We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Star Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Our stay at Sea Star Apartments was amazing, I agree with the other reviews - I wish I could have stayed longer.... The views were breathtaking, the location and facilities are great, (spa and infinity pool are divine) and the apartment was really clean. Thanks to Jo & Gary for making us feel so at home, and helping us choose the best tours!! We had a great holiday and highly recommend to stay here, we will be back one day!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1happynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 421 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2009

When you are abused by an owner of an apartment because you need to check out at 745am but the reception wont open until 830am you've got to wonder where the notion of customer service has gone awry. From the moment i booked accomodation at Sea Star Apartments i found the owner to be the most glum, flat, unfriendly and down right rude woman when asking basic questions and accommodating basic requests. The view from our balcony may have been spectacular but so was the view from the hotel right next door. So Sea Star isnt the only place with a great view over the sea at Airlie Beach. But Sea Star is the place where the owner is rude, where she calls you at 10pm at night to berate you over the phone for a simple request to check out in order to catch a ferry and an apartment that frankly can be acquired anywhere on the hill overlooking the sea at Airlie beach. After a 15 minute argument with the owners via the phone over how much 'trouble' my request was I advised them that i would never recommend to anyone to stay at their apartments again. Take it from me. Book the place next door. They've got to be a friendlier bunch than the couple that own Sea Star apartments. It was the worst customer service I've ever had on a holiday. For I've never been so abused when simply requesting to pay a bill.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank samleekroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed here for two nights but wished we had been able to stay much longer. Very comfortable, spacious apartment with high quality furnishings throughout. The views from the balcony were stunning. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Thats right no matter how long you stay here .. you will wish you booked it for longer ...i guarantee it. we was originally staying for 3 nights i changed my plans and ended up staying 7 nights and very glad we did... the place is so relaxing i could of stayed longer.

We have established in other reports that all rooms are excellent with everything you will need to be home from home but heres a good tip for you ask Jo if the penthouse is available on booking.... not worth the extra money i hear you say... think again its worth every penny and will add 10 fold to your experience.

Its obviously dearer but if your budget can accommodate it you truly wont be disappointed.

If i had to find fault on a personal level i would say that the only downside for me is that there is no internet access in the rooms .
Now there is 1 computer in reception you can use but in todays world business or leisure needs internet its a necessity most apartment hotels have this in every room now and it would of been nice to do this in the privacy of the penthouse or any room for that matter .

Jason & Andrea
Huddersfield UK

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueamazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

The upbeat reviews were right. We spent 3 happy nights in a great Sea Star apartment with expansive views to the water. An after hours check-in went without a hitch, we got good advice about a sailing trip and where to eat in town, a broken DVD remote was replaced same day without fuss. How relaxing to stay in such a place. (But we can't help but agree with a previous reviewer about the town itself which is pretty ordinary. Its highlight for us was the fresh produce at the Saturday morning market).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Sea Star Apartments but after arriving wished we had booked for longer! This is a great find. The apartments are large and spacious and are equipped with all amenities one could ask for including dishwasher, washer and dryer, microwave etc. It is really a home away from home. There is a beautiful infinity pool and a barbecue for guest use which was really great. Our apartment had a magnificent view over the Airlie Beach harbour and it was lovely to wake up each morning to such a gorgeous sight. As an added bonus, the cockatoos came to our balcony each morning and we could feed them peanuts from our hands. Really cool! The only downside for some could be that the apartments are located on the top of a steep hill. Although we didn't mind this as it separated us from the backpacking mobs below in town. And without the hill the view would be impossible! We would recommend getting a cab if you are taking luggage up. It's about 6 AUD from the high street below.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComoxValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We spent 5 nights at Sea Star Apartments mid July and were very pleased with the accommodation. Very clean, wonderful views and great kitchen and bathrooms. We used taxi's to avoid walking up the hill. We would definitely stay at Sea Star again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#4 of 56 in Airlie Beach
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Apartments

Address: 2 Nara Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $135 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Star Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views Views and more Views! Sea Star Apartments is conveniently located in Airlie Beach enjoying breathtaking island and ocean views from every terraced apartment! Come and enjoy yourself in one of our self contained apartments all with covered large balconies, spacious living area and dining area, full kitchens, laundries and uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, Hayman Island and Hook Island yet nestled close to Airlie Beach Village. Did we mention the views? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Star Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Apartments Hotel Airlie Beach
Sea Star Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing