We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Star Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Narooma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most amazing accommodation”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Sea Star apartments is our No 1 favourite place to stay in the whole of Australia. We have been staying here for years now and keep coming back. The apartments are exquisite, large, beautifully furnished, like a home away from home with everything you need, very very comfortable. To top all of this off is the best views you can possibly get in Airlie Beach (we have stayed at numerous other accommodations prior to finding this gem so we do have the proof). The views sweep around giving the best ever panoramic outlook. The swimming pool and bbq area are divine and centrally located with more gorgeous views from the pool. All of this in a wonderfully maintained tropical setting with the most accommodating managers you will ever find.

My husband and I thought it only fair that we take the time to write a review and share this beautiful secret so that others can experience their best holiday at Sea Star Apartments Airlie Beach. We are very grateful to have found this treasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review, Alan and I were both flattered and I am lost for other words. We look forward to having you back. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    65
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
130
173
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon, a perfect end to a perfect trip. The kitchen and laundry facilities were great; fridge and freezer, full oven and stove, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, clothes horse, ironing board and iron, everything you could need. It was beautifully furnished and decorated with big windows to make the most of the amazing views.

There is a very steep hill to climb from Airlie Beach to get there, but the views and the peace and quiet are fantastic.

The staff were very kind and helpful. They let us leave our luggage there for almost a week while we were on boat cruises around the islands.

I wish we'd stayed here longer.

Room Tip: While the pool is beautiful, ask for a room a good distance away from it if you want peace and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and we are so glad the weather held out for you both while you were out on the water. Good luck for the future, Cheers Julie & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga NSW
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

While looking for a place to stay for 8 nights in Airlie Beach I found Sea Star. I was a bit concerned about previous reviews about the steep walk up so I called and spoke with Julie, the manager. She explained the set up and the cost of a taxi, my husband and I booked. We didn't regret our decision, even on arriving, when the transfer mini bus couldn't make it up the drive because of the rain and the slipping wheels. If the apartments weren't where they are they wouldn't have the fantastic views they do.
We stayed in block b on the first floor and overlooked the whole of Airlie Beach Harbour, magic! The apartment was very clean and spacious with everything you could want for a short or longer stay. When the weather was fine we walked into town, which is only about 10 minutes, and back, , not too hard but when it rained we got a cab, $6, well worth it. We also hired a car to see a bit of the surrounds and had no trouble getting up the hill or the driveway.
Julie and Alan are lovely people and great at running the apartments. We had a problem with the shower and it was fixed straight away. We booked a cruise with Julie, which she recommended and we got a discount plus the cruise was awesome.
There is a bus in the main street which takes you to Proserpine or Shute Harbour, very economical and filled in time when the weather wasn't great.
Sea Star Apartments are one of the best places we have stayed and excellent value. If we ever go back to Airlie Beach was would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All of the apartments face the harbour and are all spacious and very clean. It is in a quiet area. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments on TripAdvisor, pity the weather wasn't the best while you were here but we realise you made the most of the good and bad situations. We look forward to having you back. Stay safe,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment here for 3 nights in June 2014 on our first ever visit to Airlie Beach and we did enjoy it mostly because of the magnificent views over the harbour, islands etc and the very pretty location set in a hill side with palms and lush extensive gardens . However, if you are considering staying here please be aware that these apartments are half way up a steep hill that runs above Shute Harbour Road which is where most people will want to go to for shopping, eating etc and while it is quite easy to walk down from the apartments (we did it once each day) the walk back is very difficult indeed, even more so if you are carrying shopping etc

We initially thought (before we got there) that we'd just take our time walking slowly back up to the apartments but we soon changed our mind upon arrival when we saw just how steep the walk back up is (our taxi's wheels even skidded a few times on the steep and wet roadway!) and we decided it would be too much for us (we are all over 50 years old) so we simply jumped in a taxi on Shute Harbour Road (there's a taxi rank in front of the Cold Rock ice cream shop) at a cost varying from just under $6 to a bit over $8 depending on when it was - so this is not much to pay at all. Please note this is in no way a criticism of the apartments themselves but we feel it is something that people (especially older, those with incapacities and those without a car) need to consider - also,the managers did advise us of the steep walk when I booked but we didn't realise just how steep it is.

Overall our apartment on the top floor of "B" block was well laid out, neat and tidy but we noticed a few of minor issues - the carpet in the master bedroom was considerably frayed in several places in front of the sliding door and we thought it looked quite tacky, a couple of the throw pillows on the lounge sofas had a few unknown stains on them so we decided not to use them at all and the shower in the master bedroom ensuite allowed a bit too much water to seep onto the bathroom floor because the glass opening door would not seal properly - we had to use one of our towels pushed up against the shower door to help keep water seepage under control. The only other issue we encountered was that our washing machine did not work properly but management were very quick to get onto this and we were able to use the washing machine in an adjacent vacant apartment.

In closing, I am sorry if my review might sound negative to some, it is not meant to be because the location of these apartments is really lovely for the reasons I mentioned and if you have a car or are prepared to use a taxi while staying there or are fit enough to handle the very steep walk back up from Shute Harbour Road then the walk up won't be an issue - however, we feel it is important to mention any issues that we encounter that might impact on other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creighton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for writing a response on TripAdvisor so quickly. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, albeit the hill. You can not have these views without being elevated and this also helps to make it such a quiet location. But as you rightly mentioned, it is only a $6 - $8 taxi fare back up (the price of a drink). We look forward to seeing you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at Sea Start apartments for 1 week; and had a fantastic time. The apartment was clean, warm and very spacious. Everything we needed was there - like a home away from home. Being located at the top of a hill the views we got from the balcony where incredible!! Pool area was great; clean with great views. I would say the best part of staying at Sea Star are the owners. Absolutely lovely couple who could not have been more friendly and helpful during our stay. I have not experienced customer service like this anywhere else in the world and it really makes your stay extra special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review, we were humbled by your comments. We're glad you had such a great stay at Airlie Beach and Sea Star Apartments and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Airlie beach is hands down my favorite destination in Australia! This hotel is beautiful and has an amazing pool! Nice location too! Not to far from everything! We had lots of birds hang out on our balcony too which was fun to watch! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nine1Warn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed Airlie Beach to it's maximum. We hope you have the chance to return some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed over Anzac Weekend for a wedding with two adult children. Have stayed previously so stayed again due to wonderful unit, great location and of course the fantastic views. Units are perfectly appointed with everything that could be needed, available. Staff were friendly and great when organising tours and transfers. Thankyou once again and will see you again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review on TripAdvisor. I notice it's your first one ever so it's pretty special to us as well. We're glad you had yet another good stay at Sea Star Apartments and we have to admit that the weather was perfect and certainly helped everyone enjoy themselves. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#1 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#10 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Apartments

Property: Sea Star Apartments
Address: 2 Nara Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Star Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views Views and more Views! Sea Star Apartments is conveniently located in Airlie Beach enjoying breathtaking island and ocean views from every terraced apartment! Come and enjoy yourself in one of our self contained apartments all with covered large balconies, spacious living area and dining area, full kitchens, laundries and uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, Hayman Island and Hook Island yet nestled close to Airlie Beach Village. Did we mention the views? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sea Star Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Apartments Hotel Airlie Beach
Sea Star Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing