We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Azure Sea Whitsunday
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Club Croc(Cannonvale)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
at Marina Shores(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$215
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$148
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Coral Sea Resort(Airlie Beach)
$169
$163
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Palms Motor Inn(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Hotel(Airlie Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Islands Inn Motel(Airlie Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
93
76
50
17
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
76
50
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenself containedholiday experiencebedroom apartmentlarge balconysteep walkoverlooking airlie beachwalking distance to townwashing machinebeautiful viewthe ground floorthe main streetinfinity poolgreat apartmentstayed for nightsmain bedroombbq area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 252 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2007

These apartments are now 13 months old, and still in top condition. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, although as there was only my husband and I, we were charged one bedroom price & the second bedroom and bathroom was locked off. It had all the facilities needed for a self-conatined apartment. The kitchen had everything needed, we ate lunch & breakfast there but went out most nights. We did cook a couple of evenings & that was fine, could do with an additional power point in the kitchen, however. The TV now has some Pay TV channels.

Agree that there was no hooks in the bathroom, but the view from the shower & bath made up for it - and we sun dried the towels on the clothes rack on the balcony.

The rooms were very clean on arrival - could smell the bleach, so opened the windows & all was fine.

We were also recommended Terraces Restaurant - with a free bottle of wine - unlike the previous reviwer we thought the food was great & Ok priced, we too were the only ones there, but the prevuious nigt was reported to be busy. We ate breakfast once at Capers -great, but the prices for dinner were too expensive for us.

Both Managers were helpful with lots of information.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

If you're seeking spectacular panoramic Whitsunday blue sky, blue sea vistas in a peaceful setting, with easy access to restaurants, marina and tourist shopping, with spacious uncluttered accommodation, look no further.

This almost brand new apartment accommodation boasts ample lounge, well appointed kitchen, spacious balcony with large table and 6 well sized chairs and decently sized bedroom.

There is no restaurant on the premises and any provisions supplied for tea/coffee would only be replenished at an additional cost $15. The usual mini-bar was absent, but there was a vending machine in the car park, adjacent to the infinity swimming pool. The TV only has the free to air channels and ABC has fairly ordinary reception. DVD player is provided, but no discs, so bring your own or rent from local stores.

The rooms are only serviced every 3 days if you're staying that long, unless you want to pay an additional $20/day. The cleaning performed is pretty ordinary, which is OK at the moment, but will eventually become an issue when the place starts to age and get more worn out. We noticed our bedroom had a significant amount of clothes threads on the carpet when we arrived, signalling that it had not been hoovered between guests and the waste bin in the kitchen smelled bad, even though it had been emptied.

If we had any criticism it is that the bathroom lacks much functionality. There are no hooks, only one power point, space is only provided for one towel on the rail, the lighting is poor and my wife had some problems with the proximity of the toilet to the toilet roll and its proximity to the shower. We used a large number of towels, because we used the wonderful infinity pool downstairs and then had to use the clothes drying horse provided on the ample balcony.

The owners run the place part-time, with one couple on for 3-4 days and then rotated with the other couple, what else would you do living in the shadows of the beautiful Whitsunday islands, but sail in your spare time!! Consequently they could not provide the advertised wake up call as no one starts that early and honestly why would you if you lived there. “Use your radio alarm” was our instruction.

One owner, Florida born Phil, had booked our reef excursion and assured us that "everything is provided" without adding the proviso "at a price", so we neglected to take our own towels and sun lotion. And found that on the cruise we could purchase sun lotion, but towels were not available for any price. Fortunately the sun came out, having been showers up until that day, and we got dry anyway.

Phil also recommended the Terrace restaurant in Airlie Beach for dinner. When we arrived we found we were the only patrons. Maybe because it is fairly ordinary fare, maybe because the prices were modest, or maybe because the hotel is very tired and in bad need of renovation. It seems like more of a drop in location for an after work drink.

The next night we ate at the Airlie Beach Hotel, Capers. No wonder Phil didn't recommend this place. It has an interesting menu, quite fashionable, located across the road from the beach with uninterrupted views of the sea and atmosphere. Phil would recognise that ABH is his direct competition in town. I don't know what their rooms are like, but the place looks fairly new.

Capers was great, until they forgot us and then we couldn't get any service at all. Despite this the food quality brought us back for breakfast the next morning, only to find that the service had deteriorated even further, we only got one meal and that was wrong. They fixed it up and supplied the other meal, with that typical North Qld style, slow and casual, what's your problem we're all relaxed here in the sun, chill out and enjoy the holiday. Maybe Phil didn’t recommend this place for these reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank GreatBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuremanager, General Manager at Azure Sea Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Although this is a very old review, we feel it necessary to address some of the issues that this guest experienced.

As a self contained self catering apartment, we do differ to a Hotel. Minibars, complimentary pool towels, room service, daily servicing are all features that Hotels offer. As non serviced self catering apartments, our guests enjoy the freedom to cook their own meals, do their laundry, relax and treat their apartment as their own with privacy and no annoying visits every morning from housekeeping.

Our property does not have a restaurant, but there are many within a short walking distance. Taxis do service our property for an average cost of $6 from the taxi rank in the main street.

Although we supply a complimentary welcome pack, including tea, coffee, milk, sugar, hot chocolate, washing detergent, dishwasher detergent and laundry detergent, this is not an endless supply. If a guest is staying for an extended time, they would be wise to purchase larger quantities at a supermarket. We do however have all these items available at a small charge if a small quantity is required. In most cases though, if a guest wants something minimal we do supply it at no charge. This is standard in most self contained self catering apartments.

Our apartments also have Austar, and are all being upgraded to Digital TV which gives a total of 24 channels.

Cleaning of the apartment is done after 4 days if staying more than 7 nights and this is a service clean only with fresh towels being provided at this time. It is the guests responsibility to remove their own garbage. The garbage shute is located less than 2 metres from any apartment front door.

Lastly every tour brochure clearly states what the guest will need to bring and or what is provided. These are made available to everyone, whether they choose to read them or not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews