We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Azure Sea Whitsunday
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived by train at 4am and were dreading the thought of sitting in the train station until cafes opened and then sitting there until check in. We called ahead and they said they would allow us to check in at 4am! When we arrived, we called the number they gave us and a lovely, albeit very sleepy man came out and checked us in! He had clearly gotten out of bed just to let us in. I'm afraid I don't know his name. I was half asleep and didn't think to ask. But this was really above and beyond what anyone could ask for service.

I fell asleep as soon as I got to the room and it wasn't until I awoke that I took a look around. We had a massive, 2 bedroom apartment with all of the amenities. A lovely large balcony with an amazing view over Airlie Beach and the ocean.

We only stayed the one night, but I think it would be a great place to stay with friends for a longer period having the kitchen and all. There are laundry facilities, two bathrooms, a lovely big bath tub and a massive tv (which took us a bit to figure out, but we got there in the end).

The hotel has a gorgeous pool that was perfect for the sweltering afternoons.

The one drawback of this hotel is that it is up a fairly steep hill. This may be nothing for young, fit people who are used to the heat, but I can say it nearly knocked me out. And since we were staying and planning to buy groceries, we had to walk down to Airlie beach for the restaurants.

But it is being on a hill that give it the amazing views.

Overall, I have nothing but wonderful sentiment for this place for the service alone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    68
    47
    15
    12
See reviews for
50
111
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just stayed two nights. Well presented apartment with great views. Located just back from "Strip" at Airlie. Short walk to get there and only $6 cab fare home, or bus.
Previous comments about amenities we found incorrect.
A complete fully equipped apartment, including cleaning products if required.
Reception Caz very helpful and Horace good fun.
The completely secured under cover car parking also a great bonus.
We will stay again!!!!

Room Tip: Ask Horace for best type of room to suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

great views, clean rooms ,spacious only a short distance to the cbd. the apartment had every item needed for an extended stay, secured parking was a good feature. there was no one to meet us at the service counter when we arrived but a quick call on the after hours phone soon got us checked in.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Fabian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment with study and were upgraded to penthouse upon arrival, which was a nice bonus. It was a good size and had everything we needed including spa in ensuite, laundry with dryer and large kitchen. It is walking distance to the main part of town and close to restaraunts. Furniture was a bit out dated but for the price we paid we thought it was still worth it. Would stay again and would recommend for families needing space.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RachelandShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

How good is this place. The rooms are very spacious with the living area opening to a covered balcony with a view to kill for !! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment (which can be converted to two bedrooms if required) for two nights and it had everything needed for self catering. It has secure parking on the ground floor with lifts directly to the apartments which made unpacking from the car easy. The management was terrific attending to all our requirements and information about the area and attractions and I would highly recommend this hotel for couples & families who either want to chill out or explore the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 203Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shingley Beach Resort
Shingley Beach Resort
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#32 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Sea Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Sea Whitsunday

Property: Azure Sea Whitsunday
Address: 26-34 Raintree Pl, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Azure Sea)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azure Sea Whitsunday 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Azure Sea Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Azure Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Azure Sea Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing