We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big room, big bugs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Star Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Star Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Big room, big bugs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here in November 2011 as we made our way up the coast. The room was quite nice if a little dated, doesn't matter much as you're in a beautiful location and shouldn't be spending all day inside. The pool was, like the rooms, nice but very dated. The property seemed as though it hadn't had a good going over since the early nineties. The biggest issue with the place was the bugs. Stayed in plenty of places with comparable pricing up and down the coast without having to combat cockroaches (and geckos come to think of it) in the showers and swarms of ants in the kitchens. When I brought it up at the front desk I received a scowl and a 'Welcome to the tropics'... I understand there's a lot of creepy-crawlies in Australia but as I mentioned before, there were a lot of other places around without this issue. If you need a base camp in Airlie beach, this is a great way to sleep a lot of people in a comfortable atmosphere. If you're looking to stay a while and actually get some use of the apartment you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It was unfortunate that you had an encounter with the natural wildlife. Gheckos are very common and impossible to control, they can get in through the smallest of spaces and Cockroaches can in fact fly. Hence all our apartments have insect screens fitted to all windows and sliding doors. Ants are abundant in dry tropical areas and are also hunting out moisture. We outline the ant problem in your arrival letter and try to encourage guests to get rid of their rubbish and not leave food on the benches. We undertake regular inspections of all our apartments for uninvited guests and carry out an extensive eradication by professional pest controllers annually at the start of each summer.
As Resident Managers we work hard at maintaining clean, quiet and comfortable conditions for all our guests and appreciate any feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    63
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
129
168
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moranbah, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment with beautiful views. The apartment was clean and well equiped and we really enjoyed our stay during December 2012. We were welcomed by Julie amd Alan and they were very helpful. I would definately stay there again and would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0windy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for the lovely write up on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again at Sea Star. Here's to a great 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Sea Star apartments for Christmas 2012. The apartments were clean, spacious and well equipped. The view is stunning and Julie and Alan were fabulous hosts, who went out of their way to help us organise our trips to the Whitsundays. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Airlie beach. The only thing to be aware of is that it is up a bit of a steep hill, but only a quick stroll in to town and the fabulous views more than compensate for the uphill stroll.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaCLIF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time ouf to write a review for us on TripAdvisor. We hope you had a safe trip home and a lovely New Year. All the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Sea Star in December 2012. The apartments are excellent, clean and spacious
with wonderful views. The swimming pool is beautiful and Julie and Alan are very gracious hosts,
efficient and helpful. We only stayed 3 nights and wished we had stayed longer.
Will definately stay there again. Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again.
All the best for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
476 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Julie, from the minute we pulled on the drive you were ready and waiting to help.
The apartments are stunning, my son and I walked in the door and within 5 seconds we knew we wanted to stay longer. I buzzed down to Julie and asked if this was possible she even gave us one night free which was so lovely of her. We altered our plans elsewhere and enjoyed our break away. The views from the balcony are stunning and most of the apartments have their own private garage. I wish you were just a little closer to Cairns and we would be down every weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I guess because it's our own business we try to throw everything at it. Cairns isn't that far away and we'd love to have you back.
All the best for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were very happy with our selection from the web for our family stay at the Sea Star Apartments. The management were very approachable and local knowledge of the Whitsundays was welcome. My only regret was that I didn't have the rest of my family with me in our spacious apartment with breathtaking views of the islands and the mariner. The balcony was perfect for shared family time, enough room for everyone. The kitchen had everything we needed just added some locally sourced seafood and a bottle of Browns Brothers and we were set. Definately recommend a stay at the Sea Star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judiray12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us on TripAdvisor. We hope next time you come back that you will bring all the family.
Have a lovely Christmas and a safe New Year.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed four nights at end of October, and it was difficult to leave when it was time to move on. The view of the Whitsundays from the balcony/verandah was as beautiful as the panoramic photos on the web site and made for memorable breakfasts and cocktail hours. The apartment itself had everything we needed to make ourselves at home and was very clean .... seemed like brand new.

Only caveats: (1) we are glad we had a car to access the hillside location and go into town (2) be prepared for early wake up calls from the bright rising sun and the birds ..... but that ain't all bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#1 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Apartments

Property: Sea Star Apartments
Address: 2 Nara Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Star Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views Views and more Views! Sea Star Apartments is conveniently located in Airlie Beach enjoying breathtaking island and ocean views from every terraced apartment! Come and enjoy yourself in one of our self contained apartments all with covered large balconies, spacious living area and dining area, full kitchens, laundries and uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, Hayman Island and Hook Island yet nestled close to Airlie Beach Village. Did we mention the views? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Sea Star Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Apartments Hotel Airlie Beach
Sea Star Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing