All apartment balconies which are large have expansive views over the marina and out to the Coral Sea and northern Whitsunday Islands. Choice is from 1 - 4 bedroom apartments and penthouses with fully ducted air conditioning, large balconies, with elevator access to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Peninsula
Peninsula Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing