We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pools, best views, best foods, best location in Airlie Beach without breaking the budget!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of at Water's Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pools, best views, best foods, best location in Airlie Beach without breaking the budget!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

I wanted a relaxing getaway with a close friend and Waters Edge Hotel certainly made that happen, I stayed there for 6 nights. The photos on their website are very true...the sea view from your lounge room, master and private balcony with outdoor dining is simply amazing and has an uninterrupted180degree outlook. Our room was such a very generous size with a fully equipped kitchen with a good range of cooking utensils. It was well air-conditioned, generally pretty clean room & had excellent living space and comfy couches + dvd player.

The pools are just awesome...all 3 of them (1 is a kids), all very clean with plenty of deck chairs & the Balinese spa hut area is lovely too. The restaurant 'deja vu' is built into the Hotel and appeared to be the only set up like this found in Airlie. Certainly made it easy if you wanted to grab a nice bite to eat but were too exhausted to travel further than down the lift. Although I didn't get a chance, the 6 course meal on a Sunday afternoon that they offer at 'deja vu' for about $40 (approximate price only) looked really great value with some live music but it is spread out for the full arvo. You can have cocktails brought to you pool side and the calibre of other guests seemed really nice, a mix of couples and families, all with good manners.

I would most certainly stay here again and I am a hard guest to please. The hotel is far enough off the main street to get a good nights sleep but close enough to pop down the road for milk or a little stroll through the town. This hotel's location was just 100%fantastic, as unlike most other guests, you didn't have to hike up and down the steep hill every single day :) I did a lot of homework before i booked this place & I was proud as punch with choosing to stay here. The staff were very helpful and answered a lot of questions, they certainly brought us up to pace with what was available to see & do. Definitely ask to buy one of their $10 voucher books as it has some great savings for eating out or going on the cruises etc. I would speak to other tourists as you go for advice too though. I would also recommend you only shop at coles (wide range available) and catch a short cab ride as the local supermarket was just so expensive. If you want accommodation that's a little bit fancy and want a relaxing setting but is so close to everything, then look absolutely no further than Waters Edge Hotel. PS the gardens are kept immaculately by Trevor daily which was nice to be surrounded by too. I think a great stay deserves 5 minutes of my time to write a great review so thank you Jeff (the owner) for making my stay a very happy one that makes everyone jealous when I show them the pictures.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavvyTripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    186
    78
    26
    16
See reviews for
178
229
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night which was nowhere near long enough. The apartment was extremely spacious with a great balcony and amazing views. Very easily accessible to the main street but away from any noise. Will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninjacat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

From being met at the airport in a limo, to the smallest detail, such as chilled champagne glasses - what a wonderful resort. Fantastic apartments in a brilliant location - and the MOST friendly, helpful staff. We had family from Overseas - and wow, were they impressed. Well done and a very big thank you to all the staff!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brissy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachybp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

on the whole we really enjoyed our week here. the apartment was spacious and clean although i wouldn't describe it as 'luxury' as it's supposed to be. some of the soft furnishings could do with replacing and the general decor could do with an update. we had to pay $35 for someone to come in mid-week to change sheets and towels as this is not included. if you're going to stay here you have to remember it's not a hotel and you basically get left to your own devices which is great but at no point during our stay did anyone ask 'how is your stay going?' etc.-which would have been nice. as we have 2 young children we wanted to alternate going on day trips with having days by/in the pool which i would think is quite normal. one thing i found a bit odd and annoying is that for a resort that has 50+ apts of either 2 or 3 bedrooms-how can they justify only having 10 sunbeds??!! the one's they do have are all crammed at the back of one of the 3 pools and so none at all by the 'baby' pool, so if my 4 year old wanted to spend any time in there i had to sit on the edge. one morning we went to the pool at 9am and all the beds were taken so we all had to sit around a table in the shade-not what i really wanted to do. (we don't see the sun very often in england!) i spoke to the manager about it and he told me that no-one had ever mentioned it before which i find amazing as we were there in the rainy season and the hotel wasn't full. by the way-before i found the manger to talk to about this, i mentioned it to the receptionist who was firstly uninterested and then very rude! the best things about our stay i would say are the views and also the location-just a couple of minutes walk down the hill to bars and restaurants. so a good place to stay but a couple of annoying issues.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachybp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

The apartment was spacious with high quality furnishings and fittings. Good kitchen for self-catering. Superb terrace with views over the bay and islands.
Good restaurant , Deja Vu, on site, and 5 minutes walk to main street and restaurants.
Staff organised excursions and transfers for us.
We were very comfortable for 6 days.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D0n060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night prior to a boat trip from Airlie Beach. We did think it was quite expensive, but we had a lovely large room with a fantastic view over the ocean and harbour. We took full advantage of the washing machine and tumble dryer provided!
The only thing that we were disappointed with, is that the room below ours had a large balcony with a hot-tub and this meant it's occupants were outside a lot and were smoking. This meant we had to keep our door closed and leave our towels etc inside. Obviously not the hotels fault, just being from the UK where all hotels are none smoking, we are not used to this and it wasn't something we liked.
Overall this hotel is in a fantastic location, very close to everything you want to see in Airlie and I would stay here again.
Rachel on reception was very helpful, and arranged our airport transfer very efficiently.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We loved this place and we'll stay there next time we're in Airlie Beach. It's really close to the main street of shops and not a huge walk up the mountains like other hotels. Service was great our unit had some electrical issue while we were there but the Caretaker, Trevor, was extremely friendly and helpful and went the extra mile on a number of occasions!

We booked all of our tours and car hire through the reception desk and everything went smoothly and they offered some great rates which weren't available had we booked online before arriving in Airlie.

The pools (3 and 1 spa) are great enough to usually enjoy a pool to yourself. Sun baking area beside the pools was a bit small and crowded at times unfortunately but not always!

Our unit was on the 4th floor and had a 2 person jacuzzi which we didn't really use much but the view from our floor was great. Overall very happy with the place.. service from Trevor and reception made it though!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr4ntusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Property: at Water's Edge Resort
Address: 4 Golden Orchid Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing