We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit from Norway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We come out to Airlie Beach, from Brisbane. We stayed 5 nights.

The apartments were pretty nice and the pool area was great.

We really liked the owner, Stewart. He took care of everyting for us and was really fun to talk with.
We also booked our excursions through Stewart, Skydiving, Ocean Rafting and Great Barrier Reef.

All in all we were really pleased with our stay. The place had a nice easy-going athmosfare and Stewart took good care of us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 353 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

Australians have to be some of the most welcoming and accommodating people on the face of the earth. Nowhere is this more apparent than at the Sunlit Waters hotel in Airlie Beach. The owners are extraordinary people, and the hotel is beyond what you might expect. The views of Abel Point Marina and beyond are simply beautiful. The rooms are spacious, clean, and decorated tastefully. The kitchen is the most well equipped of any of the accommodations we stayed in while traveling throughout Australia, and New Zealand. They provide facilities for doing your laundry, and even have clothes lines and pins for hanging your clothing to dry outside. They have a well cared for gas grill and tools which they encourage you to use if you like. We bought fresh chicken kabobs at a local meat market, and other items from the local food market. We grilled, and enjoyed our meal out on the lovely patio table just outside our room as we watched the sunset, and the the moon rise. We enjoyed two wonderful nights at Sunlit before we boarded a yacht for a two night cruise in the Whitsunday's, and out to the Great Barrier Reef. It seems to be the custom for your hosts in Australia and NZ, to ask what your plans are for the day, or where you were headed next. This was the case when Stewart, the proprietor asked my husband where we were headed next. My husband explained that we were taking a two night cruise, and asked about the public parking at the marina. Stewart, said, oh no, mate, you don't have to park your car there. Just leave your car here; give me the keys before you leave, and we will watch out for it. We were just blown away. But, if that wasn't enough, when we were ready to make our way down to the marina when Stewart offered to drive us down, and then asked if we had beach towels. We were under the impression that they would be provided by the boat. He said, "that would be very unusual, and handed us two towels to take just in case, and off we went. Kindness such as this is extraordinary in today's world. Don't miss the opportunity to experience the incredible hospitality offered at Sunlit Waters when you stay overnight in Airlie Beach. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadeauxetonnants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The location is great. You will have a fantastic view of the marina. You can sit outside your room with your own table with the view behind. of course for every fantastic view you will have to pay the price. the steep hill! but it was worth it. each room has complimentary wifi, although we noticed the farther your room is from the reception, the harder it is to get a signal. The owners are great. I have read of reviews here specifically re the male owner.. He isnt a typical smiley kind of guy but I don't take that against him. He can be intimidating at first but personally I think he is just being himself and he doesnt intend to offend anyone. (this is just my opinion based on our stay) He was very nice to us. He arranged the bus pick up for us and even waited with us outside and chatted with us while waiting for the bus to arrive. We will definitely stay again if we go back to airlie beach. The amount we paid is just about the same as we would pay if we had used a backpacker hotel. Airlie beach is very expensive! You even get your own kitchen. And I love how they are thoughtful that everything you will need to cook is already there. Knives, pots, pans, dishwashing liquid, scourer etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RACHHampshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The emplacement is perfect:close to the center,but it remains calm and peacefull.the appartments are spacious and well equiped,so you can even prepare a light meal for yourself and have a romantique dinner in the terrace with the beautiful view of the sunset on the harbour.The host is very friendly,helpful and welcoming,he made us feel that we were at home.All is for an affordable price.We would return at any time.
Reka and Cyrille from France

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szire85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2012 - the view over the marina and bay is spectacular.
The room was good - spacious, very clean and had everything you wanted in the kitchenette and main room. As well as the 2 beds there was a settee, coffee table, dinner table and a table and chairs outside on the veranda. At $100 a night it beat many other places we looked at hands down. It was a 10 min walk into town, but about 13 going back as there is a short, steep hill to negotiate. The owners wee helpful and friendly but gave you lot sof space - perfect. The location of course is great.

Room Tip: They all had a great view - plus there is a pool!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkaraBrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have just this morning checked out of Sunlit Waters in Airlie Beach after 3 wonderful nights at this property. I stayed 2 nights before a sailing trip out around the Whitsunday's and 1 night after and I can say without any hesitation that if I were to return to Airlie Beach, I would definitely stay here again.

The property has a beautiful view out over the water and marina and offers amazing views of the sunset. The owners are just lovely and very helpful if you have any questions or need any tours or transportation booked. The property itself is absolutely immaculate. I stayed in two different rooms and both were very nice, spotlessly clean and offered amazing views. No matter what room you are in you are only steps from the pool, which is small but sufficient for cooling off. All rooms come with a kitchenette, small fridge and lots of space. There is also laundry facilities that guests can use on site.

I suppose the best part of all is simply how affordable this place is. The prices are so reasonable and yet you are in absolute paradise. You certainly don't feel as though you are staying in budget accommodation or anything like that. And perhaps another plus that seems rare in Australia, WIFI is 100% complimentary which was very nice.

The location is also perfect in my opinion. You are only steps away from all the shops and restaurants but just far enough to be away from the noise.

As you may have guessed, I have nothing negative to stay about Sunlit Waters and would urge anyone looking to go to Airlie Beach to stay here. I absolutely loved it. My favorite accommodation of my entire Australian holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A lovely small motel with a beautiful pool overlooking the marina. Friendly and clean and reasonably priced the apartments arre close enough to the city centre to walk and yet the noise doesn't permeate through. The staff are friendly and informative. Therre's a kitchenette so the choice of cooking for yourself or going out is there and sunset by the pool with a beer (BYO) is a fab idea.

Room Tip: Get the sea view overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.8 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Club Croc
Mantra Club Croc
#1 of 1 in Cannonvale
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterview Airlie Beach
Waterview Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments

Address: 20 Airlie Cres, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $90 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing