We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 bedroom unit was disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Airlie Beach B&B and Inns
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
866 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“2 bedroom unit was disappointing”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We are regular travellers, mature, but travel light and young and have stayed in many B&B's before. We booked Island View on the internet which had the location and facilities we wanted e.g. swimming pool. We had booked a 2 room unit and on arrival found that the room is across the road and down the street - not close to the pool. There was nothing on their website to tell us this.

Also whilst it is modern and reasonably fitted out, its wooden construction meant that noises from permanent residents above were intrusive and palm trees banged on our windows and walls at night - didn't get much sleep.

May be OK for a single room but do not recommend the 2 room unit

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVBB4802, Owner at Island View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
The swimming pool is for B&B guest's use. Guests staying in the self contained apartment (20m down the road) are offered the use of the B&B pool to save walking into town for a swim.
We apologise for any confusion here.
The 'permanent residents above' have now moved on, however this was an isolated incident celebrating a grandchild's birthday.
Thank you for staying with us. Sorry you're disappointed.

We, at the Island View Bed & Breakfast, always make an extra effort to ensure all our guests have a pleasurable holiday in the Whitsundays. If you've enjoyed your stay with us please tell others.... on the other hand, if you are not happy... please tell us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

From the time that we started considering the Island View, Karren was a resource and a great representation of what a bed & breakfast can be when it's done RIGHT. She even helped us to book a sailing trip that took days away from the number of days we'd be staying at the IVBB - which just proves that her priority was more about our vacation experience and not about making a buck. The Island View isn’t your grandma’s B&B, however. The 1/4 mile trek from the main street has some hills that could be troublesome for some, Karren and Steve aren’t constantly on top of you with cookies and board games and there isn’t a doily or frilled comforter anywhere to be found. But for us, the location meant that we were away from the frat parties happening on the main drag and that we were able to be independent and relax without being “watched” by the rest of the house. We stayed for one night before a sailing cruise (on the Whitsunday Magic - see separate review) in the king room and then again for a night after the cruise, when they were overbooked and we got upgraded to the villa a block away from the main house. The king room was quiet, clean and had a great view of the pool and the beach (from a distance) - but the villa was really spectacular. After three nights on a ship, we were able to go down to the grocery store and buy things to make dinner and relax with a movie in the living room - it was fabulous. Let Karren and Steve help you to make your stay in Airlie Beach a memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Very comfortable b and b with friendly atmosphere and magical views over Airlie Beach and the distant Whitsunday Islands. Although perhaps slightly on the pricey side (Kings Suite was $160), it has a beautiful pool which gets a fair amount of sunshine in the morning and early afternoon. The simple but sustaining breakfast was served on a wonderful terrace and our hosts were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Very nice room (we stayed in the "King room") without splendid view on the sea. The owners were very friendly and helpful in booking our excursions and airport transfer prior to our arrival. Excellent breakfast, beautiful swimming pool, spacious & very clean room, wifi in the house ... The B&B is located within walking distance from Airlie Beach main street (5-10 minutes), if you are walking, there is just a steep climb in the last meters before arriving at the B&B but that should not be a problem for most people. Thanks again to Karren and Steven for making our stay in Airlie Beach so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Island View B & B in Airlie Beach is a hidden gem. The rooms, are spacious, clean and well appointed. The tropical continental breakfast is very tasty, as is the view from the balcony where it is served. Karen and Steve, the owners, are friendly and very helpful. This B & B represents wonderful value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We arrived at the B&B and were told there had been some confusion with booking so we were being upgraded to the apartment across the street. We were excited because the apartment was nicely decorated and we were going to have the whole place to ourselves. And it was nice, until we went to sleep. The apartment does not appear to have any sound-proofing. The upstairs neighbors came home very late (maybe 1 or 2AM), with a barking dog and loud music to follow. This for us was way too late as we had just returned from a Whitsundays camping trip and were very tired. We finally had to turn the air conditioning on just to tune them out. Besides the neighbors, the apartment was nice and our host was very nice upon arrival. I would not recommend the apartment that is owned by Island B&B.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertdweller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVBB4802, Owner at Island View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
There has never been a 'dog' or 'loud music' on, or at, any of our properties. We have a strict 'No Pets' policy and, to the best of our ability, ensure that our guests have a good night sleep.

Thank you for staying with us anyway - sorry you are disappointed.

We, at Island View Bed & Breakfast always make an extra effort to ensure all our guests have a pleasurable holiday in the Whitsundays. If you've enjoyed your stay with us please tell others.... on the other hand, if you are not happy... please tell us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PD
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Everything was wonderful about the B and B. It was clean and a great location.
However, the one thing that was disappointing was that we did not receive any champagne and chocolates on arrival (that was included in our package). All though this is not a huge deal - it would have been a nice perk esp. when we had been on the road for a few hours.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,084 reviews
1.1 mi away
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat
#4 of 13 in Airlie Beach
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Island View Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Nara Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island View Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Island View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Bed And Breakfast Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing